We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Penty Mochyn BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Beautiful Wales Holiday barns
Penty Mochyn
BBQ
King Sized Beds
Stunning sunsets most evenings.
Full sied single beds
Main Bedroom
Spa Bath
Artists impression
Lounge
Penty Mochyn view from lounge
Llanaber Beach
Bedroom
Free range ducks and chickens
Patio area at the back with BBQ, sun loungers and picnic bench.
Private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanaber, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Breezypup...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from 5 days at this wonderful little cottage. We were blessed with good weather, but this place was so comfortable with everything we needed, regardless if the weather! our party consisted of myself, my partner my elderly mom and our two dogs. So on the days we went off with the dogs, mom had everything she needed to entertain herself, and most importantly she was safe and comfortable.
So much to do and see in the area, one mile from Barmouth so couple of beers and lovely walk home along the beach, yet not to close!
The chickens and ducks were great, very friendly, and the sheep made friends with our dogs, clearly used to visitors.
The fresh flowers were a lovely, a welcoming touch. As was the wine!!!
I was a little surprised to read negative comments on this cottage, I can only say that all the information is there on the website, it's a wonderful find and if you love animals book it. The amenities are a very high standard, coupled with a location to die for, unbelievable sea views, If that's not your cup of tea don't go there and complain!!!! We loved it. Thank you Jan and Mick x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lozlock
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we have stayed in many cottages up and down the uk over the years with our dog, unfortunately we would not rate this property as 5 star. the place felt like it needed a bit more attention in terms of a thorough clean, particularly the floors and it lacked some of the finer details that we have been used to in the past i.e there was no coffee or sugar (only packet sugar sachets from costa coffee and mcdonalds), no kitchen towels, no bread ( we have been left bread and cakes in a few of our previous rental properties ). the chickens whilst completely harmless were a bit of a pain (there was a coop in our back garden) and whilst our dog is extremely friendly, he didnt settle for a good while after we had arrived and we had no option but to leave the back door open leading into the garden as it was an extremely hot day. there are no windows on the upper floor where the open plan lounge and kitchen are (only a small velux ) so we managed to find a small fence and leant that by the back door so our dog wouldnt go out to chase the chickens. the gate from the back garden leading to the yard had a gap under it that our dog definitely could have got under if he really wanted to,he is of medium size so i feel this needs addressing for future particularly if owners have smaller dogs.
on the positive side it was refreshing that the tv was quite large as most cottages tend to only small ones. the toilet flush was broken for our first night but the owner kindly travelled to get a new one the next day and fixed it whilst we were exploring the local areas. the owners are friendly aswell as all their animals. the views across the sea are lovely and we were blessed with terrific weather! we took a trip into nearby harlech, treath beach and porthmadog over our 2 night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
We all have different ways of treating our guests. You have previously been treated with bread, cake and kitchen roll, but we choose to treat with fresh flowers, boiled sweets, toffees, tin foil, dishwasher tablets and cling film. Freebies are freebies!
In our advertising, it does clearly state that dogs should be on a lead at all times, due to the free roaming animals. Most people love helping themselves to the free eggs and feeding the chickens, so we had no idea you didn't like them. We could have moved the chickens if you'd have mentioned it - we can't do anything if we don't know!

We work hard to try to make holidays enjoyable and I'm sorry that something got missed with the cleaning. I would have been happy to put it right, if you'd have said.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisandS...
Bury. Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accomodation, ideal to take the Grandchildren”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Penty Mochin and second with my Grandchildren. It`s a beautiful peaceful retreat to visit and explore the area.....or just gaze out of the window at the lovely views and amazing sunsets. We only realised before leaving that we never switched the TV on.....just not necessary !
Jan and Mick are brilliant hosts and make sure you have everything you need. We just chilled out, and the beds are the most comfortable I`ve found in any cottage stay I`ve had. The cottage is clean and well kept with everything you need.....and more. There are chickens at the back providing daily eggs and keeping the children busy `looking after` them. The children really miss them now ! There`s WiFi for the kids `social networking` (a necessity apparently !!) We had a brilliant week and sunshine too with lovely beaches just a stroll away. We all loved it and hope to be back again. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It`s so relaxing just looking out of the window, Soon wound down.
Liked least: There`s nothing that any of us disliked, except Aidan had to leave the chickens behind....!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home from home”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely barn conversion, very comfy stay. Loved the animals on site especially the chickens which provided a lot of entertainment for us! Only 5 min walk from the beach and 5 min drive to Barmouth and is overall a great location to explore the surrounding areas. Beautiful sunsets can be seen from the property. Owners of the accommodation are very friendly and welcoming. Internet is a bit tempremental to log in to but we did get it working and found it fast, and there is a huge tv and DVD player in the property which was great should you wish to spend an evening indoors. We had no problems with the property and had a really lovely stay! We will book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaagseBlu...
Leiden, ze Nedderlands
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“In a good place”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Penty Mochyn is indeed an old barn, more or less dug into the hillside so downstairs is kinda dark, especially with the beautiful but dark floor. But. i don't mind a dark bathroom or bedroom, as long as the light works. And it did. The beds are excellent - memory foam indeed takes a little getting used to - ample closet space, tv's with dvd player in each room, very efficient floor heating and all looking very well maintained and clean. Bathroom is kinda small but it has everything you need, including bubblebath. Bathroom was clean as well (no mystery hair are milldew) but a little less wellmaintained with two lightfixtures hanging by their threads. Upstairs is the lighter place, with plenty windows and a brilliant view of the sea and incredible sunsets. Kitchen is large and has all the things you need, including a double oven. Closet/fridge/freezing space is ample. It doesn't look brand new, but it was clean and hey: it's a kitchen.
The couches were indeed brand new and so was the huge tv! Points of critique: wifi was kinda slow, the door to the cabinet a little wobbly and there were no medium sized glasses. I've had worse.
We also loved the chickens, their fresh eggs, the ducks (hilarious), the cats, the dog and the horses. It was just brilliant.
I liked was the information book inside the house with just enough tips - both do's and don'ts - to keep it manageable but still extremely helpful ( like where to eat, which walks are good and when not to go to Shell Island). In the introduction the owners explain they let their guests decide whether they want to socialize with them or not because they believe people value their privacy. Might explain why they don't come across as overly friendly. But when we needed them, Mike was friendly enough and very proficient in problemsolving. So there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We ended up staying here while the weather was at its worst, however it was lovely and cosy with a great view over the sea. Comfy memory foam mattress (takes a bit of getting used to) and the bedrooms were very well heated. Upstairs did get a bit cold with just the one radiator which could not be adjusted, but after speaking to the friendly owners they were happy to get an additional heater for us to use. Good sized TV and reliable WiFi service.

A few signs of wear and tear in the property, nothing major, just a few improvements which I am sure will be made in time by the owners.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
We have now replaced the 9 month old sofas (that were made to look old and scruffy by a small dog being allowed on them), with more new leather sofas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie0408...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Little Gem!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at Penty Mochyn. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. The owners, Jan & Mick were friendly and helpful. Beautiful views of the sea to enjoy whilst relaxing with a cuppa! Great area for dog-walking. This is a real little gem and we would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower was great!
Liked least: The back door - difficulty in opening & shutting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing