We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Gem !”
Review of Llwyndu Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llwyndu Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real Gem !”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just stayed at the farmhouse with my partner and our beloved dog and all i can say is "what a Gem of a place" !!
We were the only occupants so really had the place to ourselves, and as it is on the outskirts of Barmouth and on an elevated position we soon relaxed into the tranquility of the place.

The views are breathtaking, ocean on front, countryside to the rear and the sunset was one of the best i have ever seen. Made even better as the host (Paula) served hot coffee and fresh biscuits whilst the sun dipped behind the ocean.

We were in the converted granary, Beautiful country cottage feel which had its own entrance (this was a bonus as we did not need to walk the dog through the b&b main farmhouse).
It's not modern, it's not dated.....Its a country style room, perfectly fitting for the farmhouses history and setting.
The room had everything you would need and i'm sure Paula would have accommodated anything else we may have required.

Evening Meal..........Don't bother going into Barmouth !!! The food here is excellent, I would have paid the total cost of the night on the food alone.......being a frequent fine diner i would put our meal up there with Michelin grade restaurants i have eaten in.

Breakfast.......equal to the evening meal.....both quality and quantity

In short......if you want a feeling of the countryside, with stunning sea-views and only 5 mins from the ctr of town.....Give it a go..........You will not be disappointed.

We will be returning.......on a regular basis.

P.S. A massive thanks to Paula (and her shy Husband / Chef)

Paul, Rach and the dog x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    21
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

! If you are looking for a place to make sense of things in your life then look no further. If you are in a hurry this place IS NOT for you nor is it if you like ultra modern chic or are used to chain hotels. If you want to lose track of time, what day of the week it is, really relax with great food, fine wines and some good company then you will like it here.

The whole point is that it’s so informal, friendly, casual and just a great place to chill. We had a drink in the garden and the sunset over the bay was quite stunning. Dinner was superb and wonderful to have home cooked meals from locally sourced produce from a short menu. There might be some time before you get it but it arrives for you to enjoy in one of the most characterful dining rooms I have eaten in. The hake and prawns and the duck we had were wonderful as were the breakfasts.

We had a room in the farmhouse with a great new bathroom and a powerful shower which was just the job after a long walk along the Mawddach Estuary. This was the reason we visited Barmouth after seeing Julia Bradbury’s BBC programme some while ago. There are plenty of walks here and we shall definitely be going back.

The service is very professional and Paula and Peter are never intrusive, they are there just enough to make your stay wonderfully relaxing. The peace and quiet may be too much for some!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a two night break recently and the majority vote (from all four of us) was that it was ok. We realise that the farmhouse is very old but there is a fine line between character and the need for updating. All the bed linen needed updating and the beds were uncomfortable. There is so much that could be done with the place it seemed such a shame. We arrived soaking from a long hike and unfortunately the hot water ran out which meant a tepid bath.

We ate one dinner there and the food was disappointing and at almost £30.00 a head seemed expensive for what it was. On saying that, breakfast was lovely. My advice would be to eat in town

Room Tip: It isn't worth paying the extra for the four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Thank you for a lovely 2 days. I have fell in love with Barmouth again. The views are wonderful and the accomodation very good. Everyone said how great I looked when I returned to Birmingham. The dogs enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: Walk on the beach ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

How refreshing to find proprietors who remain true to heritage. Llwyndu Farmhouse is being lovingly restored/protected with no concessions to superficial cosmetic transformation. The house exudes its benign family histories through the pores of its walls & its ghosts can relax in the knowledge that they will not be sanitised out of existence.
Our accommodation in the granary was cosy, private & met all our needs. Breakfasts were superb – varied, generous & cooked to order. We loved the restaurant. The menus were imaginative & locally sourced, freshly cooked, with personal service throughout. Expensive? Not when you take into account the holistic experience of an intimate 16th century dining room, congenial fellow diners & the absence of mobile phones and intrusive attention-seekers.
Our hosts were a self-effacing couple who worked unobtrusively as a team. There was no attempt to intrude on their guests in a cynical ‘Have a nice day’ fashion but they were quick to respond if you needed them, or to exchange conversation and information in a quietly casual manner. In short they allowed you to make the place your own during your stay.
Llwyndu Farmhouse with its peaceful gardens & lovely views is a haven of tranquillity – an escape from gadgets, noise & superficiality. We would not hesitate to recommend it.
Also well done Barmouth – an amazing revival since our last visit several years ago.
Thank you Paula & Peter for a relaxing & memorable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The reception and service was very friendly welcoming and friendly. The food was top quality home cooking with interesting menu which varied daily including excellent and interesting vegetarian options. The evening meal looks pricey but was definitely worth it. Excellent and comprehensive wine list [supplied by Tanners of Shrewsbury].We stayed in the 'barn' which was quiet , a comfortable bed and lots of immediate hot water for the bath. The décor of the room was perhaps a little 'dated'. We could have had our dog with us had we wanted. Overall a most pleasant stay and one we will definitely repeat. I agree with the previous review re comments made by reviewer Sally W

Room Tip: The family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Disappointed would be an understatement. Hoped for a romantic night in what was meant to be a lovely four poster bed, the bed squeaked badly even when just lying down we had to tighten up the posts to stop a wobble. The farms toilet was right by the rooms wall so when anyone flushed the noise was terrible,we couldn't lock the bedroom door which left us feeling very insecure and from other reviews we have found out our room was the fire exit access point which the hotel owners do not mention in any adverts or leaflets.
Even though a summer night due to the weather being so adverse the room was quite cold with no way of warming up, the en-suite had a lock but no handle and the hot water took awhile to appear.
The breakfast offered a wide selection of food and a vegetarian option which was nice.
We did feel judged for not being already married as we had got engaged whilst there and when we mentioned it to Paula her demeanor could be described at best as dour.

Room Tip: Do not use the four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyndu Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyndu Farmhouse

Property: Llwyndu Farmhouse
Address: Llwyndu Farmhouse Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyndu Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent hotel with licensed restaurant. Informal & relaxed. Ensuite rooms in house and converted granary. All very individuel and of great character. Good food & wine. Marvellous views over Cardigan Bay. There is great walking and biking in the area and the sandy beaches go on forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Llwyndu Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwyndu Farmhouse Llanaber, Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing