We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food let down by poor service”

The Semaphore Lodge
Ranked #27 of 80 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Cuisines: Thai, Malaysian, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice food let down by poor service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had booked to have sunday lunch here during the Christmas break. We all live locally and hadn't visited this restaurant for some time.
We all choose from the lunchtime menu which consisted of two courses for £6.90 which seemed like good value. The food was exactly what you would expect from a Chinese restaurant there was nothing really to rave about. What really let down our visit was the extremely slow service. We were one of only two tables in the whole restaurant and yet the service was incredibly slow. There were long gaps between our meals coming out and meals coming out one by one . We waited 40 minutes for our desserts to arrive and they really weren't very nice.
I overheard the other table at the restaurant also had issues waiting for food to arrive at the table (main dish arrived a long time before the rice did!)
I've heard that the all you can eat buffet is very good so perhaps they are better staffed during the evenings . I would not visit this restaurant again unless to come to the buffet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    7
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Chinese meal in North Wales”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautiful view of sea. Very spacious dining area and décor. Good choice and great value for money. Everyone enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashok65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I regularly come here on a Sunday to enjoy the buffet. The food is consistently replenished and the variety is fantastic. The food is hot and clearly labelled. It's fun to try different things there!

I would say that sometimes the desserts are a bit dull but then I'm always too full for that by the end!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forbesclicky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food well worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The buffet is really good value for money, the people are friendly, polite and welcome children. We've never had a bad meal there, the food is always really lovely and fresh, its replenished regularly and not left sitting there.
The place has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, the bar is a bit olde worlde and could do with a spruce up, but don't let that put you off.
The chinese food here is of exceptional quality and really worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mum2archie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

All you can eat buffet for under £15!! What wasn't there to like? Loads of freshly cooked starters including duck pancakes, followed by a vast choice of delicious mains, all finished off with a good selection of desserts. Was busy as it was a Friday night but didn't have to queue for the food once. Lovely view over the bay too, will definitely be returning..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Semaphore Lodge also viewed

 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Semaphore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing