We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Consistently Top Quality"”

Castle Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We have steadily built up a reputation for good food, both locally and with visitors to the area. We source and use as much local / Welsh produce as possible and strive to create a dining experience that combines top quality local food and service with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We offer a 2 course or 3 course option as well as a 5 course tasting menu. We are the Mid Wales and overall winner for Wales of The True Taste Eating out Award for 2008/09.Visit Wales Gold Award 2011/12/13/14/15/16. National Restaurant Awards 2011 Top 100. Good Hotel Guide editor's choice award 2016. For 25 years we have had a continuous entry in the Good Food Guide. Cheshire Life Highly Commended Award 2016
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ate at Castle Cottage for my birthday last Tuesday and as ever the food was superbly prepared and cooked, and the service was impeccable.
From the delightful freshly cooked Canapes served in the bar, through the sublime Seafood Risotto starter, classic Surf and Turf Fillet steak and Lobster, which melted in the mouth, and culminating in Deserts to die for, the dining experience is second to none.
Even the selection of breads that accompany your meal are all home baked.
I cannot speak highly enough of Castle Cottage, the warm welcome, the informal atmosphere in contemporary surroundings along with the relaxed and attentive staff.
I suppose they must get something wrong occasionally, but we have not had that experience so far.
Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danielbrooks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Danielbrooks3
Thank you for your cracking review of us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and you were a pleasure to serve. it is satisfying to serve customer that really enjoy themselves. Looking forward to cooking for you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent 2 nights in a very tasteful room at the Castle cottage hotel and restaurant. Our stay was very comfortable with a very well equipped room complete with a full wet room with separate bath and splendid shower. Exceptionally clean and modern. The bedroom waste very tastefully decorated and furnished with 2 double beds and all electronic equipment including docking station and free WiFi.

We had breakfast both mornings which was superbly cooked. Plus a continental buffet with plenty of fresh fruit. Excellent.

We had dinner in the restaurant both evenings. Again the restaurant was interesting and tasteful. In fact the whole property has been well designed and blended with the historical aspect of the existing buildings and care has been taken to conserve the local architecture.

The dining experience was first class which started with the warm reception and service in the bar area where we were served canapé 's while our orders were taken. The menu covered most peoples tastes which included at least 2 main meat dishes, 2 fish dishes and a vegetarian option, plus others. Starter menu. Was equally comprehensive and one evening had local lobster- beautiful. Desert menu, pure indulgence and scrummy.

So accommodation - excellent. Service - friendly and comprehensive. Food - 5 star.
Overall a very pleasant break.

An added feature that is rare and a bonus to make the stay special, is the apparent love and warmth that the Roberts family have maintained while running an extremely busy and successful business.

Congratulations to the family and thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dwpfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi dwpfly
Wow! what a great review of castle cottage, we are delighted that you and yours enjoyed your stay with us. Its fantastic that your appreciated our food and style of service. We love to live and work in this beautiful part of north Wales, and your endorsement only makes that better. Looking forward to serving your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am submitting this review regarding the restaurant at Castle Cottage. Myself and 3 friends booked a table there for last night (Saturday). On arrival we immediately felt as if we were intruding. Not the sort of welcome we expected from any restaurant let alone one that had been recommended to us!

We arrived and had to ask the waiting on staff if we could have a drink in the bar as we were a little early. There was no attempt by anyone to speak to us. We were brought the menu with our drinks along with some tasty appetisers which was unexpected but tasted delicious. May I say at this point that the food was absolutely delicious - it is just a shame that the front of house doesn't match up!

We ordered our two courses, which at £35 per person for two courses isn't a cheap option and were told our table was ready. When we sat down our wine was already open on the table - there was no mention of tasting it. We were very quickly brought our starters. Throughout the meal no one approached the table to ask if everything was OK (a basic even in my local pub!) Our glasses from the bar were cleared away without any offer of another drink and the starter plates were cleared without the waitress asking if we liked the food. In fact any interaction with the front of house team were limited to them bringing or collecting the plates! They showed no interest in us whatsoever. We had eaten our starter and main courses within 30 minutes as there was little to no gap between the courses!

The menus were given out to us again without even being asked if we would like to see the desert options and when we declined, they were quickly collected in without us being given the option of coffee or more drinks. We got the bill, paid quickly and left, again without even being asked if we enjoyed our meal. In fact I made a point of saying goodnight to the waitress in the room and was completely ignored! They didn't even look up!

In short, at just under £200 for a 2 course meal for the four of us, the food was of a quality I'd expect but if you are expecting service to be of the same standard, you will be sadly disappointed as the service (bar from bringing the food) was distinctly absent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Rachel b
ZERO OUT OF FIVE FOR TIMING & NUMBERS!!. You had originally booked for 5 or 6 persons @ 8pm, but then changed your booking to four @ 8pm and then turned up at 7.25pm. We stagger bookings for a reason - so we can have a smooth running service. On that busy Saturday night (fully booked!) one of our front of house staff had to cry off at the last minute due to a family medical emergency so we were stretched staff wise - not your fault (or mine). What was your fault was turning up 35 mins early!! you might have perceived the welcome as frosty and you moaned about waiting to be asked for a drink, but the two front of house staff were busy serving the 7 & 7.30 bookings
On a positive it’s good that you loved our food ( don't know why you thought the canapés were unexpected - its written on the menu!!.) Re the wine being on your table ready for you (it’s also stated on the wine list that we don't go in for poncey wine service and we don't pour wine - unless you are disabled. It’s a bug bear of mine that I liked to pour my own without having to catch the eye of a waiter, ( most of our wines are Stelvin closures – so no need to worry about a corked bottled, and if you decide you don’t like it we will replace it free of charge. I also hate being asked all the time if everything is OK/ are you enjoying yourselves etc etc and being bothered whilst I am eating – so that's how we run our business ( It’s our 25th year this year and we are the longest establish catering business in Harlech, so someone loves us!!)
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your night at castle cottage (apart from the fantastic food!), but perhaps a table of four women being served by two women was not the right chemistry – who knows what could have caused that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently had 3 nights at this lovely "Restaurant with Rooms". Really warm & friendly welcome, delicious home made nibbles in the cosy bar area whilst we looked at the menu, excellent choice for all courses, utilising a lot of local produce.
The dinner was excellent, food expertly cooked & presented beautifully. Relaxed atmosphere with just the right amount of time between courses.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant.
We also had the pleasure of sampling the breakfast which definitely did not disappoint - delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Sue T
What a superb review of castle cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 3 day stay with us and that everything was up to scratch. Looking forward to serving you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

From first walking in and given a warm & friendly welcome served with drinks and excellent nibbles in a cosy bar away from the dinning room. Because of it being a special doo we chose
the 5 course taster menus which included the chefs compliment followed by a lobster & king prawn starter. The main course consisted of a Trio of duck concluding with wonderful New York cheese-cake accompanied with warm strawberries last but not least Mr. Roberts Welsh rarebit .
Then back to the bar for coffee & petifour. We do luv a restaurant which has a bar & sitting-room away from the table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Shirley T
Wow! what a great review of Castle Cottage, We are delighted that you and your old man enjoyed the food so much and enjoyed our bar afterwards. Looking forward to serving you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing