We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harlech's best kept secret.”
Review of Pen Y Garth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen Y Garth
Ranked #3 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Harlech's best kept secret.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just stayed two nights in the Harlech room with our dog. The room, (although more like a suite to be honest), had an external staircase so we could take the dog for a walk without disturbing other guests, was scrupulously clean with a modern bathroom and had fabulous views overlooking Harlech castle and the bay.
The hosts couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, and the food and service was excellent.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

great hospitality
beautiful airy rooms
amazing views
homemade cakes
freshly baked bread every morning
free trade products
optional robes and slippers
fascinating history
etc etc etc
x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.

Room Tip: The Harlech Room has an additional single room space which can be left open or screened off and bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed two nights here recently and wished I didn't have to move on! From carrying my case from the car to tips a-plenty about local eating places, shortcuts, and attractions, the hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
The house itself is a delight - great views from all three large airy guest rooms, spacious well-fitted bathrooms, fresh milk for tea and coffee and a homemade cake each afternoon. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I would heartily recommend this place to anyone who can cope with the short, but steepish, walk uphill from the town.
Only one TINY niggle - larger mugs in the rooms for tea and coffee, please. Then you'll be perfect!!

Room Tip: All great, 2 on first floor, one on second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanstillwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We, unfortunately, only stayed one night but would definitely stay here again. It is situated on top of a hill, though there is a short cut to the centre of Harlech which makes the walking easier, but from here you get fabulous views over the beach, the bay, over to Snowden and I over Harlech itself. We have great views from our room, which was pleasant, comfortable, clean and had a fantastic shower!! Breakfast was plentiful, freshly cooked and staff/owner was friendly and informative.
We were recommended to try the local Caribbean restaurant and we called straight away and just managed to get a table. It was fabulous! (Castle restaurant & armoury bar) We would also recommend the Cemlyn tea shop for lunch and a walk/drive down to the beach on a good day is definitely worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

from when we got there everything was lovely with a great friendly reception. the rooms are lovely and clean, gorgeous homemade welsh cakes on arrival, great bathroom with homemade soup. nothing was too much to ask for and breakfast was delicious- i loved the homeade jam, maralde and bread. the view from the rooms was amasing we could see the castle and the beach. would definately go back and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Harlech/ surrounding area.

Room Tip: the atic room and king room were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Pen Y Garth is an outstanding B and B. They welcome walkers, have stunning views of Harlech castle and the sea from bedroom windows, make their own beautiful soap, a sample of which is in every room to use, make superb breakfasts and have a lovely garden. They even have a fairy tale in their information booklet! I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjorie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Wow

Not many of my reviews are excellent (only when deserved on all categories) but had no option this time- it was simply great.

Owners were super friendly and very helpful, polite, courteous and welcoming.

Hotel (B&B) is clean well equipped and in an ideal location just a few hundred yards from the town center.
We had a room on the top floor with a view of the castle and sea. Double bedroom but also a side room with seating area and a single bed.
Woke with tremendous views and the sunset was fabulous.

Breakfast was great with fresh bread and super choice; as well as varied cakes baked for each day in the room.

Harlech is a great location for visiting this area of Wales, plenty of walking and historic areas. The beach is also fabulous with clean fine sand and sand-dunes.
Golf course will be worth a visit on my next stay.

The building has previously been a doctors house and Youth Hostel before being transformed into its present glory

Will definitely return

Room Tip: I would return and have the same room top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
0.2 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Frondirion
Frondirion
#1 of 2 in Llanfair
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Y Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Garth

Property: Pen Y Garth
Address: Pen y Garth Old Llanfair Road, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen Y Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Pen Y Garth B&B is a classic Victorian town house with views of Harlech Castle,the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia. Just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. Wherever possible we use fairtrade products for our home cooked breakfasts. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. No very young children and pets by arrangement only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pen Y Garth Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing