We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing walk”
Review of Moel Siabod

Moel Siabod
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing walk”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Mixed terrain, fabulous views and a great day out. It took us 6.5 hours but with 6 kids in tow and plenty of exploring on the way it was a great trek.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HenrygraceIssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport,Gwent,UK.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A good testing climb for amateurs.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I would not recommend this climb when it is wet,as it can be very
slippery underfoot.Once on top,-the views from the top are
amazing.Weather change is quick,so water-proofs are essential.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“DREAMY MOUNTAIN”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having lived in the area for many moons, this glorious mountain is a lovely place to walk, even if, like me, you do not reach the summit. My dog ran off, hence my descent early but will be back soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisylonglegs229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perfect for a novice accompanied by someone more experienced”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Have not done any hill walking before but I am fairly fit (running and exercise class 3 times a week). As total novices we would never have had the confidence to attempt this on our own (husband and two teenagers) because I would have been constantly wondering whether what we were doing was dangerous with the kids/going to be too taxing/were we taking the wrong route?/etc./etc. Being with friends who have done it many times before was reassuring and also meant we could borrow all their gear (like decent poles). You don't have to go very far up for some gorgeous views and the 360 degree views (including Snowdon) at the top were spectacular. (We did have beginners luck with the weather though). I now keep thinking about it and think I may have the bug. Took about five and a half hours (most of that on the ascent of course) with lots of stops for sandwiches and cake. A good mixture of pasture land, pools, boggy and craggy bits, with the rocks becoming much more frequent the higher you go. Those older and less fit might find it a bit tricky, particularly on the way down, as it can take a toll on your knees. Loved it! A real sense of achievement and a privilege to see that view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Views are amazing”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Some serious rain fell the 2 days prior to the walk, as such it was extremely boggy and the main path on the south side was a stream. The sun was shining and looking up, the top was in mist, however after a good walk and good scramble to the top the weather cleared to give the most spectacular views for 360 degrees. Well worth a trip on a clear day!

Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moel Siabod also viewed

Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Moel Siabod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing