We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice hotel to stay in!!”
Review of Lyndale Hotel

Lyndale Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lyndale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good choice hotel to stay in!!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Owners were pleasant & hospitable but the rooms were very poor. The thai restaurant was average.Facilities were outdated, needs a good clean!! Poor value for money. Would definately not stay or recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twtsbubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked this hotel through booking.com, good price, and location. Asked for sea view, large room with a bath and got all three ! Very friendly family run hotel, nothing too much trouble.
Not sure about thai food,as spicy food does not suit me,but decided to give the restaurant a go, best thing we ever did! lots of choice of hot or very mild food, so i risked it and we had the best meal i have tasted for a long time.
Lastly, we checked out, and arrived back, and instantly realized i had left all my jewelry at the hotel, i rang and was so pleased when i was told it had been put in their safe, and they were kind enough to post it to me and the owner even rang back the next morning. So would highly recommend both the hotel, restaurant and the very lovely family that run it, in my eyes 5* + !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huffer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked this Hotel on-line through Booking.Com as a party of 8 (4 couples) to visit friends in the Colwyn Bay area, a trip we make every year. To be honest, the only reason I booked the Lyndale was because it was the only one in the area that could accommodate 4 couples at a reasonable price (£132 each for 2 nights) on our chosen dates.

We arrived at 12:40 to meet the stated 1Pm check in time to find the entire building locked and looking pretty deserted. About ten minutes later the owner arrived, having been to the cash and carry to get supplies. He questioned why we were early and when I showed him the check-in time on our booking form the reply was “Well you can’t believe everything you read on the Internet”. I explained to him when I am told a check-in time is at 1pm, I have no reason to doubt that, so planned the journey accordingly. By this time it was 12:55 and amazingly he said ”well you’re 5 minutes early”. Not the most friendliest of welcomes!

After this he checked us in and showed us to our rooms, but appeared rather flustered and harassed throughout the whole process, as if coping with four couples arriving together was too much. The rooms were clean, but very old and dated, with 1970’s style furniture, fittings and fixtures. The beds were comfortable enough, we had a double and single in our room and there was a plentiful supply of towels which were changed the next day. Lots of hot drinks facilities (tea, coffee and hot chocolate) but awful cartons of UHT milk. The tap water was salty, not the Hotel’s fault, just the conditions of the local area, so we made sure we bought some bottled water.

The on-suite was a reasonable size and consisted of a bath, toilet and wash basin with an awful hand held shower. The metal cover of the shower hose was broken causing the hose to kink and stop the water running. For the sake of £2 - £3 at a DIY shop, I can’t understand why it hadn’t been replaced. The hand held shower also flooded the floor as there was no shower curtain. There seemed to be plenty of hot water, but I later found out that was because we are early risers and got there first. Also we were on the first room of the corridor, so the supply came to us first and my friends in the next 3 rooms down said their water was luke warm most of the time.

Breakfast was good, a good choice of cereals, fruit and juice and a decent cooked full English breakfast. Another attempt at humour went down like a lead balloon, when I was offered the full English and replied “Or Welsh as the case may be”, after all we were in Wales! As always in UK B&B’s the times were ridiculously early, 0800 – 0930, so no chance of a lie in, especially if you wanted a hot bath or shower first. When will these owners learn that they are serving the paying customers, the customers are not there to meet the owners timetables and agenda’s. The hotel also has a bar and Thai restaurant which we didn’t use as we were out most of time, only returning to go to bed, so I cannot comment on these, but apparently they are quite well used.

One of the strangest things is during our entire stay we didn’t see another member of staff and the owner seemed to do everything himself. However on the first day, when we were waiting for the owner to arrive a curtain in a downstairs room kept twitching and there was a number of people looking out and then quickly ducking back inside when we saw them. Very mysterious, but I suppose they were just the kitchen and cleaning staff.

Overall the Hotel was reasonable value for money and served its purpose well. I have been going to this part of Wales for the past 8 years or so and this is typical of the accommodation and service you get for the price, which doesn’t say much about the areas attitude to tourists and visitors. It is no better or worse than similar establishments I have stayed in, but I think the term “Hotel” is pushing it a bit as it really is a licensed B&B. Would I go back? Well if it is the only place available again next year for our group, I probably will.

Room Tip: To make sure you have some hot water, get a room at the start of the corridor, not the end as the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicktheManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frozen North
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be very good value for money, Ok its not the Ritz, but you're not paying Ritz prices !.The rooms where basic, but had all you need, If you are on holiday you are not going to spend your time in the room are you ?.Location wise, its a five minute downhill walk to the quiet beach, not a lot going on but that is Colwyn. I have to be honest and say the main reason we stayed was due to it being Dog Friendly, but was wowed over by the excellent Thai food, and very good breakfast. The owners where very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for Michael and his staff. Free Car Parking, Breakfast, Tea, Coffee, No charge for the dog, and 10% off all midweek meals, what on earth do the people who have given a poor review expect for £66 per night !!. Well done Michael and family, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have sea views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanookFrozenNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have relatives in Old Colwyn one of whom held his 80th birthday party in the village hall. I booked 5 rooms at the Lyndale Hotel for an overnight stay. One room for three, one twin, three doubles (one of which with a baby cot). Rooms were OK except for a double on the top floor which was very dated. Should have said something to the owner but the hotel was full so little chance of a move anyway. I agree with other reviewers that rooms overlooking the car park with sea view are best. Cost at £69 per room seemed reasonable by comparison, but there was a downside. The cot needed cleaning, no shower curtain or shampoo in the bathroom in room 12, and the towels in all rooms are well past their best.
I can't agree with others as far as the breakfast is concerned, deep fried skinless sausage, plenty of cooking oil on the plate with an under done half tomato was not good. The baby high chair was dirty, we couldn't use the straps because they were daubed with food stains. Come on, IKEA sell baby chairs with tray which are easy wipe for about £16!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esue187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colwyn Bay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just stayed for two nights at this hotel on a short holiday to Wales.

Good points:
Dog friendly - and at no extra cost, which was lovely!
Clean - very clean, couldn't fault that at all!
Sea Views - lovely views from our window
Excellent chineses takeaway down the road!
Flat screen tv - although looked very odd in this time warp room
Day 2 Breakfast - having sampled the delights of breakfast the day before (see bad points!) We opted to order poached eggs and bacon on toast, which was absolutely delightful! The man can poach an egg!
Breakfast staff - the lady who served us was lovely and remembered our drinks orders the next morning
Bad Points
- nothing in walking distance apart from some rather unfriendly local pubs, nowhere to eat a meal
- the hotels furniture and decor were older than me (26), the entire place from the bed sheets and towels, to the carpets, curtains and walls needs upgrading
- nobody was there at the hotel when we arrived, we waited for 25 minutes until the rather flustered owner let us in!
Breakfast day 1 - some very dissapointing sausages (although dog enjoyed them), no beans, mushrooms, 1 sad looking grilled tomato and some badly done fried bread - excellent poached egg though! And the kippers, although your standard frozen microwave type were tasty, however too much water on the plate.

If you aren't fussy about your surroundings and using your car a lot, this hotel is nice enough. Easy to get to things by car and dog friendly. We won't be coming back, but we shall be laughing about the whole thing for some time! It was an experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Cranberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were supposed to stay here for 8 nights, but it turned out that we only stayed for 4. The first room that the owner gave us had twin beds that were so uncomfortable (lumpy, saggy, and very squeaky), that after one night we asked for a room with better beds. He tried to accommodate us, saying that the mattresses were new on the beds in the second room. Unfortunately we didn't find them to be much better. The whole place needs to be updated desperately; everything looks old and worn. However, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location has views of the ocean. There is parking on site. The best part was the excellent breakfast each morning.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwyn Bay
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
522 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
367 reviews
8.6 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
377 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
599 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndale Hotel

Property: Lyndale Hotel
Address: 410 Abergele Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 9AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lyndale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndale Hotel Colwyn Bay, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing