We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always make a point of eating and drinking here when in the area”
Review of Bryn Tyrch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I always make a point of eating and drinking here when in the area”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I love it here - the food is invariably excellent and very good beer too. Comfy sofas situated by the fire are welcome on a cold winter trip and the atmosphere is superb too. Have on occasion been here on my own and find it a friendly place and always end up comparing my day on the hills with somebody. The staff are really accommodating and despite being packed when I visited on the bank holiday weekend in August went out of their way to find me a space to eat in. On my recent trip I was greeted like a valued, regular customer, which impressed my travelling companion!This is why it is one of my all time favourite pubs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    76
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
48
117
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

You can see what is being attempted here, shabby chic, hearty food, but it's not quite there. I did not stay here so I am only commenting on the food. I had Sunday lunch and would only score it 6/10. Too much apology in the pub/bar/restaurant, food expensive for the offering, and atmosphere lacking a bit of zing. I'm local and I won't be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My friends and I used the Bryn Tyrch Inn to feed ourselves up after running the Snowdonia Marathon this year.

We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful, and most importantly, the food was great. I had the 'Ultimate Burger' and I have to say I wasn't disappointed!

Great place and I would look at staying there then next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Such a lovely evening. Would definitely recommend for a stay or even just a dinner. Good selection of local ales. Rachel, the owner, was very accommodating and smiled all night. Best tequila in town! Thanks very much.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAnderson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This little inn is terrific value for money, and has a style all of its own. Our room was not huge, but it was beautifully decorated and ample enough in size to take two adults and two dogs! The bathroom was quite luxurious and very spacious.
The bar area was extremely comfortable even though it was mostly given over to tables for eating. But to one side were heavenly couches and a roaring fire and these were great for poring over maps and enjoying a drink.
We thought the food was very good overall, and occasionally terrific. Breakfast was fine, rather than fantastic, but dinner offered a fairly wide choice, even though the menu didn't change much during the time that we were there. Portions were generous and perfectly sized for those busy on the mountains during the day.
Finally, the staff were really friendly and helpful, and the pleasure of our stay there owed much to the welcoming atmosphere that they created.

Room Tip: The road is not too noisy at night, but can be so if you are in your room during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Took the kids (3yr & 6yr) to Snowdonia for half term and stayed here. Were in the family room which was cosy, smart and ideal size for four people. Restaurant for breakfast and dinner was excellent with very friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Food at dinner was very high standard and great kids menu. Location is perfect for exploring Snowdonia and if we go back we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neston,wirral,england
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Eight of us came here for a stag/50th & had a meal in the restaurant last Saturday.

This review is about my experience only.

Friendly & efficient staff, the restaurant was busy, so had a good atmosphere.

I had Pulled Pork with BBQ beans & chips, this meal was excellent, one of the best have had for a while. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
739 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Tyrch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tyrch Inn

Property: Bryn Tyrch Inn
Address: Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Tyrch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Tyrch Inn is situated in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by magnificent scenery. Capel Curig is an ideal centre for outdoor pursuits and the area is very popular with walkers and climbers. The lakes, beaches, castles and other attractions of North Wales are less than 30 miles away.The Bryn Tyrch aims to provide a warm welcome in the hillside with high quality rooms and good food and drink ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tyrch Hotel Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Inn Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing