We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Sunday roast”
Review of Bryn Tyrch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent Sunday roast”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We pre-ordered our meal here as there were 17 of us in total. Most of us had the Sunday roast, which was average, that is to say good but nothing special. My Yorkshire pud looked and tasted as if it had been made 2 days previously, but the vegetables were perfectly cooked and completely delicious, as was the Welsh lamb. The kids meals were fab - home made chicken nuggets, fish in batter. Desserts were again good but nothing special. The service, however, was exceptional - efficient, friendly and definitely a reason to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    74
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
47
114
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beddgelert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I am ashamed to say although we only live about 9 miles away today was the first time I have visited the Bryn Tyrch for food. I called at 12 to make a reservation for 30 mins later and when we arrived the table was ready for us, even though we had 2 3 year olds and 2 4 month old babies with us we were still made to feel incredibly welcome.
The service and attention to details was exceptional, I am really hard to impress working in customer service for many years and now running my own holiday business, but I couldn't fault it. Lots of little things such as asking whether we wanted the children's meal with our starters or main courses, nothing was too much trouble and the food was outstanding. Both kids wolfed down their sausage and mash (normally that's a real struggle) and when we asked if they could have ice cream (not on the menu) not only was the answer he's, but 1 scoop or 2 and which flavour.
- we will be regulars now and can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: I suspect it gets very busy, so would suggest a reservation for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wareywarws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff, friendly management, good food and beer.....terrible weather....but that didn't seem to matter!! Highly recommend for a boys walking trip! Very accommodating when we left before breakfast had started. Tumble drier for wet clothes...



Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tonythetiger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for a hill walking weekend. The room was fantastic, really well appointed and comfortable. I really couldn't fault it in any way.

We ate in the restaurant 3 times and the food was awesome, with some interesting choices and good variety.

Breakfast was great too. It was very well presented and used great ingredients.

The services from all the staff was exemplary.

I would definitely stay again. Well done to all the staff who made the stay so good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here prior to climbing Snowden for a charity event with a group. The staff are friendly and accomodating and helped us with our preparations including providing us with a packed lunch! The hotel rooms are all quite large with really nice bathrooms. We ate in the restaurant and the menu was excellent as was the food. I will be recommending this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in a front facing room and could not hear the road at all, so any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a celebratory birthday meal here on Easter Saturday whilst staying up the road at the YHA. Luckily we had booked as the restaurant and bar were packed even early in the evening. The service was exemplary and the menu contained excellent local produce which was cooked tastily. For example I had the sea bass with samphire and potatoes, my husband had the Welsh fillet of beef with haggis mash. Put this delicious menu together with brilliant views across to Snowdon and a pretty field of sheep in the foreground, great local beers and an elegant but comfortable dining room - this was difficult to fault.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent one night here and were impressed as soon as we walked in the door. Both the double and twin rooms were very nice with views over the hills and countryside. The evening menu was very varied and had something for everyone. The staff were very attentive and friendly and we could not fault the service we received. Breakfast offered an excellent choice and was cooked to order. We would definitely go back and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kite39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
4.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
4.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
2.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Tyrch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tyrch Inn

Property: Bryn Tyrch Inn
Address: Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Tyrch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Tyrch Inn is situated in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by magnificent scenery. Capel Curig is an ideal centre for outdoor pursuits and the area is very popular with walkers and climbers. The lakes, beaches, castles and other attractions of North Wales are less than 30 miles away.The Bryn Tyrch aims to provide a warm welcome in the hillside with high quality rooms and good food and drink ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tyrch Hotel Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Inn Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing