We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Welsh Mountain Zoo

Welsh Mountain Zoo
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Colwyn Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This conservation zoo has a wide range of rare and endangered animals from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
southport
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“wonderful zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

First time we visited this zoo it was lovely. Ou rchildren really enjoyed it and there was plenty to see . You could get closer to the animals than other zoos i have visited. Reasonably priced aswell, would defintely visit again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank janerobbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    454
    178
    66
    80
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
northwales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely for kids but take a picnic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Visited the zoo today with my two children. Gorgeous sunny day so we were able to see most of the animals plus the kids were able to play in the kids play area. The zoo seemed very tidy and the zoo keepers very informative and friendly. However, don't bother with the cafe which was filthy and expensive also the ice cream shop shut early. Take a picnic and sit on the lovely lawned area near the brown bear and monkeys.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robboNorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved our visit here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This zoo is absolutely lovely, and a little wild. Lots of walking up and down hills but worth exploring the whole zoo as there are lots of treasures. Really friendly staff, and well kept animals.

Well worth a visit, just don't expect the manicured paths and enclosures of London Zoo.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Chis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had a few visits here loved the penguins especially also liked the cafe they had too great for the kids

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Piggy385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went to the zoo today with one of my nieces. it was a very nice place. There were more animals than I thought there would be. it was quite warm and very hilly (as it's on the side of a hill it would be). The shop where you can get drinks from was shut, and there was a private function on at one of the cafes, so that was shut also. The new terrace was lovely with red pandas and otters. The walk with lemas is a great idea. They didn't come up to us but to be in the same enclosure with them was great. The stars of the show of course were the snow leopard cubs, they were such sweeties. we didn't see a lot of them but so so cute. Take a picnic as the food in the café isn't up to much, and quite expensive. my niece had a baked potato, and it looked as if it had been cooking since the early hours, and the lasagne was curling up at the edges. other than that a very pleasant few hours spent there. Please remember it is very hilly and some of the steps are, I would say a foot deep, so they might want to think of shortening them!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welsh Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Rhyl, Denbighshire
 

Been to Welsh Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing