We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Luxury - a wonderful find”
Review of Ellingham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellingham House
Ranked #2 of 10 Colwyn Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Complete Luxury - a wonderful find”
Reviewed 19 January 2010

A family member found this wonderful, new B & B for us, in the best part of Colwyn Bay, and what a great experience it was to stay there over Christmas! The lovely, old house has been very tastefully and luxuriously renovated to provide every comfort imaginable. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious, with beautiful furnishings, and are equipped to a very high standard. We also enjoyed delicious, good-quality breakfasts, with a great choice available, each morning in the elegant dining room. The way that Ellingham House is managed by the welcoming and friendly owners, Chris and Ian, demonstrates that they are real professionals; this is a place to which we will look forward to returning for another visit very soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynovyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
185
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We decided on a short (3 night) stay here as we knew the previous hotel owned by the propietors and enjoyed staying there. We had reservations about the location, and they do B&B only here, but at least knew that we would get a warm welcome.
Well, everything exceeded our expectations. Chris and Ian have done a superb job with the place - huge rooms, wonderful modern bathrooms, and all in all a real feeling of light, airy, comfortable quality. Plenty of choice of good places to eat close by, and Colwyn Bay is really well situated for exploring the coast and inland via the beautiful Conwy valley, and Llandudno shopping, even Chester not far away .
We will go again, and next time for longer!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexDownsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Ellingham House is set in a pretty and quiet part of Colwyn Bay. The house has been renovated to a very high standard maintaining many of the bulildings original features and decorated to the highest standard.
On our arrival we were welcomed warmly and shown to our room, which was traditionally and tastefully finished. Our bathroom was huge and luxourios.
We were given our own key to enter and leave the house as we wished. Breakfast was wonderful, allowing you all those choices you just don't bother with at home.
Chris & Ian are fantastic hosts and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniesparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stay here for 2 nights with 3 other friends whilst touring the area and found Ellingham House very surprising for all the right reasons. We had rooms 2 and 4 a large double and a twin and found the everything in pristine condition with nicely decorated rooms and lovely bathrooms and feeling of being somewhere special. The breakfast were full of choice with fresh melon and fruit, cereals etc and a range of hot items which we were all pleased with and especially the one veggie in are party who had French toast with grain mustard and said it was great.
By day two we realised from Chris the owner that the house was quite new and had recently opened, hence everything being so clean and well cared for. It seemed busy aswell with some Canadian people staying who were very chatty at breakfast time and also mentioned how much they were enjoying their stay. We also noiced that they were rated 5 star tourist board, never stayed at a 5 star place before, Our double room was £80.00 per night and worth it. We paid more at previous places for what I would describe as average rooms.
We left promising to return as we enjoyed our stay very much, deffinately the best place we stayed at on our trip and a good base to stay at for seeing Bodnant Gardens and Llandudno which we visited.
I would definatley recommend Ellingham House.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjs1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This is a real treasure of a B&B. As soon as you arrive you are taken back by how pristine everywhere is. It has been beautifully decorated. The owners Chris and Ian are warm and welcoming but not at all obtrusive. They welcome you in and give you a key and you feel right at home. The rooms are really spacious and it is such a peaceful setting. The breakfast room is stunning, and there is a great choice. The area is lovely, you can walk to the beach. You can have a walking sort of holiday or you can go into Llandudno and shop to your hearts delight. There is a good theatre there too. There are good eateries nearby. We liked Penybryn, a pub with good food and we also ate at a little Italian a 10 minute walk away. We found a lovely tea shop Rooms and Blooms too. We only went for a weekend but will deffinately be going back very soon. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
507 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
674 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
4.6 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,362 reviews
3.9 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellingham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellingham House

Property: Ellingham House
Address: Woodland Park West, Colwyn Bay LL29 7DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellingham House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star & Gold Award winner for 5 years (by Visit Wales). Ellingham House offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation, with large spacious bedrooms, modern bathrooms and grand breakfast room. We are only a 3 minute drive from the A55 and 5 minute walk from the town, station and promenade, which has many restaurants. Ellingham House offers luxury accommodation with an informal atmosphere, so whether you are staying for business or pleasure you can be assured of a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ellingham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellingham House Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing