We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Querky with generous portions!”

Ty Hyll - Ugly House
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cheshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Querky with generous portions!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Twelve of us were booked in for lunch at The Ugly House. Sadly when we got there our table hadn't been reserved due to miscommunication amongst staff. The lady was very apologetic and suggested we wait until the tables become available. These things do happen and a little annoyed we decided to go to Swallow Falls and return 40 minutes later. On our return any annoyed feelings disappeared completely. We had a lovely table reserved near the fire, which was very much needed, as we had just been out in the pouring rain.

The lady from earlier, went out of her way to make sure our time at The Ugly House was enjoyable and the service was spot on. Sandwiches were priced from £4:50 to about £8 however they were MASSIVE! I would advise you share. After our sandwiches we had cakes, again portions were MASSIVE!

after the first hiccup it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Medcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    76
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favourite cafe in Snowdonia”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We live locally and virtually every weekend find ourselves having tea at the Ugly House. Purely because it is in a convenient location for many walks, you understand, and nothing to do with the fact that they serve the biggest tastiest home-made cakes you have ever seen! (Who am I kidding? We often arrange our walks so we end up there, such is the attractive power of those cakes!) Other good points include beautiful surroundings, fire in the winter and outdoor seating in summer, good lose-leaf teas served from pretty mismatched vintage fine china, and of course the lovely ladies who work there. Composting loo in the garden is usually spotless and not at all smelly (contrary to the review below - that must have been an unfortunate one-off due to some dirty holiday crowd and not poor upkeep). We bring all our guests here and I could not recommend this place highly enough! The only warning: beware massive portions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stopped here for lunch as part of a walk taking in Swallow Falls. The Ugly House is far from ugly! A pretty little cottage set in a bee friendly garden. Portions are generous and satisfying. We enjoyed a delicious homemade quiche and cream tea. Also take the time to pop upstairs to look at the bee exhibition - nicely designed and full of tips for enticing these vital creatures into your garden.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here at 4pm, delighted to find such a lovely tea room. We were welcomed by the friendly ladies who run the tea rooms and had tea and delicious warm Welsh cakes. Although some customers were sitting outside in the pretty garden, we chose to sit inside. The Ugly House is neat and tidy inside with lovely comfortable wooden tables and chairs. Tea is served in pretty china cups and there is a large selection of loose leaf teas and tempting cakes. All was well until we left to use the restroom facilities. The tea room has a compost toilet in the back garden. It was in such a disgusting state that I couldn't use it. The stench, filth, lack of paper - I really don't want to go on. Whatever facilities an establishment provides, compost style or more conventional, they must be well maintained and kept clean. Vile! Maybe we were unlucky, I don't know, but it totally ruined our visit and we will never return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkParasols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Ugly House tea room was a welcome sight on a wet May weekday. We enjoyed a very pleasant cream tea in front of the wood burner. plenty of hot water to top up the pot & warm, fresh scones with butter, jam and cream-enough to please the hungriest of visitors. The menu looked good, with plenty of choice from home made soup to bara brith. we will be returning!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ty Hyll - Ugly House also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Ty Hyll - Ugly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing