We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”
Review of Welsh Mountain Zoo

Welsh Mountain Zoo
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This conservation zoo has a wide range of rare and endangered animals from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

What a great day out it has been , the welsh mountain zoo is one of the best attractions in the area and definitely werth the money. We and our sun really enjoyed it . It may be only a small zoo but you can see how much effort has been put in it

Helpful?
Thank stuhlimerlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    481
    189
    71
    84
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money and worth the trip!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We went to the zoo with zero expectations and to maybe spend half a day there at most. Instead we spent the whole day there as everyone loved it and it was great value for money. We will be going back in the future!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank paolomac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Enjoyable shows, nice zoo”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The best bit for me was the bird display with the Penguin walk which was wonderful and something I haven't seen anywhere else. The Sea Lion training was also very interesting and informative, they really looked like they were enjoying themselves. We were also lucky to go in the Lemur walk it was lovely to be surrounded by Lemurs and watching them wander around us. There is quite a bit to keep a family occupied with a good sized playground. I did think it was a little on the expensive side especially if you are taking a family but no more so than most places these days. It is definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Pete7049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All fur and feathers!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great place to spend time, especially if you have small children, there are so many animals to see. The sea lions, penguins, chimps and tamarins are especially entertaining.

I would have given excellent rating if all enclosures had animals. I will definitely return as this is a great place to visit if the weather is good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo times”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This zoo was a lot bigger than we thought and the shows were amazing. The penguin parade was adorable, and the sea lions were hilarious. Lovely landscape to walk around too. Something for all ages :)

Helpful?
Thank meganchown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welsh Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Rhyl, Denbighshire
 

Been to Welsh Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing