We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Llwyndu Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Llwyndu Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a week here in early June. Lovely old house, and attentive and helpful hosts in Peter and Paula. Good position overlooking the sea, we took some good sunset photographs. Pleasant grounds to sit in. Peters cooking is different, and great eating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you're looking for a typical Welsh farmhouse, with great hospitality, fantastic food to die for,
look no further then Llwyndu Farmhouse in Barmouth. Our bedroom was full of character and charm and with a great view of the sea.

A huge selection for breakfast and a great a way to start the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have read recent reviews and visited the Guesthouse/ Hotel over the Bank Holiday weekend. I cannot disagree with some if not most of the negative comments made about certain aspects re the room quality, tired decor and furniture etc etc. However... I would like to point out some of the positive aspects. The couple who run this business are very friendly, helpful and organised. They are clearly enthusiastic about the Hotel and it is clearly a life long project for them. The food, whether it be breakfast or dinner is reasonably varied and in my opinion that of a decent restaurant standard. The guesthouse gives the impression of being an old settlement with various stone outbuildings and clearly has the potential to expand. I feel that this 'settlement' has a great 'oldy-worldy' atmosphere along with the rustic and naturally maintained surrounding green areas. Each and every building has retained most of the original features and although ,,, yes I agree that improvements are needed, the natural beam work remains a fabulous feature. It is a peaceful area set well back from the nearby main coastal road.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnycrow64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

To be honest I was disappointed with the standard of the accommodation especially for the price.
We were placed in the converted granary as we had dogs, and they were not allowed into the main house. Our youngest dog fretted and I had to go back during dinner to calm her down, but our dog wasn't the only one whining for its owners!
The room was definitely stuck in a time warp with it's dated fixtures and fittings.The lights above the bed were too low down and a potential hazard as the shades were glass and I knocked them several times and one didn't work. They were not needed as there were lamps on the bedside table. Our mattress was very comfy, but sadly the bed itself was very tired and dated, as was the rest of the furniture. The room itself has massive potential and is crying out to be so much more than it is with the original exposed beams and stone walls and would be changed dramatically with an up to date bathroom suite for starters.

I have to agree with Julie B at the 4 star rating....yes vey laughable indeed. The main house might be.....but the granary would struggle to achieve a 2 star and I think that a different pricing wouldn't go a miss to reflect this.

On the plus side the water was piping hot...scorching in fact....so the bath was full in no time!
The resurant area was very cosy, although a little cramped in some corners and the food was gorgeous and very nicely presented with a daily changing menu. The breakfast menu had plenty of choice, with cereals yoghurts and a number of cooked options. You could eat like a pauper or a king...at no extra cost.

Overall our trip was pleasant enough, but we wouldn't go back due to the accommodation being over priced for what you actually receive, especially when there are hotels with spa baths charging not much more...if not the same...!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AEC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent a couple of nights here during a trip to North Wales and I genuinely can't praise enough. The location, room, food and hosts (Peter & Paula) were excellent. Llwyndu is a period farmhouse which overlooks the coast of Cardigan Bay, close to Barmouth and on the doorstep of Snowdonia National Park so we enjoyed spectacular scenery and walks. Following our days out we returned to a warm, comfortable room in the Granary( a converted building) that sits close to the main house. The bed was comfortable, room clean and there was no shortage of hot water for a well earned soak in the bath!
Evening meal MUST NOT BE MISSED at Llwyndu Farmhouse, the food was excellent,everything we had was beautifully cooked. For starters we had pan-fried chicken livers on a lemon brioche and Smoked Salmon from Rhydlewis with a celeriac & horseradish remoulade.
For mains we had slow roasted shoulder of Welsh mountain lamb with a spicy red wine & redcurrant jus and was probably the best lamb I have tasted and my partner had a medley of hake, bass fillet and a salt cod croquette with a butternut squash and cardamom puree. A selection of vegetables accompanied all dishes, the spiced braised red cabbage was good and sprouting broccoli and Jerusalem artichokes nice too. To finish we shared a Welsh Cheeseboard (award winning according to the certificate on the wall!) it was very good.
There is a good wine list, as well as (mostly locally sourced) bottled real ales and ciders and you can enjoy drinks in front of a log fire in the winter or enjoy watching the sunset from the many seating areas in the garden on a pleasant evening, which we did.
Following a good couple of bottles of wine and a great nights sleep there was breakfast to look forward to. A great choice available, we chose the full works which was cooked fresh to order and mostly grilled so not horribly greasy like you find in many places. Peter and Paula work hard to make sure any requests you make are met and in my opinion were perfect hosts: attentive and available when needed but not 'in your face' !!

We will be recommending this place to people and hopefully will return again soon. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jt13651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We'll begin with the negatives...
1. A very uncomfortable, creaky bed... Our bodies physically ached the next morning and we had broken, poor quality sleep.
2. The floor was creaky, especially noticeable at night.
3. There was damp on the ceiling and the room smelt musty.
4. The decor was unattractive, chintzy and dated.
5. The bathroom was avocado coloured, early 1980s style.
6. Custard yellow walls and little natural light made the room feel gloomy.
7. All the furniture in the room could have been purchased from a car boot sale, it was dated and unattractive.
8. The lampshade had to be seen to be believed, ugly is not the word!
9. The breakfast room was not dog friendly, dogs had to be left on their own while people dined. Hence fretting, howling dogs could be heard in the morning and during evening meal times.
10. The granary room, which we had the misfortune to stay in, would struggle to meet a two star criteria. The four star rating is laughable.

The positives
1. A good size TV in room.
2. Hot water.
3. A pleasant, if introverted owner, who incidentally offered no discount when we complained.
4. An adequate breakfast, though somewhat mean with portion size.

All in all, highly disappointing as this was intended to be a special break with our son who has autism and has never had the opportunity of holidaying with both parents to himself. We didn't see the rooms in the main farmhouse, but would advise anyone considering booking to stay in an outbuilding to rethink!

Room Tip: If you have children or a dog travelling with you, we would suggest you stay elsewhere as the family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Spent a couple of nights here whilst working in north Wales and I couldn't have been more happy with Llwyndu. A warm greeting on arrival from Paula and Peter was lovely, with a nice pot of coffee and biscuits in front of the fire. The room was very comfortable and nicely furnished, with plenty of room for myself and dog. Evening meals are a must here, Peter cooking is not to be missed! From Llwyndu there is quick access up into the Snowdonian mountains and south towards Aberystwyth and mid Wales. I travel across Wales regularly for fieldwork and this so far tops the list, I could not recommend Llwyndu more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.2 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
401 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belle Vue
Belle Vue
#21 of 24 in Barmouth
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 4 in Llanaber
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
172 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#8 of 24 in Barmouth
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwyndu Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyndu Farmhouse

Address: Llwyndu Farmhouse Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range: £114 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyndu Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent hotel with licensed restaurant. Informal & relaxed. Ensuite rooms in house and converted granary. All very individuel and of great character. Good food & wine. Marvellous views over Cardigan Bay. There is great walking and biking in the area and the sandy beaches go on forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Llwyndu Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwyndu Farmhouse Llanaber, Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing