We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Point Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Colwyn Bay(Colwyn Bay)(Great Value!)
US$103
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$573
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bay County Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Holcombe(Colwyn Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cae Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
87
39
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
39
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher husbandthe ownernext morningseparate roomb bvisiting colwyn bayjack russellplenty of hot watera lovely night staylovely coupleclean hoteltown centrefive minute walkgood nights sleepset you up for the daytrain stationthank you so much
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I picked this hotel because it was 'Pet Friendly' and not too far from the ferry terminal at Holyhead as we were having a few days break....Boy oh Boy did we choose well. Jan and Mick were very welcoming hosts and no request was too much for them.
The hotel was very clean and breakfast was delicious...we dined in the lounge along with other dog owners and each dog was served its own plate of sausage for breakfast.
The location was very central to places of interest and just a five minute walk from the promenade. All in all a very enjoyable time was had at the West Point.

Room Tip: Room 1a is a large room looking on to the side of the hotel with privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs08124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After reading the great reviews, this hotel appeared a good choice for a one night get away. As smokers, we were also pleased to see the option of a smoking room which we duly booked via booking.com. on arrival, we were greeted by a young chap that was devoid of any social skills. He repeatedly told us that we could not have booked a smoking room as one was not available. Fortunately I was able to produce proof of booking. He made several calls to the owner with not so much as an apology. We reluctantly took an alternative room which was basic, in need of updating and repair but, clean and presentable. We left the room to find somewhere to eat. When we returned, our belongings in the room had been disturbed. At that point, we decided that we were no longer comfortable there and opted to leave. When we advised the chap of our reasons, he again made a phone call. When asked if we'd used anything in the room, we confirmed not (we'd not disclosed we knew someone had been in our room at this point). He then confirmed he had been in the room to bring us towels (towels were in room when we arrived). He then proceeded to tell us that he'd seen a towel on the window sill (how so if he was bringing towels to us?). Then realising his contradiction, he blatantly told us that he could enter our room at any time. We challenged why and he shrugged. We asked why belongings had been disturbed, he shrugged. what followed was both un-nerving and disturbing as he became aggressive. Admittedly, we were also agitated at this point but feel we were calm and just wanted to leave. He as good as squared up to my partner. We're still reeling from the experience 24 hours later.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very welcoming staff, Young Chap who checked us in helped carry cases up the stairs. Room very dated but clean, plenty Tea and Coffee in room. Tiny wardrobe no use for hanging clothes. Only one chair in room which was a problem as lounge was never open and there was no place to sit when you came back to hotel. Shower was poor and exposed pipes were very hot (burnt arm on one whilst in cramped shower. Real issue was room was a fire exit room which meant a key to the room was in box outside the room door. There was a fire escape door in room but no key to open it if there had been a fire . This made me uncomfortable with the fact anyone could have accessed the room any time day or night. Cant fault the staff or the breakfast , although it was the same breakfast on offer for the five days we stayed.

Room Tip: avoid room 2 and 9 as they are fire rooms . If you have disabilities ask for 1st floor room as hotel stairs are steep
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DundeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had to book this hotel at the last minute for 2 nights in high season and so were pleased to get a room. The hotel/rooms are undoubtedly old fashioned (had the feel that my Grandma's house used to have) and maintained to a budget but you have to remember though that the price is very reasonable - probably £15-20 per night cheaper than alternatives. Being a Victorian building the ceilings were very high and it had solid walls so we didn't hear any noise. Our room was perfectly clean too which I think is the most important thing in a budget hotel.

Our host at breakfast (cereals, toast and cooked) was chatty, very friendly, and advised guests about local attractions etc.

Overall, West Point Hotel is better value and much more friendly than your typical Travelodge-style budget hotel chain - we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoreCheeseGrommit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights here, in July this year, with our 2 little dogs and couldn't have wished for more, Jan and her Husband are a lovely couple and were the perfect hosts and made us all feel very welcome. They made breakfast for us every morning, and even set up tables in a separate room from the main dining room, so we could breakfast with our dogs, Jan even got them their breakfasts every morning too.
We were served a hearty breakfast that kept us going til late afternoon, we are hoping to go back again soon just to taste that bacon. I would not be surprised if Jan still remembers how we all like our eggs!
The room was spotlessly clean, lovely and light and very spacious. The beds were so comfy We all slept soundly and woke refreshed and ready for what ever the day had in store for us.
The en- suite was lovely and clean and toiletries were even provided, along with soft toilet rolls.There were tea and coffee making facilities in our room Jan even told us off for buying fresh milk for our tea, as there was plenty in the fridge. TV and WiFi all in with the very reasonable cost of the room. Highly recommend this hotel, as I said earlier we hope to return very soon. Christine, Stephen, Norma , Amber , Daisy and Bear.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews