We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family park”
Review of Hendre Coed Isaf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanaber
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendre Coed Isaf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed the week commencing 24/8/12 with my partner, son, mother & brother.

The park is clean & well maintained, although the elderly/disabled may struggle to get to caravans at the back of the park on foot as it is situated on a steep incline. Saying this however, my brother has cerebral palsy & we managed fine by taking him up & down in the car.

It is also worth noting that you only have to cross the road & walk over a railway bridge to reach the beach. The nearby town of Barmouth can be walked to from this beach, & is a good walk.

The caravan was clean, welcoming, & fitted to a high standard. Due to the incline & positioning of the caravans, I believe that all are treated to the same amazing views of the bay as ours was. Our accommodation had a slabbed patio area with seating, as did the majority of the other caravans. The couple that did not have this had small grassed areas.

We never had opportunity to use the pool, but apart from the occasional debris which is expected with it being outdoors, it was always clean & tidy.

The play park is small but a modern timber structure with wood chip & my four year old son enjoyed it immensely.

Although we didn't go in the bar, the one night my mother & brother went down it was closed despite the signage saying it would be open. However when we went past when it was open there were a few people using both the small game room & the lovely outdoor patio who all seemed to be enjoying themselves & there was a pleasant atmosphere.

Regrettably I did not eat in the restaurant but from what I understand it is held in high regard & when I looked at the menu it had some wonderful dishes advertised.

The only disappointing aspect was the parks wi-fi, which we were going to pay to use but at £6 a day was a no go for us.

We will definitely stay again next year as we had a lovely, peaceful time here. It is great for middle aged couples & families with young children though teenagers may find themselves bored.

Would highly recommend, & worth noting that this appeared to be the highest quality accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank katiemidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Hendre Coed Isaf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Spent a week there this july with girlfiend and her daughter, caravan was excellent and very clean, lovely sea view, and each caravan has its own patio with table and chairs, the site itself is spotless and of a very high standard, was a pleasure to stay there, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My partner and I visited Hendre Coed for a weekend break during beginning of June as a base for a couple of days walking in the National Park close by. We normally stay in a hotel or B&B when we go walking, but decided it would make a nice change to try a caravan week-end, as we had not stayed in a caravan since we were children.

Staying in a caravan really is a different experience these days and Hendre Coed itself was a different experience too. The caravans are really lovely and the van we stayed in had central heating, a large sitting room area with a large LCD Flat screen TV, super kitchen, spacious bedroom, nice bathroom, and a private terrace

The furniture and furnishings were of a very high quality and very comfortable.

What makes Hendre Coed so appealing to my mind; is that the park is in an elevated position, so the view of the sea you enjoy is pretty stunning and the sunsets were amazing.

The park is spotlessly clean, they have a lovely outdoor terrace with tables overlooking the sea where you can relax with a drink, or eat a meal (weather permitting) and the park also has a really nice heated swimming pool (although we did not use it during our week-end stay).

The proprietors (Mark & Jane) were really nice people, they genuinely seemed to want their customers to have a really nice time; and went out of their way to ensure we were happy with everything during our stay. The whole place had a really nice atmosphere.

The park also has a nice bar & restaurant we used for our evening meals after walking and the food was excellent. The lamb was superb and the deep fried ice-cream dessert (although it sounds ugh) was absolutely scrummy. They served a lovely Sunday Lunch at a good price too.

There was also a childrens activity area that seemed very popular with numerous children while we were there.

All in all it was perfect as a base from which to walk; and would also be ideal for families with children. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Best view from caravans situated high up.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalesMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Booked again this year. Caravans spotlessly clean, park beautifully maintained, sea views magnificent, Staff friendly and helpful but not intrusive, have dined both in bar and restaurant, food excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit, you will love it
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolann573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hendre coed Isaf is a mile out of Barmouth on the Harlech Rd it is a family run park with friendly staff and is located just a short walk across the road to the miles of beach.The park has a mixture of privately owned caravans and rental caravans all maintained to a good standard and most have a sea view with sunsets that you would see abroad.There is ample room for children to play and has a games room and small Bar onsite that is unspoilt with a first class restaurant which caters for all tastes and is fantastic quality home cooked, great for that special occasion.and also has a vegetarian option.overall if you are thinking of visiting this unspoilt area which is a mecca for walking,fishing and exploring this park is a must.you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have been holidaying here for many yrs and the family who own it have made huge improvements each time we return. The views are second to none, I have traveled the world and never seen such awesome sunsets! Accommodation is splendid and a great range of affordable to lux accom to fit all bugets. Food in the restaurant Is fantastic improved again since our last stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
0.8 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
#4 of 12 in Barmouth
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
Talybont Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Talybont
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendre Coed Isaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendre Coed Isaf

Address: Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Llanaber
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Static Caravan Park with fantastic views of Cardigan Bay. Linen Provided. Excellent Restaurant & Bar onsite. Take away meals also available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendre Coed Isaf Llanaber, Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing