We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find”

Castle Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$61
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We have steadily built up a reputation for good food, both locally and with visitors to the area. We source and use as much local / Welsh produce as possible and strive to create a dining experience that combines top quality local food and service with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We offer a 2 course or 3 course option as well as a 5 course tasting menu. We are the Mid Wales and overall winner for Wales of The True Taste Eating out Award for 2008/09.Visit Wales Gold Award 2011/12/13/14/15/16. National Restaurant Awards 2011 Top 100. Good Hotel Guide editor's choice award 2016. For 25 years we have had a continuous entry in the Good Food Guide. Cheshire Life Highly Commended Award 2016
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This place was recommended to us by our hotel owners, and it was definitely worth a visit. We booked in advance, which I think is probably necessary. There's a limited number of tables. It was a really pleasant experience, in that it seemed like we were welcomed into someone's home, and they were excited to cook for us. The canapes were lovely, and then into the dining room for a very pleasant meal, which was served at just the right pace. Total bill for 2 was 103GBP including half a bottle of wine and two drinks from the bar. Definitely worth it. The food was EXCELLENT.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ManagementAssistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Hi Managementassistant
It was lucky for us ( and you!) that you were recommended to eat with us. we are delighted that you food our food excellent and thought we are good value for the money spent. Castle cottage is our home and I am always excited to cook - especially when we get great reviews like yours. Hope to serve you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Castle Cottage Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Excellent fish and mussels. Modern dining room which didn't feel crowded. One was very well looked after.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ernst v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Hi Ernst v
Thank you for your delightful review of castle cottage - we are really happy that you enjoyed our food, service and establishment. Hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We would definitely re-iterate all the observations made in the previous reviews...............except the person that thought the food "pricey"
In this world you get what you pay for, and here you get the very best.
Glyn & Ryan are obviously perfectionists when it comes to producing beautifully cooked and fabulously presented food, using the very freshest local produce, Sea Bass, Crab, Scallops, Lobster along with Welsh Beef and Lamb......mmmmmmmm.
There is a comprehensive wine list, along with a good choice of weekly "specials" that are always very good vintage and value.
One tip we must give is to make sure you arrive hungry as you will need plenty of room for the numerous elements of your meal, and try to resist eating too much of that wonderful home made bread.
Having travelled the world, staying and eating in some of the best hotels and restaurants, we always look forward to the "Castle Cottage Experience", the food and the rooms are up there with the very best.
In conclusion, our bill for our latest evening amounted to £123.00 inclusive of two good bottles of wine, "Pricey" you might say?
I don't think so, remember, The VAT man will take almost £25 of that before Glyn and Jackie even start to meet their ingredient costs and overheads.......................................

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank danielbrooks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Hi Danielbrooks3
Wow! - thanks for a fantastic review of what we do at castle cottage. Glad you enjoyed all the local produce we serve and that you appreciate our wine choices. Thank you for your comments re your world travels, and what good value we are for what you get - we are not a cheap establishment, but we are excellent value for the quality and quantity of our food. It has to be a passion running a restaurant as the financial rewards are not huge - yes we make a profit, but with all the man hours and running costs we earn every penny! Looking forward to cooking for you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We ate here on Friday and Sunday. On both occasions the food was superb. We were well looked after, without feeling either pressured or ignored. The decoration is minimalist modern and the dining room has plenty of space so we didnt feel crowded.

1  Thank Jon_and_Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Hi Jon and Penny
Thank you for your review of castle cottage, we are glad you enjoyed our food and style of service. Hope to serve you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here as a treat after a very busy time at work. We stayed in room 2, which had a super comfortable super king bed and was quiet and spotlessly clean. Our real motive for coming however was for the food, and we were not disappointed. This is cooking of very high quality, with wonderful local produce prepared extremely well. Our drinks in the comfortable bar were accompanied by canapés including mini scotch egg and popcorn, and then there was a pre starter of the most scrumptious pea and asparagus soup served in a tiny cup (too tiny, I could have eaten a big bowlful.) I had goats cheese salad to start, which is a bit of a favourite of mine, and this one had beet root, bacon and walnuts which all went together beautifully. My husband had scallops, belly pork and black pudding which he very much enjoyed. My main of delicious Welsh lamb cooked three ways was served with bubble and squeak, while my husband's wild rabbit was served as a pancetta wrapped loin and a little individual rabbit pie. To follow I could only manage home made ice cream (you don't need to chew it, you can just let it melt in your mouth), but my husband found room for crumble. The wine list had plenty of good value wines by the glass, and I had a superb Pedro ximenez sherry with my pud. Servic was friendly and efficient with a jug of iced water brought without asking, and a variety of home made bread. Fresh milk was also offered for tea in our room.
Despite our efforts the night before, we managed a good breakfast with a lovely spread of fresh and dried fruit and cereal followed by smoked haddock and poached egg, and toast. Back on the diet on Monday!
We recently had a meal in a Michelin starred restaurant in London run by a famous celebrity chef, where the meal cost more than our complete stay at Castle Cottage. While that food was possibly more innovative, we enjoyed the food at Castle Cottage more. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GOJStockport_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Hi GoJoStckport_England
Wow what a review!! it sounds like you really liked us!! Its a pleasure to serve customers that love and enjoy their food and we were happy to oblige. Running a restaurant can be very hard graft, so its great to get a review of this wonderful quality Hope you can hurry back to Harlech soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing