We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful food but awful service. Inexperienced staff that really have no idea what they are doing. Such a shame as otherwise co” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hendre Coed Isaf Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanaber
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hendre Coed Isaf Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful food but awful service. Inexperienced staff that really have no idea what they are doing. Such a shame as otherwise co”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch. Waited for the waiter to clean & re-lay table. Never did wipe it over. Cleaned myself with wet wipes. Had to ask for menus, had to ask for order to be taken. Food did take a long while but was freshly cooked & beautiful. (Does state at bar food cooked to order) Was not asked if we wanted any sauces or pudding etc
The awful waiter / waitressing could really put people off which is a shame. The staff 'flitted' from table to table not knowing what they were doing. They need training in waitering !! Other tables around us also complaining about the awful service. Then surprise surprise we had been charged for 6 adult meals & there were only 2 of us !!
Please don't let this review put you off the food was scrummy. Hopefully the restaurant owners will read this and train all staff !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Centerparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HendreCoed, Manager at Hendre Coed Isaf Caravan Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi
First of all I cannot apologise enough for the sloppy service you seem to have received. My apologies also for the delay in responding.
I am glad you enjoyed your meal with us, but sorry the service was a let down. I will try to explain somewhat:
Unfortunately in July we lost two of our experienced waiting on team, I took on 3 new members of staff to replace (one or two usually dont make the grade!). Around the same time my grandmother (who lived with us) took ill and was diagnosed terminally ill, with a couple of months to live. I practically gave up work immediately to look after her and the new staff basically had to get on with it.
My nan sadly passed away a couple of weeks ago and I am now implementing staff training for our 'new' staff and refresher training for existing staff, so hopefully these problems will soon be erradicated.
Once again sincere apologies, and we do hope to see you again sometime. Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stopped here a few times at my friends caravan, excellent clean and large caravan, and the food in the restaurant is out of this world. Had the special honey roast duck with puy lentils, very tasty and filling. Will definitely be back again! Oh and nice friendly staff as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mogbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed on night on 26/07, with kids, we were blessed with sunshine so that may affect my review! ..had a great time, love the caravan site, nicely lay out on an steep hill which means unlike some sites you can be almost guaranteed a sea view, and what a view it is! ...the pool is great, just right, though a lounger or two would make even better, as would longer opening hours to the pool. Kids play park is adequate, there is a grassed area to play / sunbathe, a nice bar and an excellent terrace for drinks, coffee, or a great menu, with some really good food - if you don't stay here, don't rule it out for a meal or just an afternoon coffee - it really is an unbeatable view, with some really friendly and helpful staff. - this caravan was booked as an alternative to a B&B, and it was the correct choice as far as we were concerned. -Will definitely be revising in both summer and winter time. - i just hope my review doesn't mean it gets fully booked, for my own sake!

Room Tip: I don't think you will be dissapointed with any caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBradlrm120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stopped at Hendre Coed Isaf for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The caravans had everything you would need and were comfortable. The park is in an excellent location for the beach and the centre of Barmouth. Everyone we spoke to were friendly andvery helpful. The restaurant is a must when stopping here. The food is gorgeous, some of the best food I have had. We will definitely be booking to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Excellent caravan, well kept park ... very handy for Barmouth and coast .... great food in the restaurant !! Could be issues if there are two cars, although there is a car park by reception. We thoroughly enjoyed the week end and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin_Tynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed over the may Bank holiday weekend. Our family hired 2 caravans to accommodate 6 adults and 4 children under 7 including a 6 month old and a dog. The location was fantastic 5 mins from barmouth and the views from the caravans were stunning. Caravan was well equipped and clean and one of them allowed pets where the other didn't which I liked. There was a nice pay area for the children too. We had Sunday dinner in the restaurant on site and the food was lovely and staff were very friendly. All in all a great find. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanddulas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just returned from a wonderful bank holiday weekend with our son daughter son in law daughter in law and 4 grandaughters , we had 2 caravans with excellent sea views, caravans lovely and clean well equipped with everything you could need.Short drive to Barmouth with its lovely beaches. we had 1 caravan which was pet friendly so my son could bring the family dog , park very clean and well cared for, park for the children to play and a special dog walking area. We all enjoyed a superb sunday lunch at the restaraunt on site and the staff were so accommodating,and nothing was to much trouble for them. Every caravan had a patio with its own table and chairs glorious sitting there soaking up the stunning views.
We have nothing but praise for Hendre Coed Isaf and will definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.1 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
Barmouth Bay Holiday Park
#3 of 11 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lawrenny Lodge
Lawrenny Lodge
#4 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendre Coed Isaf Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendre Coed Isaf Caravan Park

Property: Hendre Coed Isaf Caravan Park
Address: Llanaber | Barmouth, Llanaber, Barmouth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Llanaber
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Static Caravan Park with fantastic views of Cardigan Bay. Linen Provided. Excellent Restaurant & Bar onsite. Take away meals also available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendre Coed Isaf Caravan Park Llanaber, Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing