We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent beer, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyn-y-Coed Inn

Tyn-y-Coed Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent beer, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This pub has fantastic beer and staff! The food is basic pub grub but good value and served with a smile!

Dogs welcome!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank f1tzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great beer, disappointing food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

As titled. I really enjoyed two different pints. Good ales. I had three sausages and mash, pretty plain, and cheap sausages, not awesome for a tenner or so. My girlfriends fish pie was not interesting either despite being 'home made'.

Yes for beer, no for food, I think.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SquidgeyHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really friendly and extremely helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was the first time we'd taken our baby boy away and the owners were really accommodating, making it v easy and relaxing. They offered to brings breakfast to my room as I was feeding and offered to drop my husband off to save me getting up. They then let us stay all day on our final day as they didn't need the room which was really nice as my husband's climbing course wasn't due to finish until 5. The room was nice and clean with good facilities, parking was just across the road and the bar served food. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inkberrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub, Food and Beds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Brilliant little Hotel with great staff, Service and food – I cannot fault it. We have stayed here every year for at least the past 12 Years and hope to for at least the next 12 – Everyone is very accommodating and that’s just what you need when you have spent all day outdoors getting wet, cold and muddy – Mulled wine and Pizza to get the evening started – perfect!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

After a day out walking in the beautiful mountains of snowdonia we decided to stop at the Tyn y Coed for some food and a drink.
The food was excellent, wholesome, very tasty and came in large portions. The staff were very helpful and gave us excellent service. We will definately be calling again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nfa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tyn-y-Coed Inn also viewed

Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
 
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Tyn-y-Coed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing