We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite place to relax with a hot beverage while I do my college work :)”
Review of The Glass Lounge

The Glass Lounge
Ranked #6 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new favorite place to relax with a hot beverage while I do my college work :)”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Lovely decor, really relaxing feel, WONDERFUL selection of teas and a decent cappuccino. I really like this place and will be coming more often as I would rather put my money in the pocket of local business's than in Costa Coffee's.
The only thing is that the staff weren't very talkative an didn't smile once, which is a real shame because the place is great! After reading the reviews on food I will definitely pop in for a snack some time soon :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awanderlust7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brill food, miserable staff”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

To be fair, the quality of food and price in this cafe is excellent. However, the staff ate formless an very unfriendly. The cafe is run by a very unwelcoming young girl and her equally ice cold mother. I went there last week and wasn't even greeted with a "hello" although I'm a regular customer and bring them a lot of custom with my job. I went there with an elderly woman who is wheel chair bound and they didn't even help me open the door, instead opting to look on expressionless. I must say, the food is wonderful and it's quite cheap. The portions are good and the place is sparkling clean. Just wish it was run by a happier bunch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leahmacattack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good latte”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Only popped in for a drink , very nice , friendly and clean . Food looked good . Reasonable price . Would go again for a snack .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trix_L4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Early morning bite.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Have called in a number of times, over past month or two.
Clean tidy a little soulless but good standard of food & beverages. Hit & miss with staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianwforshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good staff, hippest place in town”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you're younger than 60 in Colwyn Bay, there are unfortunately not too many places for you to go. Oddly enough, cafes in general don't open until well after 09:30. So, when I discovered "The Glass Lounge" I was pleasantly surprised by not only the coffee (the made REAL caffe macchiato just like in Italy!) but by the atmosphere and free WI-FI. It's well priced, lovely inside and out, and has great drinks. The staff was very polite and helpful and even gave me additional information about places I should try to visit as long as I was in town.

The music is geared to be a bit more alternative and laid back, but is a very comfortable and relaxing spot for a younger crowd. Having said this though, I did see some folks in there who were at the age of grandparenthood. ;)

Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euroerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass Lounge also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Glass Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing