We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Castle Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$57
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We have steadily built up a reputation for good food, both locally and with visitors to the area. We source and use as much local / Welsh produce as possible and strive to create a dining experience that combines top quality local food and service with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We offer a 2 course or 3 course option as well as a 5 course tasting menu. We are the Mid Wales and overall winner for Wales of The True Taste Eating out Award for 2008/09.Visit Wales Gold Award 2011/12/13/14/15/16. National Restaurant Awards 2011 Top 100. Good Hotel Guide editor's choice award 2016. For 25 years we have had a continuous entry in the Good Food Guide. Cheshire Life Highly Commended Award 2016
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We often go here for a meal when friends stay with us.

Our last experience, a couple of weeks ago, was no different from all of the others. Glyn as ever was on top form in the Kitchen preparing some really outstanding dishes - you can always tell how good the food is as any conversation stops from the moment it is served and when finished you then need to be reminded what you were talking about!
Jacqueline was always on hand to look after us, from the moment we arrived, and made sure our glasses were always suitably charged - the Spanish Sauvignon Blanc from Rueda was a real treat.

We always leave feeling really spoilt!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi Tim W
Great to see you again, and thanks for the lovely review. Great to read you enjoyed our food, service and wines, we don't have a massive list (about 90 bins), but each wine on our list is something we would like to drink ourselves (on-going research!!). looking to serving you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    35
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very warm welcome”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed with some friends near Harlech, who recommended us this place. The cottage is small but in keeping with its surroundings, not quite a view of the castle but if you turn left or right out of the front door, within 5 paces you get a spectacular floodlit view of the imposing castle which is 100 yards away.

Very warm and genuine welcome from the owner Glyn and his family. A very lovely meal; it is rare we find that you would be happy eating most of the offerings on the menu, that is definitely true here. We had 1/2 a lobster each as an entree (and you get amuse-bouche). Delightful main course, lamb as you would expect was superb, although I opted for the duet of welsh beef, a mignon and a petite steak and kidney pie. Really wonderfully cooked.

The wine list was comprehensive and not silly prices, You know you are somewhere good when you can get Chateau Musar, which complemented the meat perfectly.

A three course meal with plenty of superb wine for under £75 a head. Visiting from London it was a treat to eat wonderful food at the price you pay in a franchise restaurant. Very well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi Foxyfoxholes ( great name!)
Wow, what a great review. So glad your friends recommend us to you, and we are delighted that you enjoyed our food, service and wines. Thank you for your comments re the prices and the value for money spent. Looking forward to serving you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This place was recommended to us by our hotel owners, and it was definitely worth a visit. We booked in advance, which I think is probably necessary. There's a limited number of tables. It was a really pleasant experience, in that it seemed like we were welcomed into someone's home, and they were excited to cook for us. The canapes were lovely, and then into the dining room for a very pleasant meal, which was served at just the right pace. Total bill for 2 was 103GBP including half a bottle of wine and two drinks from the bar. Definitely worth it. The food was EXCELLENT.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManagementAssistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Hi Managementassistant
It was lucky for us ( and you!) that you were recommended to eat with us. we are delighted that you food our food excellent and thought we are good value for the money spent. Castle cottage is our home and I am always excited to cook - especially when we get great reviews like yours. Hope to serve you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious cuisine”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Excellent fish and mussels. Modern dining room which didn't feel crowded. One was very well looked after.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernst v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Ernst v
Thank you for your delightful review of castle cottage - we are really happy that you enjoyed our food, service and establishment. Hope to serve you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dining at its very best!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We would definitely re-iterate all the observations made in the previous reviews...............except the person that thought the food "pricey"
In this world you get what you pay for, and here you get the very best.
Glyn & Ryan are obviously perfectionists when it comes to producing beautifully cooked and fabulously presented food, using the very freshest local produce, Sea Bass, Crab, Scallops, Lobster along with Welsh Beef and Lamb......mmmmmmmm.
There is a comprehensive wine list, along with a good choice of weekly "specials" that are always very good vintage and value.
One tip we must give is to make sure you arrive hungry as you will need plenty of room for the numerous elements of your meal, and try to resist eating too much of that wonderful home made bread.
Having travelled the world, staying and eating in some of the best hotels and restaurants, we always look forward to the "Castle Cottage Experience", the food and the rooms are up there with the very best.
In conclusion, our bill for our latest evening amounted to £123.00 inclusive of two good bottles of wine, "Pricey" you might say?
I don't think so, remember, The VAT man will take almost £25 of that before Glyn and Jackie even start to meet their ingredient costs and overheads.......................................

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank danielbrooks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi Danielbrooks3
Wow! - thanks for a fantastic review of what we do at castle cottage. Glad you enjoyed all the local produce we serve and that you appreciate our wine choices. Thank you for your comments re your world travels, and what good value we are for what you get - we are not a cheap establishment, but we are excellent value for the quality and quantity of our food. It has to be a passion running a restaurant as the financial rewards are not huge - yes we make a profit, but with all the man hours and running costs we earn every penny! Looking forward to cooking for you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing