We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellingham House
Ranked #1 of 11 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Comfortable, modern well-equipped bathrooms. Oldy-world charm with a modern twist. Excellent breakfast, good choice (fruit, yoghurt, bacon, sausage, etc). Professionally-run, and very friendly, able to advise on local dining.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
180
18
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently for a couple of days whilst attending a wedding in the area, a return visit having stayed a few years ago when the owners had just opened their home to guests. The fact that we came back says it all really, it's a lovely place to stay, very clean, high quality accommodation, very comfortable and the owners look after you very well.  Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice to suit all tastes, we had the full Welsh breakfast which was excellent and good coffee.
Will definitely stay again and can recommend to any one wanting a posh B and B in the area of North Wales.

Room Tip: Have seen all the rooms. All of them are beautifully appointed and would be pleased to stay in any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjs1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I stayed here recently while visiting the area to watch the cricket at Rhos-on-Sea. We cannot praise the owners highly enough. From the moment we arrived, they couldn't do enough for us - carrying bags up to our superbly furnished rooms and making us feel thoroughly welcome. The room rate we paid was well worth the money which including a superb breakfast. Anyone not enjoying their stay must simply be nit-picking as there really is absolutely nothing with which to find fault. I would have happily paid double for an additional breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevilleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This B&B is rated highly, and though the rooms are spacious and clean and the food is well served, another aspect led to great disappointment. My sister, brother - in law and I stayed here in April. We were helping our Mother move into sheltered accommodation, a fact that the owners were well aware of. Two months later my daughter stayed here for three nights and on her first morning was asked"Would you like to bring your Grandmother here for breakfast tomorrow?" This she did, and thought "How kind"
However, when the bill was produced two days later she had been charged £10 for her Grandmother's breakfast.
I feel this behavior, to be pretty low and although we will be having many future visits to Wales none of our family will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I am very sorry that you have cause to complain.

There seems to be a big misunderstanding here. We can and do provide breakfast for friends and family of guests when they are staying with us but the decision to invite is with the guest alone.

I do remember you and your family staying and your reason for staying with us and am pleased you refered to pleasant stay but please be assured we would never invite people on the basis we can charge them for monetary gain as suggested in your review.

Regards

Ian Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I recently stayed at Ellingham House for a week - taking in both the local cricket festival and various National Trust sites. It is perfectly located for Bodnant Gardens which is about a ten minute drive away. Both Chris and Ian were perfect hosts - helpful in providing guidance on local places to eat and visit, as well as dishing up the best of breakfasts. The room was comfortable and quiet - clean and well decorated/maintained. I would encourage any visitors to this part of North Wales to stay at Ellingham - and book direct as it is cheaper!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennisthediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments, the cricket was a successful event for area and we are pleased you enjoyed your time here.

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This beautiful house is stunning. The period furniture compliments the architecture and decor perfectly. We were in bedroom 1 which had a gorgeous four poster bed and lovely spacious en suite. The breakfasts were delicious, good food, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented in the most lovely dining room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello and thankful for your kind words. We enjoyed meeting you and hope all your efforts in transporting all the railway memorabilia back to Yorkshire we worth the effort.

Well done you and hope to see you again.

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend three weeks ago, and it is the best accommodation of it's type that I have ever stayed in. The guys running it are exceptionally friendly and really do take an interest in you and go out of their way to offer you any assistance they can. The house is beautiful, the rooms are fabulous, breakfast is delicious, varied and plentiful, and it enabled us to have an exceptional break in North Wales.

I would not hesitate to go back there, and neither should anybody if they are staying in the area. Keep up the good work guys and thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matchstickmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at Ellingham House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to meet you both again

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Property: Ellingham House
Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star & Gold Award winner for 5 years (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham House Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing