We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hospitality”
Review of Byrdir House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Byrdir House
Ranked #9 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the Byrdir House a couple of weeks ago for three nights and we were very impressed with the warm welcome and very friendly host. Andy made us feel at home straight away and the room provided all the home comforts needed for our short stay. The room was well equiped, comfortable and warm. The breakfast each morning was a delight, the attention to detail was excellent and much more than we could eat. We would not hesitate in returning to the Byrdir we come back to Harlech at any time and are quite happy to recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable room for the night (or two). Many thanks to Andy and his team. Hope to see you again sometime when we return to play at Royal St David's Golf Club.
Neil Harris

Room Tip: Even street facing rooms are quite
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrdir, Owner at Byrdir House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay; hope to see you again soon and I will try and book some sunshine for you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Byrdir House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great location with parking, which is a bonus. Stayed in a twin room for 2 nights for a wedding over the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend. Friendly host and great breakfast, good ingredients well cooked and beautifully presented. Very reasonable price for what we had and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanceDrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrdir, Owner at Byrdir House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your review and I hope to see you again soon, I will make sure I have some earl grey ready for you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Pleasant room and the view did include a little slice of the sea! The host was very welcoming and also efficient but still friendly. But the breakfast beats it all - one of the best I've ever seen. Everything you can imagine and beautifully served and presented as well as being extremely tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
byrdir, Owner at Byrdir House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Harlech and your breakfast; I hope to see you again soon

Best Wishes
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Great location, clean room, great breakfast and by far the most friendly B&B in Harlech. We'll come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and I stayed just 1 night, the room was adequate but not quite up to the price paid, just a little "tired" but the breakfast did make up for this with a particularly good array of breakfast foods including plenty of fresh fruit followed by a very good cooked plateful, the host was discrete but also friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Close to the castle but far enough away to avoid traffic; welcoming and unobtrusive host; nice breakfast; quiet, good room; a bit pricey for my tastes but if it's in your price range, I very much recommend Byrdir

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingoseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

A wonderful B&B, when our stay at a Castle B&B proved to be not up to our expectations we were lucky enough to find a room here. Great host and a beautiful place, highly recommended. We will return for another stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
0.2 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
130 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Lodge
Crown Lodge
#4 of 14 in Harlech
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byrdir House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byrdir House

Address: Byrdir High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Byrdir House in the heart of old Harlech. Ideally situated for Harlech Castle, Royal St David's Golf Club and all that North Wales has to offer. Five comfortable rooms with en-suite shower rooms. We have a licensed bar specialising in lesser-known craft beers and ciders, mainly from the local area. Car parking is available. Byrdir is under new ownership and has just completed a comprehensive renovation. We are now open to guests for bed & breakfast bookings. Please enquire for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Byrdir House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byrdir House Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing