We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Morwendon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morwendon House
Ranked #1 of 4 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed for three nights with Geoff and Teresa and they made us very welcome. Our room was a really good size with wonderful views of the sea and extensive garden. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated with nice touches such as chocolates and a good dry sherry and also coffee/tea making facilities with fresh milk daily and bottles of water. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and the ingredients were of a very good quality and delicious. The homemade bread was excellent which meant the toast was crisp and light even at the end of breakfast. We would have liked to buy a loaf to go home with! This couple work very hard to reach these standards and it has paid off. This is how guest houses should be.

Room Tip: We liked our room with the bay window and comfy sofa. Great views but all the rooms are of a high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try hard to make our guests'experience the best we can and it is pleasing when we have achieved that. Thank you and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 3 , we was greeted by Teresa on our arrival and she was just lovely , very warm welcome and good knowledge of the local area, we was taken to our room and felt the room was grand, excellent deco, great fresh clean bed linen, fresh milk, little chocolates and sherry, a great touch to the room, excellent sea views , the bathroom was very small, and only had a shower, and the towels needed to be upgraded as they was a little ripped at the edges, great little toiletries tho, the shower was not very powerful, we went down for breakfast and was greeted by Geoff , he was just so welcoming and offered a good choice for breakfast, the breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was truly excellent !!! and the added bonus of homemade bread fantastic, we didn't have a evening meal, but did have a supper homemade soup and sandwiches on homemade bread, and couldn't fault it ,it was truly 5***** next time will defo have a meal as the food was amazing !!! Teresa & Geoff are great hosts and couldn't do any more for you , we even got some bread to take home ( a very BIG THANK YOU for that ) the only thing I would suggest is maybe a cheaper rate in the winter months, but overall 10 out of 10 we will defiantly be returning and highly recommend , so a massive thank you for our great stay and hope to see you both again soon !!! .x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.

Room Tip: choose a room with the sea view truly worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting the quality of our food. Shame you didn't manage an evening meal though, perhaps next time. We do offer discounts between October and March as long as it is for more than 1 night, the thinking with that is the service and quality of food we offer remains the same throughout the year, the only difference is the seasons and we cannot control the weather! Hope to see you again and thank you once ore for your excellent review. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights but were made very welcome by Teresa and Geoff and their local knowledge was exceptional. They were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was any trouble. The room was lovely and had views over the sea. Breakfasts were delicious and a good choice of what to have. Really set you up for the day ahead. Unfortunately did not have the chance to taste their evening meals but the menu looked very enticing. Would recommend staying here and hope to go back again next year, perhaps for longer.

Room Tip: The one we had was underneath the dining room which was very warm and cosy. Perhaps not suit everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting our AA award winning breakfasts. They are something of which we are proud, you must come back soon and sample the evening meals. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

on arrival hotel owner was very friendly . And the house was immaculate . rooms were nicely set out with amazing view of the sea . The breakfast was perfectly cooked and was a good portion that set us up for the day . Would definately stay here again if was going back to same area .

Room Tip: we stayed in the supierior which was beautiful with full coastline veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you Dawn for your review. We are pleased you chose to outline some of the things that we feel are important in a guest house stay, namely cleanliness and good quality food. Rest assured we will continue to strive to maintain these standards. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Do you want what we had for 4 nights in early September 2013:

1. An excellent base for exploring this part of Wales?
2. Preserved steam railways wihin easy reach?
3. Views for miles along the coast?
4. A warm welcome and a very pleasant room?
5. A beautifully cooked and served breakfast?
6. A choice of excellent dishes for dinner? (providing you book early to avoid disappointment)

Then look no further than Morwendon House.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a superior room with the coastal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your review and may we say what a concise and to the point one it was - no beating around the bush there!. Seriously we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have recently spent four nights at Morwendon House and what a fantastic time we had! The location was gorgeous, right on a beautiful beach, with out-of-this world sunsets. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a view over the coast. Breakfast was second to none and the evening menu was so delicious. We will definately be returning and have told all our friends about this brilliant guest house. Thank you Teresa and Geoff, you made our stay such a pleasure.
John and Sue Birmingham

Room Tip: So sorry, there is no pool, clicked in error, but with that beach who needs one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suezowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you John and Sue for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Geoff & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed with Teresa and Geoff for three nights. This was my first venture out solo, no adult kids or dogs! I had chosen an attic room, which for me was more than adequate, with a lovely view up the coast towards Talybont. I ended up eating a cooked breakfast each morning, all locally sourced and home made bread. I didn't however have an evening meal, which in hindsight I should have, due to indefinite plans, as the smells were mouth watering. Geoff and Teresa were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. I have been to Barmouth and the area for many years, previously in a touring caravan and I shall certainly be returning to Morwendon House, a real home from home. For anyone wanting a base to travel it is ideal. If you like walking, it is about a half hour walk into Barmouth, though be warned there is a hill coming back out of Barmouth, although not steep it is drawn out, as I don't drive, I know it well! If you are lucky you might even see the dolphins out in Cardigan Bay. Teresa and Geoff have been warned, I will be back!! I would definitely recommend Morwendon House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review. Really pleased we were part of a much needed break and we look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps with your daughter next time. Best wishes, Geoff & Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morwendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon House

Address: Morwendon House, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales (Formerly Morwendon Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range: £68 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay. Morwendon has stunning sea views and is a great place for a special get away. Barmouth is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy Snowdonia and the many activities this beautiful part of Wales has to offer. Kate and Rob are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Morwendon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Morwendon House Llanaber, Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing