We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars - should be more! !!!”
Review of Bryn Holcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Holcombe
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

A suburb period property. Less than 10 mins walk from promenade and 15mins walk from town centre. Private off road parking. I stayed in room 4. Wow. Light, airey and spacious. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Ambient wall lighting and a standard lamp should you not want to use central ceiling light. A period chair and 2 seat sofa, dressing table and stool along with the usual tea coffee etc. bathroom is immaculate with plenty of shower gel, shampoo conditioner and quality loo roll! Towels are large enough to wrap around you. Breakfast is good. A selection of cereals, croissants, yoghurt, proper fresh fruit is abundant, all followed by a traditional Welsh Cooked Breakfast if you have room for it. The hosts are fabulous, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just had another great stay with Eira in the Bryn Holcombe,this time taking my brother and his wife to see Neville's Island in Theatre Colwyn( another great production by Black Rat Productions) Rooms again were spotless and had lovely bed linen.Breakfast was great! We will return.Lovely theatre and Weatherspoons in the town worth a visit.Diolch Eira!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyndwr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very clean, very quiet, very updated. The street is just ordinary and the atmosphere likewise. No dinner served; good breakfast. It didn't leave a strong impression one way or the other, but there was nothing to complain about - workmanlike.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heckscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Booked here based on previous good reviews and was not disappointed. Lovely welcome from Eira the landlady. A tastefully decorated period property in a quiet location but within walking distance of amenities. Really lovely breakfast with a selection of fresh chopped fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants and then a top quality full English. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The wife and I stayed here for six days in September. First class in every way, Large breakfast, clean room, nice and quiet. One thing could be rectified, small but important, we had a bathroom with a shower over the bath. Maybe they could pit a grab rail on the wall; one in the shower on the wall, and another on the wall outside the bath, just to help step out of the bath. Everything else, 100%. I would stay there again

Room Tip: All rooms are okay. Ask for a room with a shower would be my advice if you're elderly, not a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_chappie024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Absolutely top class. Will never book a t lodge again. Landlady was lovely. Room was clean. Nice tv and free sat. Wifi was free and good. Breakfast was amazing. Quiet location. The Toad restaurant was great for food and about a 10 min walk. See my review

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astlewastheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I had to stay in Colwyn Bay for 3 nights on a work trip and booked in to this guest house as it was recommended on Trip Advisor.
The owner is very friendly and welcoming and out me in a quiet room, with the best internet connection, as she knew I was having to spend omne day working in the Guest House.
The rooms are bright, area and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious with copious amounts of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal and the obligatory Welsh Breakfast - with the best tasting mushrooms I have ever had. Breakfast is advertised as staring at 8.30 but this is entireley flexible with no fuss.
If you are heading to this part of North Wales you would be silly if you didn't check in here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
559 reviews
2 mi away
Lyndale Hotel & Restaurant
Lyndale Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
58 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Point Hotel Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Bryn Woodlands House
Bryn Woodlands House
#2 of 9 in Colwyn Bay
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Holcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Holcombe

Address: 9 Grosvenor Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range: £64 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Holcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bryn Holcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Holcombe Hotel Colwyn Bay
Bryn Holcombe Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing