We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish and chips around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaap's Catch

Jaap's Catch
Ranked #7 of 80 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional Fish and Chip Shop Takeaway and Café We're Passionate about Quality Fish and Chips We only sell Fresh Fish cooked in Our Amazing Crispy Beer Batter!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Working away this is the first meal I want to have when I'm home. The fish is incredible, always fresh and cooked right in front of you. The chips are perfectly cooked and perfectly cut. The service is always great and jaap always has time for a chat. People may say it's slightly more costly, but this is representative in the quality of the food. Over all fantastic chippy second to none.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DCD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    11
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Thank you very nice, down for a visit best fish I've had to date, lovely chips also very fresh and very hot

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real nice guy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

After visiting this chippy my family are now very fond of the fish and chips here. So when in colwyn bay we alwa6s pay a visit. Very good food and very nice chap

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish and chips to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Mr & Mrs Moore, Westhoughton, Nr Bolton

Visited this café 12/09/2013 whilst on holiday in Towyn. Been to other café`s in various town`s around but found no fault with this one. Staff very friendly and welcoming, café very very clean and well presented, and most of all food was excellent. Will definitely be calling again when next on holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 846William_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Expensive(ish) and grumpy but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I work in Colwyn Bay and often walk past Jaap's Catch at lunchtime. More often than not there's no sign of any customers, just the man I assume to be Jaap standing behind the range looking miserable. Out of interest I decided to give them a try one day and went in for a bag of chips. True to form Jaap was a little grumpy. I was also a little surprised at the price of their chips, certainly top end prices for Colwyn Bay. Fortunately the chips were very good, nicely cut and nicely cooked. If Jaap can learn to smile occasionally and knocks 30p of the price of a bag of chips I could become a lunchtime regular.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank MyUserNameWasTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaap's Catch also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to Jaap's Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing