We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“piece of cake”
Review of Bryn Tyrch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“piece of cake”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

neatly situated within capel curigs masterful panoramic majesty, the bryn tyrch compliments its surroundings extremely well. Excellent food, very well presented and enjoyed tremendously. I'll be back again

Room Tip: book earlier than everyone else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    76
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
49
117
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Bryn Tyrch Inn and like before they looked after our every need. All of the staff are amazingly friendly and they will go out of their way to accommodate you.

With out a doubt this is the most comfortable place to relax having climbed Snowdon. The rooms are all presented to the highest standard, big bathrooms, comfy bed and all clean and tidy.

The breakfast is plentiful and cooked to perfection, as well as the evening meals.

Can't recommend this place highly enough

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JontyR1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in late July in a superior room. The room was on the small side but well equipped and comfortable. The en suite bathroom was very good with a shower over the bath. The hotel is very close to the road so inevitably there was some noise from passing traffic. There is complimentary wifi but it was generally very erratic.

Dinner was excellent on both nights and the restaurant was busy with non-residents which is a good indicator of quality.

Breakfast was part buffet, part cooked to order. Surprised that when I asked for 'just bacon and poached eggs' that was exactly what I got - 1 small rasher of bacon and 1 egg.

Staff were all friendly and helpful.

The location is excellent for exploring Snowdonia and is not far from the coast. Some good walks can be found nearby.

The weather was hot and sunny both days (unusual for this part of Wales!) but the hotel was well equipped with books, magazines and games for those days when it's not so good.

Overall an excellent hotel which we would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Bryn Tyrch Inn is located just off the main road toward Llanberis and Caernarfon if you are coming from Betws-y-Coed. It sits in a nice little spot overlooking a river and a field with a cute little pony in it. The building itself is fairly unassuming from the outside.

The inside of the building has much more charm and is full of period features. The furnishings are cosy, but it you just turned up you might be out of luck - most if not all of the tables were reserved (a pet peeve of mine). We were lucky enough to have made a reservation, but were sat in an anteroom to the main bar, which was more modern and lacking the character and ambience of the adjacent room. It did the trick well enough - my only real complaint was that the tables were sticky.

Service was very friendly and accommodating. The menu had a good selection of locally sourced food and you can hear/see the chef around the corner, which was a nice touch. The food itself was extremely tasty, hot and well presented (cod wrapped in bacon & fillet of beef). It didn't take too long to come either. We were both pretty full, but stuffed in desserts too - not quite as good as the mains, but my lemon posset was delicious.

I would return here, but beware the need to book.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJ0RD4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I joined a couple friends for two days walking in Snowden and the Bryn Tyrch is a firm favourite with the more experienced in the party. The location of the hotel is only a 10 minute drive from tackling the mountains making for easy access and escape!

The rooms are well presented and the staff were very helpful at all times (the onsite drying room was used very frequently!) but where we felt needed improvement was the food which we felt overpriced relative to some of the fine eateries in nearby Betsy where the quality was as good if not much better.

Room Tip: Keep away from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay at Bryn Trych, but met there with friends for an evening meal in the pub. There was a selection of local real ales on offer and I was offered a tasting before purchase. The menu was varied with examples of local produce. I opted for a Welsh filet steak cooked blue. I was informed that a 'blue' steak wasn't available but they could do 'very rare'. The starter was tomato & red pepper soup which proved to be delicious. The main course was served in a timely manner and my steak was as promised, 'very rare', just how I like it. The vegetables were well cooked, including the Jenga tower of chips.
I wouldn't hesitate to eat here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Bryn Tyrch Inn for 3 nights and had a great stay.Location-wise if was 10 minutes drive from the starting point of the Miner's Trail at Mount Snowdon, and lots of other walks and things to do nearby.

Our room was lovely, it was at the front with a nice view. The room was very clean, cosy, and nicely decorated.

The food is really fantastic. We ended up eating there every night - as we climbed Snowdon and went for long walks the last thing we felt like doing was seeking out somewhere good to eat. Luckily the food at Bryn Tyrch was so good we actually didn't want to eat anywhere else.

The staff also deserve a mention. They really were wonderful, very friendly and helpful.

We're planning to return to Snowdonia soon as whilst we were there we discovered lots of other things we'd like to do but didn't have the time, and we will definitely be returning to the Bryn Tyrch Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
739 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
727 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Tyrch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tyrch Inn

Property: Bryn Tyrch Inn
Address: Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Tyrch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Tyrch Inn is situated in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by magnificent scenery. Capel Curig is an ideal centre for outdoor pursuits and the area is very popular with walkers and climbers. The lakes, beaches, castles and other attractions of North Wales are less than 30 miles away.The Bryn Tyrch aims to provide a warm welcome in the hillside with high quality rooms and good food and drink ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tyrch Hotel Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Inn Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing