We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Ice Cream Ever!!”
Review of Hufenfa'r Castell

Hufenfa'r Castell
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream Ever!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

What a treat! This ice cream shop/ deli is every bit as good, and probably better, than anything we've ever eaten in or visited in Italy, where we holiday regularly.
No artificial ingredients combined with an extensive use of local, seasonal produce combined with an encyclopaedic knowledge of their product makes this ice cream utterly fantastic, and served in a lovely manner in a happy atmosphere not entirely usual in this part of Wales....
The owners/creators of this artisan product obviously adore what they do; this comes across not only in the product, but in the friendly warm manner in which it's served.
We (wife and 4 kids and brother wife and 3 kids) were in every day for the 3 weeks we were here. Ice cream; fantastic hot pasties and fresh baked bread were just some of the delicious foods on offer.
And maybe because our kids are lovely (excitable) but polite, we found the owners to be courteous, respectful and completely charming with them, and with any other kids we saw in there.
Visit Harlech for the ice cream; the castle is good but this place has overtaken it for a reason to visit!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterdroplet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    11
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The ice cream here is good, no doubt about that. However the couple who run the place are so rude and surly! We went back and they were exactely the same. They need some serious customer service lessons! Or maybe they are only friendly to locals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank BigDuke666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A reality check for this ice cream shop and café”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have no doubt that the ice cream here is of an acceptable standard, but the owners and staff have a number of very basic lessons to learn on common courtesy and service. We went in here to spend half an hour before touring the magnificent castle. We were quite taken aback by the unnecessary abruptness and plain rudeness of the lady that served us. For a shop which I am sure serves many visitors to the town, we were quite astonished.

We had with us our two children, aged 2 and 4. Our children were well behaved but when they could not immediately make up their mind which ice cream flavour to have, the lady serving us repeatedly kept tutting and huffing audibly, directing her displeasure towards them. This was despite the fact that there was no queue and absolutely no one else in the shop at all.

There were a number of unusual ice creams available, for example one made of goat's milk. My wife asked to taste a small amount on a spoon before buying it. “No!” was the immediate reply. “We don’t encourage tasting” she informed us abruptly.

Most specialist ice cream shops usually have no problem with this. If you offered a hundred tastings for example of a very small amount on a spoon, you might sell two or three hundred pounds worth of ice cream, whilst giving away little more than a cup full of product. Anyway, that’s their decision, but it was the rudeness that was incredible.

We ordered a coffee and sat down at one of the café tables only to be asked to pay immediately, before receiving anything. They had presumably decided that we might be tempted to run off without paying. The coffee then arrived which was luke warm and not particularly good. This was not surprising as there is no Brasilia or similar commercial coffee machine here, just a small portable thing like you might buy for your own home from Argos.

Our experience was totally unpleasant and we can’t even remember the ice cream itself to comment on it. We were obviously not from the local area but then presumably many who visit this shop are also tourists. If you want an enjoyable experience, particularly if you have children, then this place is not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyFacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab fudge!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great little shop by the castle with delicious home made fudge, super bread and barabrith, small selection of excellent cakes and quiches. The friendly owners also make a fab ice-cream, which comes in about 15 flavours. A useful place to pick up small food gifts to take home, with things such as Welsh chutney, preserves, waffles. Parking in the castle car park immediately opposite if no space on nearby roads. This is the best shop in Harlech!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WirralBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Don't settle for second best when buying an ice cream in Harlech. This is the most delicious ice cream I've had in a long time. I've tried the Lemon Cheesecake and the Honeycomb. Hubby had Raspberry Ripple and son had Welsh Cream on both visits. Even the traditional cones are of a superior taste - for no extra cost. Go on - treat yourself!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loganscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hufenfa'r Castell also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Hufenfa'r Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing