We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Colwyn Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I booked two rooms at this Travelodge and was allocated two rooms on the ground floor. One was a family room overlooking the Bay Shopping Centre and the other was a double room which was to the side of the property. Both rooms were of a good size and had all that we needed for a few days stay. This Travelodge is very handy for those people who travel by train or by car and is the perfect base for traveling to Conway or Llandudno etc. Which is just what we used it for. The Car Park is opposite and was manned by security all the time we were there and is free if you get your ticket validated by reception. I was not impressed with Colwyn bay it needs a awful lot of money spending on it to bring it up to date. Lots of work taking place on the beach and maybe nice when complete. I would stay at this Travelodge if in the area again but strictly as a base. Staff were polite. Only downside was that the air conditioning was not working in the bathroom in the family room which i reported on checkout. Lady on reception made a note of this and said it would be put right which was fair enough. Fair value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    139
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
126
221
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I received a friendly professional welcome. Like all the rooms, mine was plain with colourful curtains and a matching drape on the bed. I liked the fluorescent light strip behind the bedhead, and there were also reading lights on either side of the bed. The bed was comfortable and had cotton sheets. On my late return I found the card entry system easy to use. Everything was simple and fuss-free. I slept well; the hotel was quiet. The shower was good, and a proper bath sheet was supplied. Much better than trying to dry yourself on something the size of a tea towel. As I had a very early morning departure I was glad breakfast was optional and charged separately. Though I thought £4.99 a little steep for a British take on a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvergirl735764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Centrally located, not far from the train station and the seafront. Paid half the price for the room as other BnBs in the town, and although Travelodges lack character the rooms are clean and functional. Staff on duty was very accommodating as I specifically asked for a quiet room on the upper floor (some of the rooms will face the main road). Bed very comfortable and shower very good - even had toiletries, which are not always proviced by Travelodges.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing away from main road. Is a city centre location so cannot avoid noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetDSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

great hotel a little far to walk with luggage from carpark good value though and great staff with in easy distance of most tourist places and very handy for the motorway and not far from colwyn town centre and Llandudno

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were looking for somewhere cheap, quiet and clean. This ticked all the boxes. The staff were polite and helpful. Even though the parking is offsite, it is only about 100 yards away. I would recommend this if you are looking for a stopover while traveling the area, or if you are on business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Travel Lodge at Colwyn Bay is excellent, the staff are wonderful and the room was everything you would wish for, clean and fresh. The location too is very good just a couple of minets from the A55 and yet the room was quiet
to sleep in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank helen251149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautifully refurbished Travelodge, staff extremely helpful and friendly, fantastic location. Would definitely stay here again. Lovely spacious family room. Very clean. No restaurant on site but plenty of places to eat within a 5 minute walk, staff even gave us a map detailing where these were

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno North (Little Orme) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Colwyn Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Colwyn Bay

Property: Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Address: 1-7 Victoria Avenue, Colwyn Bay LL29 8DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Colwyn Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Colwyn Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Colwyn Bay Hotel Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing