We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast!”

Castle Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$59
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We have steadily built up a reputation for good food, both locally and with visitors to the area. We source and use as much local / Welsh produce as possible and strive to create a dining experience that combines top quality local food and service with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We offer a 2 course or 3 course option as well as a 5 course tasting menu. We are the Mid Wales and overall winner for Wales of The True Taste Eating out Award for 2008/09.Visit Wales Gold Award 2011/12/13/14/15/16. National Restaurant Awards 2011 Top 100. Good Hotel Guide editor's choice award 2016. For 25 years we have had a continuous entry in the Good Food Guide. Cheshire Life Highly Commended Award 2016
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stayed at the Castle Cottage for one night while attending an event at Harlech Castle. Unfortunately we couldn't eat in the restaurant because of the timing of the event but the smells emanating from the kitchen through the afternoon were AMAZING! Really comfortable room, perfect temperature and the most amazing breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and hope to be back to sample the menu soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank janeyg1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi janeyg1976
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stopover with us, and that you loved your breakfast. Hoping to serve you dinner soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We went for a special celebration meal and were not disappointed. Sumptuous food. We are far too much because it was so good we didn't want to miss a mouthful! Hostess was very welcoming. Loved having nibbles in the bar while waiting.

1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Sue H
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your special night with us. You were a delight to serve, and we hope to do so again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Fabulous food and an all round excellent dining experience. Four of us met here to eat on a Tuesday night, warmly greeted and sat in the bar area with views over the bay (stunning), we were given menus and a selection of canapes that were very tasty. For starters we had 2 scallops with black pudding and bacon, 1 quail, and 1 crab dish, all were lovely, then for main we went for 3 duo of lamb and 1 monkfish in pancetta, could not fault these dishes at all. All washed down with some very reasonably priced Rioja from the extensive wine list. We still managed to have puds as well, which was no mean feat. All in all a most amazing place to dine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ivor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Ivor G
What a fabulous review, we are delighted that you and your party enjoyed our food and wines so much. Its great to receive such kind words and application form our customers, its makes all the hard work worthwhile. Hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Dinner was delicious. The little nibbles served in the bar before dinner was a nice surprise. We had the lobster soup, duck, fish, and rump steak. Everything was prepared perfectly and the restaurant's ambience was perfect.

1  Thank Shana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Shana H
Wow! - what a cracking little review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your night with us. Looking forward to serving you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The Christmas Special three course menu for £25.00, endorsed by friends who had sampled the fare earlier in the month and spoke highly of the establishment, from regular visits, seemed too good to be true. As indeed it proved to be. To describe the main as of 1960s school dinner standard.would do the school an injustice.

2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Jim H
You came (if you actually did) for the reduced price Xmas dinner party menu, if you had the turkey dinner (your poor review was lacking in detail) - it is what it is, a roast dinner!! My school dinners where not too bad, but i suppose the school you went to was probably an approved one!
I do love the internet, brings out all the ‘experts & critics’ on all things culinary (and none of them could probably boil an egg for themselves let alone a restaurant full!)
What a waste of everyone's time having a pop anonymously half way through the next year from your supposed visit. We would have hopefully rectified the problem there and then, if you had said something. Bit pointless waiting 8 months
If any customer is not happy with their meal, they should say so at the time, not whine and moan 8 months later.
At least we won’t be serving you this Christmas – have a merry one NOT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing