We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
great place

pyb has something to offer every person who is interested in the outdoors from beginners upwards... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
franw0
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Absolutely love this place

Occasionally I don't want to write a review because I like to keep little gems to myself. On this... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2018
hobbitsfeet
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 93 reviews
  
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
74
15
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
15
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews y brenin great food packed lunch top notch amazing place first class local beer outdoor activities well stocked bar tea and cake my friend white water kayaking great courses package including stayed here mountain skills excellent accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Went for a week white water kayaking. They have great instructors who know the local lay of the land, picked the right rivers for our ability and challenged us on some rapids, providing top notch coaching. Some of the best instructors and guides have gone through the doors of Plas y brenin so you know you're in good safe hand.
As a major bonus, the food here is excellent, the bar has local beer on tap and the talks in the evening are always entertaining. I'll be back here for sure.

Thank Hiren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasybrenin, Manager at Plas y Brenin Capel Curig, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thanks for such a kind review, we're hugely proud of our highly skilled Instructional team and will make sure your comments get passed back to your Instructors for the week - we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I started paddling with a family course here in 2013, and have been back twice since with the family and three times on my own for more advanced courses. This week was the Advanced White Water Kayak course which was great fun and although we could have done with a bit more water the coaches made sure that we got the best from the available conditions.

Plas y Brenin provides a comprehensive package including top spec kit if you need it, fantastic instructors, cheerful support staff, loads of freshly cooked food, and simple accommodation (it's not luxury hotel standard, but is modern and well kept). The only thing extra is the well stocked bar for a beer or two in the evening.

1  Thank LongJohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasybrenin, Manager at Plas y Brenin Capel Curig, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review, and we're so pleased you chose to come back and learn with us again. While we sadly can't control the weather, we're proud of our coaches' ability to sniff out what water there is. We look forward to welcoming you and the whole family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic couple of nights staying at PYB for two nights over New Year. Firstly, the accommodation is excellent, and the food is just lovely. They serve a good selection of beers in the bar (has a log burner!), which is also open to non residents. The views from the bar are stunning. We also had a great time at the free NYE party! Finally, many thanks to the lovely staff, who are friendly and helpful at all times. We will be back without a doubt!

Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasybrenin, Manager at Plas y Brenin Capel Curig, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and we have already passed your kind words on to the team who helped make your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

My friend and I decided to kick start the new year by climbing Mt. Snowdon which required us to book a hotel relatively close by. After looking through the options available we found Plas Y Brenin the best value for money, in an ideal location boasting absolutely stunning views.

We originally planned to use the hotel as a simple 'base camp' to arrive late afternoon, get some dinner and an early night in order to be well rested for the following day but we were pleasantly surprised by the extremely friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere and overall 'warmth' of the place! After being adamant that we would get an early night in, we ended up seeing the New Year in with a live band, nibbles and plenty of other friendly characters!

There is a good selection of local beers and several bottled brews too, the bar is clean and the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. The menu options were very limited however the food was delicious, well presented and despite the busy time we ordered, came very swiftly! The prices for food and drink were also very good. (Myself and my friend had 2 Steaks, A Bottle of Wine and numerous ‘spirit & coke’ drinks from 20:00-24:00 and the cost all including was £62.00)
There are plenty of books lining the walls and the room is kept nice and toasty which I thought perfect for anyone who would have been out all day mountaineering, kayaking, skiing etc who would like to unwind!

On entering our bedroom, we were also pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious, well aired and SPOTLESS! ☺☺ The rooms do get very toasty as the place is well heated, but the windows can be opened easily.

What makes this place incredible is the absolutely, breath-taking views all around. It is amongst the beautiful snow topped (in winter) mountains, has a river running below which is the only sound you can hear early in the morning and a Lake directly opposite. At sunrise, the place feels like a fairy-tale! It is a real treat to escape to such beautiful surroundings in a hotel which is run by friendly, enthusiastic and motivated staff! By far, the best New Years that I have had to date!

Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Have attended many week and weekend courses here over the past 10 years. At first they were interesting and different. But if you like military style timings, 8am buffet breakfast with 1 sausage and no more. 9am meet for instruction. 4pm tea and cake sometimes 5pm further instruction. 8pm buffet dinner. same next day and the next. One of the courses i did was the M L training which was oversubscribed and they had to bring in contract instructors. this was the worst course i had been on .On the wild camp part of the course the instructor went in her tent at 5pm and came out at 10pm to do the night nav. rope work was a 30 minute affair with another instructor.I tried a different provider and found him and the instruction much more relaxed and informal . The only good thing about P Y P is that Accommodation and food is provided. of course the cost is more

Thank MrOwtDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasybrenin, Manager at Plas y Brenin Capel Curig, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hi. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t have a great experience with us. I don’t know when you were last here but we have broaden the meal times (from 7.30-8.45am for breakfasts and from 6.30-8pm for dinner) so we are trying to move away from the ‘military style’ timings - accepting as a busy training centre there needs to be a degree of scheduling. It’s very disappointing to hear about your camp experience and night nav role work. If you would like to email further details to our Chief Instructor (Carlo.Forte@pyb.co.uk), Carlo will investigate what went wrong. On the positive side (I guess) it’s great news that we didn’t manage to put you off and you managed to find another provider. Hopefully, at some point, you’ll give us another go as we pride ourselves in running great courses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews