We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal hostel”
Review of Plas Curig Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Curig Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great spot and a good nights sleep, clean rooms with good showers nearby and clean modern kitchen; ideal for cyclist such as myself.
Tips for other travellers
Handy supermarket nearby for food as well as good local pub.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Since discovering you, we have not stayed anywhere else when visiting Snowdonia. Best accommodation combined with best location...and the Moel Siabod Cafe next door is fantastic for breakfast and lunches.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perihelion24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely hostel to stay in. Everything extremely clean and staff friendly and helpful. Perfect location for snowdon with it just being a short drive away. Great value for money and will definately be coming back. Thank you!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

High quality facilities made it a very comfortable stay. Kitchen was spotless which made it easy to cook. The communal areas were very comfortable and were a nice place to relax in the evenings. Well placed hostel and only a short drive/bus to the start of my walks during my trip. I was originally only booked in for 1 night but changed it to 2!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ldaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Initially was only booked for one night with my brother but when we checked in we found there was another night available. Really clean, comfy beds and loved the touch of having a privacy curtain on your bed. This has to be the future of hostels.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank ALTHEKITESURFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

What a great hostel, stayed here for 3 nights and by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in (having been in many around the world) the beds are extremely comfortable and made me feel like I was in my bed at home, showers and toilets were well kept. Nice big kitchen and a good variety of cooking utensils. I would come back in the future!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank harps7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went with 3 old pals, average age 49, for weekend in the hills.

Really enjoyed stay - extremely comfortable wee bunked beds. The hostel is beautifully done, lots of books, comfortable sofa, a wood-burner etc. and wish I could have hung about there longer. Bring some food if you are staying a while. Good big kitchen and friendly dining area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapplinghook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
769 reviews
4.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Curig Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Curig Hostel

Address: Plas Curig Plas Curig Plas Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales (Formerly Capel Curig Youth Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Capel Curig
Price Range: £23 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Curig Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Curig Youth Hostel commands an impressive position in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. This charming former YHA hostel has been stealing the hearts of many an intrepid traveller since 1945. Since 2010, Plas Curig Youth Hostel has become a family-run hostel offering clean, comfortable, homely, fun and most importantly cheap accommodation from which to experience the beauty of Snowdonia. This luxury hostel offers the best of both worlds to its guests – modern amenities with relaxed comfort. Everybody is welcome and we offer dog-friendly accommodation. Explore a timeless landscape overflowing with craggy mountains, wild moors, ancient forests, thunderous waterfalls and vast sweeping beaches.Our cheap accommodation means the magic of Snowdonia can be enjoyed by everyone. Bask in the enchanting scenery or take part in an adrenaline filled adventure. Snowdonia has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plas Curig Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Curig Hostel Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing