We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Chinese Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New China Garden Chinese Restaurant

New China Garden Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 80 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 01492 533883
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Nowadays we always check trip adviser before going to an unknown restaurant, this restaurant deserves it high rating. Our meal was gorgeous.

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    28
    9
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A real gem in Colwyn Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have been using this for some time, so this summarises a number of experiences, not just one visit. Always friendly, the starting plus for us was when making a telephone order, they actually trust you. When they say ready in 10 minutes... it will be!

Next the food... always faultless, and very tasty; we have never had a problem and especially no issues with MSG. As an indication of how good this is, my wife likes chicken fried rice, and most notable is that they actually give you real chicken pieces.

How can they improve? a struggle to answer, and I have to give them an unqualified recommendation

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“From BLEAK to THE PEAK (of taste)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was SUNDAY NIGHT.It was RAINING.It was the centre of COLWYN BAY,the DEADZONE as far as finding anywhere half-decent to eat out,or so we thought.Loads of Takaways or a Weatherspoon pub,But Not much else.GRIM!.BLEAK!.
What started out as the idea of getting a take away meal from the China Garden,became a meal inside the venue.NO OTHER DINERS WERE THERE.Folks were in and out buying takeaways,but that is more to do with no where decent to go before of after a meal in Colwyn Bay,so takeaways are the mainstay.The depressed economy too means its the trend.Hense so many takeaways in the Bay,so few eat in venues.
What made us opt to eat-in was the feeling " Why the hell not.for once?".Im SO delighted we did.THE FOOD,.FANTASTIC.MY Veg curry and Rice was PERFECTION.My companions meal,Chicken,mushrooms noodles,YUMMY and perfect.The STAFF were so so friendly,such a warm warm welcome and super service.Its a GREAT venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Got a nice little take away from here whilst on a weekend in Wales. It was good enough to rival my own favourite Chinese takeaway back home! If you go to Colwyn go to this place you will not regret it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would have walked right past the place if it hadn't been recommended so well..we hadn't booked and asked for a table for 4. They were very busy, expecially with take aways so they asked if we could come back later at 9. We agreed and were so glad we did.
The service was great and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We had a banquet for 4 at about £18.50 each which was 4 courses. I had hot and sour soup which was delicious, then spring rolls, prawn toast and dips etc, then peking duck as the third course. That would have been enough for me to be honest but the food was so good I looked forward to the main. i chose scallops which was ok but when I tasted the singapore vermicelli I wished I'd gone for that.
The food and service were great and the whole experience made for an enjoyable one off night in Colwyn Bay.
I would definately recommend if you like good chinese food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TBenn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New China Garden Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to New China Garden Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing