We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Weekend - Amazing Stay”
Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellingham House
Ranked #3 of 9 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and extremely impressive. My girlfriend and I were looking for a good standard hotel in a central area so we could re- live some of both of our families old trips into North Wales. When we found Ellingham House the photos on the website were enough to convince us that this was the place we would like to stay.

The photos do not do this gorgeous hotel justice.

Immaculately clean, large bright rooms decorated with style and gorgeous furniture with modern bathrooms and comfy luxurious beds.

The breakfast was beautiful. I had the Full Welsh Breakfast that consisted of sausage, bacon, egg, tomatoes, mushrooms and hash brown, and my girlfriend had toast and musili. Served with lovely rich strong coffee and fruit juices. Everything came, red hot, straight from the kitchen and was delicious.

The hotel is based in a very quiet area of Colwyn bay just a 5 minute walk from the town center and promenade, and also only a 5 minute drive from the A55.

I booked through an on-line hotel finding website which proved to be a little more expensive that if I had booked direct with the hotel which I will do next time I book a room, which I will definately be doing.

I really cant fault this Guest House, it really is very special.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Ch_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have to say this is one of the best stays we have had in a B&B. These 2 proprietors know how to take care of their guests with good service, friendly advice, a great place to stay (Victorian style with modern conveniences), great food and memories to last a lifetime! We spent 3 nites here on our trip to Northern Wales and they went out of their way to make it memorable. Great breakfast with wonderful choices, an immaculate house with great parking and close to everything - whether you are heading to Llandudno, the Bodnant Gardens, one of the wonderful Railways or the beach, this is a great place to be based. Even though I didn't fully confirm my reservation as I was supposed to and then I broke a plate by accident, they made us feel welcome. Thank you for having a wonderful place to stay and we wouldn't consider any other place along the Northern Coast of Wales.

Room Tip: Room 3 is quite nice with its large adjoining private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveSeattle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a return visit for us and once again 5* Ellingham House did not disappoint. It offers comfort and superb quality accommodation in a quiet road close to the centre of Colwyn Bay with a warm welcome. We chose the great Welsh breakfast to set us up for the day. Ellingham House delivered everything we had hoped after our previous visit, looking forward to planning our return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have just had a 5 night stay at this beautiful house. We found our hosts very charming, the accommodation was spotless and the choice of breakfasts was excellent. We will certainly be returning and would recommend that this is one B and B not to be missed.
Pat&Alan

Room Tip: Definately Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a one night stay. The owners were helpful, professional and friendly, the rooms well-appointed, spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding with plenty of options for all tastes. If you're looking to stay in the area I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Ellingham House. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the house is beautiful. Our room was spotlessly clean with a lovely en-suite with large shower. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwennaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A lovely place to stay, spotlessly clean and good sized room, good choices for breakfast and helpful, friendly owners. I would highly recommend Elllingham House to anyone looking for a place to stay in this area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colwyn Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Bryn Woodlands House
Bryn Woodlands House
#2 of 9 in Colwyn Bay
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colbourn Hotel B&B
The Colbourn Hotel B&B
#1 of 9 in Colwyn Bay
117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyndale Hotel & Restaurant
Lyndale Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West Point Hotel Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star & Gold Award winner for 5 years (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham House Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing