We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B with a Welsh-speaking landlady”
Review of Bryn Holcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bryn Holcombe
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good B&B with a Welsh-speaking landlady”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the double room at the front of the house. Lovely big room with large en suite bathroom. Everything worked and was very clean. Excellent breakfasts in a lovely, well-decorated home - impressive entrance hall - and around 5 mins walk from the seafront. Away from the main road, so quiet at night. We'd certainly stay there again, .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogiabach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
92
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in the Superior Room. It was certainly worth the extra cost as we had a lovely spacious room and an ensuite bathroom with a huge roll top bath as well as shower and spotlessly clean throughout. The whole house is tastefully decorated with period features. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful and the full Welsh breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this place to stay as you have easy access to Snowdonia and all the tourist sights in the area.

Room Tip: No 7 worth the extra money for the bathroom alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this place. Its a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Nice and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. Loads of choices.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facilities in room and bottled water so u can have tea when u want it in room. Iron and hairdryer in room. Toiletries in bathroom.
Suitated close to shops. Very lovely place I would definitely come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Daughter treated us to a long weekend stay here with friends for mum's birthday. Excellent B&B - host very welcoming and attentive - couldn't be more helpful. Lovely room - try room 7 - huge en-suite with a roll top bath and corner shower. Very tasteful period decor throughout the house and great Welsh breakfasts. Would certainly stay here again when in the Colwyn Bay area - highly recommended

Room Tip: Room 7 particularly spacious- queen sized bed and large en-suite with roll topped bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed which was three couples for 3 nights from 2nd May to 5th May and we would all recommend this B&B the host was very welcoming, the rooms were lovely very clean and decorated to a high traditional standard. They served a lovely breakfast each morning with everything to choose from and as much as you would like. Very close to all the wonderful sights of which there are many just a car journey away. Would most definetly reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claiirsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Bryn Holcombe from 18th - 20th April. As I am currently pregnant we wanted a nice relaxing break as we know it will be our last one for a while! We certainly got a relaxing break and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed.

On arrival we were lucky enough to get parked in the grounds, however this wouldn't have been a problem if the car park was full as there is plenty of off street parking. We met both the owners of the B & B during our stay and found both of them to be chatty and friendly.

The room itself was lovely. We had the superior room which is front facing and was decorated beautifully. The bathroom is amazing with a roll top claw foot bath in the middle of the room and a large shower in the corner. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, as are toiletries (shower, conditioner, body wash, soap).

Breakfast was excellent. There was plenty of choice such as cereals, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurts and a cooked breakfast. Both my partner and I enjoyed our breakfasts on both days.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again in the future - maybe with our new arrival :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at this guest house 11th april 2014 for two nights. Room was lovely facing the front of the house very spacious and clean. Kettle provided to make tea with cups and coffee sachets.Central heating was on during the day which made the room very cosy.Ensuite bathroom was very spacious with shower and bath.Toiletiries were provided which was a nice touch.Breakfast was very nice set in a lovely dining room facing the garden at front of house.Guest house was in a quiet residential area but within walking distance of town centre and welsh mountain zoo a 20min walk up a steep hill. Landlady was very welcoming and very informative with places to visit .Glad we found this place for our short stay in colwyn bay a real home from home.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the front of house nice to look out of the window into the garden.Some traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetmeinstlouis24681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
507 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Woodlands House
Bryn Woodlands House
#3 of 10 in Colwyn Bay
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Holcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Holcombe

Property: Bryn Holcombe
Address: 9 Grosvenor Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Holcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bryn Holcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Holcombe Hotel Colwyn Bay
Bryn Holcombe Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing