We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B with incredible buildings, views and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Llwyndu Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llwyndu Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Lampeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic B&B with incredible buildings, views and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Spent a couple of nights here whilst working in north Wales and I couldn't have been more happy with Llwyndu. A warm greeting on arrival from Paula and Peter was lovely, with a nice pot of coffee and biscuits in front of the fire. The room was very comfortable and nicely furnished, with plenty of room for myself and dog. Evening meals are a must here, Peter cooking is not to be missed! From Llwyndu there is quick access up into the Snowdonian mountains and south towards Aberystwyth and mid Wales. I travel across Wales regularly for fieldwork and this so far tops the list, I could not recommend Llwyndu more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Peace and quiet of the countryside, but close to Barmouth for facilities, this establishment (difficult word as it's more than a B&B but less than a hotel) is a great place for a break, whether for business or pleasure. Comfortable rooms with all one would expect, roaring fire in the lounge, and a very good choice of food, wonderfully-cooked, made this a great place to re-charge after my work in the area. Felt more like a friend of the family staying than a paying guest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have been coming back Llwyndu for over 10 years now, and its about time we say thank you to Paula and Peter.

Its a ideal location to explore Mid to south Wales with dog friendly beaches,mountain walks,and cycling and there's nothing like Peter's wonderful breakfasts to start the day and a excellent home cooked dinner at the end of the day to rival any restaurant.


We have always been made to feel part of the family and there nothing to much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Rather more space than most b and b's we have stayed in - large room with bathroom, a dining/breakfast room in which tables are well spaced for privacy and intimacy; comfortable lounge with real fire. Peter and Paula are attentive hosts. Peter is an excellent cook. The full Welsh breakfasts were excellent, as were the smoked kippers. Evening dinners offered varied and exciting menus. Really, this is a small hotel, rather than a b and b. The views across the bay are excellent. The location is far enough from the main road to be quiet, but not to be a reason for concern. Easy to find just north of Barmouth. Access by train or bus is possible. Local train services give access to Welsh narrow gauge lines and other attractions if you want to give the car a rest. Slightly more expensive than many, but very good quality.

Room Tip: Aim for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happilyretired54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a great couple of days here after searching around various places near Barmouth. This is a fabulous cross between a guest house and a small hotel. beautiful setting. Dog friendly too. Top marks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Beautiful 16th century property with gorgeous view of the bay. We had a delicious, full breakfast and enjoyed wine next to the fireplace. Paula was a gracious hostess and helped us when we had car trouble the morning we left. I would recommend this B & B to those wanting to see authentic Wales.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWG310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haddon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I were on a four day break, and found Llwyndu Farmhouse by chance via a web search: what a lucky day that was! We both thought the (fourposter) bed was second in comfort only to our own, and the shower also only bettered by our home shower. Our plan was to eat in on the night of our arrival, then to save money by dining out the rest of our stay, if indeed we needed to after the excellent "full Welsh breakfast"! But the meal on our first evening was so good that we were beguiled into coming back every night. Yes, it's comparatively expensive, but it's definitely worth it, and the local beers, despite being bottled of course, were excellent and the wine list affordable. Best of all, though, were our hosts, Peter and Paula. It's difficult thing to be attentive to guests' needs without being intrusive, but Peter and Paula did it superbly well: we felt more like friends or family than like paying guests. As we left my wife and I turned to each other and unprompted said,"Well, that's the best place we've ever stayed!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#15 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyndu Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyndu Farmhouse

Property: Llwyndu Farmhouse
Address: Llwyndu Farmhouse Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyndu Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent hotel with licensed restaurant. Informal & relaxed. Ensuite rooms in house and converted granary. All very individuel and of great character. Good food & wine. Marvellous views over Cardigan Bay. There is great walking and biking in the area and the sandy beaches go on forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Llwyndu Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwyndu Farmhouse Llanaber, Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing