We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay to do all things outdoorsy”
Review of Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Capel Curig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay to do all things outdoorsy”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you want to do all the things that the amazing countryside offers then this is a perfect low key place to stay. We fuelled up on big breakfasts before spending the days hiking or biking and then refuelled on good solid pub grub and great beer in the evenings. Clean rooms, comfy beds, good showers. Thankfully we didn't need to use the drying room too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    50
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
43
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a very friendly family based hotel - good rooms, good location and excellent food. The bar has a great atmosphere (lots of tables, dart board, juke box and pool table) and all in all this hotel is a great place to stay. The river is just across the road and local walks are very nearby. Bets-y-Coed is the main town (where most of the hotels are based) and that is not far away. As with all hotels that cater for walkers, they have a drying room and are relaxed about muddy boots in and around the hotel.
Nothing is too much trouble to the owners and I look forward to staying at the hotel again. It will hopefully be a bit drier when we next return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have just returned from yet another weekend at the Tyn-Y- Coed. Every year I return and I am a person that likes change. The relaxed and comfortable environment makes it an ideal place to stay when visiting North Wales combined with good food, an excellent bar and a warm fire !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were a group of four hungry lads (well 50 year olds), who needed refueling after 7 hours walking and climbing in the area. We were recommended this hotel which has a deservedly popular bar serving decent local real ales and offering a large choice on the menu. We went for one of the specials - shoulder of lamb followed by a selection of ice creams sandwiched between two giant cookies - well you've got to put the calories back on haven't you. Recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was part of a large group of 30 people eating and spending the night and a few drinks at Tyn-Y-Coed. The staff were friendly and expertly managed to get all of our orders correct and served around the same time - no mean feat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights to explore local area.We were not disappointed. Setting beautiful, food excellent (especially breakfast) and the room (6) was plenty big enough. The bathroom though on the small side was newly fitted out and was immaculately clean ,would certainly ask for this room if staying again.Although it was on the front as others have stated the views were well worth any noise there may have been, and the double glazing did it's job and we were not disturbed by road noise. All staff were friendly and will no doubt stay here again at some time in the future. Distances from Betws-y-Coed(10 mins ) Portmeirion (45 mins) and Conway and Llandudno (30 mins).

Room Tip: Room 6 is farthest from the bar , and had dual aspect windows, but even if the bar was crowded not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I also stayed with the photography group. Very friendly and accommodating staff with usual pub grub. Huge double bedrooms though noisy at front. Internet a slight problem in these rooms but no problem in public areas. Excellent location though for touring this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
2.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
527 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
5.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

Property: Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel
Address: A5, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyn-y-Coed has recently been refurbished and upgraded to WTB 4 star inn. It is family run with fourteen individually designed bedrooms & guests are assured of a warm welcome.For more modest budgets we have a five bedded bunkroom with ensuite shower.Situated in heart of Snowdonia National park five miles west of Betws-y-Coed. Plas-y-Brenin outdoor sports centre is 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing