We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Bryn Tyrch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a friend was doing the zip wire for a charity. The location makes this the perfect spot for exploring Snowdonia.
We had a wonderful stay here with excellent food and friendly attentive staff. I highly recommend this hotel and we shall certainly be visiting again.
Thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    75
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
47
115
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Having read the reviews I was in two minds to try the food but I did. I ordered tempura vegetables to start with fish for the main. The first few mouthfuls were fine but then a foreign object in my mouth (stuck in my gum) turned out not to be carrot etc but a coiled piece of wire. The potential damage this could have done ripping my throat etc etc was awful. I reported it and my plate was whisked away. No suggestion of a replacement! What seemed like ages after my 'fish and chips' plus small glass dish of peas arrived. One mouthful of the peas proved they were hardly above frozen. To say my experience at Bryn Tyrch was unforgettable is putting it mildly. The owner tried to placate my with 'What can we do to make amends?' My suggestion was 'Sort out your kitchen!'
I shall not be stopping there again.................

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank newquay1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Came across the Bryn Trych when looking for a nights stay , what a find ,lovely Inn in a great location looking across to the mountains, rooms comfy and modern , breakfast excellent
This was only five pounds dearer than the place we stayed the night before in Llandudno but in a totally different class altogether , the only reason I didn't give it five stars is the price of the evening meal was to expensive and as a beer drinker the bitters were not kept well flat and lifeless but would definitely recommend this place to stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 21071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at Bryn Tyrch and ate in the restaurant during an overnight weekend stay in North Wales. The food was exquisite - both of our main courses (one was lamb, the other cod wrapped in bacon) were cooked to perfection, the starters (soup and tempura prawns) were very tasty and the puddings (lemon posset and sticky toffee pudding) fabulous. Hats off to the staff too as the service was attentive without being overbearing.

Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went with a group of friends to do the nearby nerve jangling zip wire .This was a perfect base to both calm our nerves beforehand and celebrate afterwards .The food is brilliant and the Welsh Breakfast sets you up for the day perfectly .Rachel as ever is a perfect hostess and will always accommodate requests for pushing tables together etc so friends can sit together .The staff team are all brilliant rooms comfortable clean with water and shortbread .Ideal place to stay ideal place to eat .p.s. I needed a stiff whisky after the zip wire !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethJ919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the website, Bryn Tyrch looked to be that rare thing - characterful Snowdonian accommodation more contemporary than twee, with a promising menu for those evenings when you want to stay in. It couldn't be more convenient for Snowdon and Betwys-Y-Coed.

Views from the front are impressive, and staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast did the job. Rooms have recently been refurbished. We stayed in the family room - a small double with adjoining large single room and bathroom on through that, which was well set out for purpose. There were biscuits, instant coffee and tea, and fresh milk available. Both rooms had TVs, although we didn't use them. So far, so good.

But - and it's a big but - the mattress on the bed was terrible. We both kept sliding into the middle, to the extent that I eventually gave up and slept on the fold out chair bed in the childrens' room for both nights. Apparently the main bed was still uncomfortable for just one person. Both beds had heavy winter duvets despite the 20 degree heat. Also, the room was above an inadequately soundproofed staff work/toilet area, so doors banged and voices sounded until well after midnight, further keeping us awake. No-one made the beds after the first night or removed used crockery etc, or provided dry towels (although they did so later at our request).

A notice said wifi is available in certain parts of the building. We couldn't find it.

Burgers are good. Risotto was more like an unseasoned rice pudding.

I'd really like to be able to give the Bryn Tyrch a better review because it could fill a particular niche very well - but the bottom line is that at night you expect to sleep in peace and comfort. It was a real disappointment that we couldn't.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

neatly situated within capel curigs masterful panoramic majesty, the bryn tyrch compliments its surroundings extremely well. Excellent food, very well presented and enjoyed tremendously. I'll be back again

Room Tip: book earlier than everyone else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capel Curig
4.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
4.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
5.2 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Tyrch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tyrch Inn

Property: Bryn Tyrch Inn
Address: Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Tyrch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Tyrch Inn is situated in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by magnificent scenery. Capel Curig is an ideal centre for outdoor pursuits and the area is very popular with walkers and climbers. The lakes, beaches, castles and other attractions of North Wales are less than 30 miles away.The Bryn Tyrch aims to provide a warm welcome in the hillside with high quality rooms and good food and drink ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tyrch Hotel Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Inn Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing