We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and facilities, nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Y Branwen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Y Branwen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and facilities, nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Y Branwen for 1 night on Friday 28th June, we were playing golf at Royal St David's and decided on this hotel due to it's location, literally over the road from the course. Upon arrival we were greated by a very pleasant lady (sorry didnt get her name) who enabled us to check in early, we had a twin room overlooking the road at the front which was a good size, had comfy beds and was clean. Bathroom and shower over bath, usual other facilties, hairdryer etc.

We didnt eat in the restaurant that evening but from the report we had from Pat at Royal St David's Golf Club the evening food is fantastic, not a massive menu but what they do is very good. Us 4 lads opted for a curry in Harlech which was good.

The following morning we were greeted in the breakfast room and seated very quickly, tea & coffee ordered when we sat down and we were then handed a breakfast menu, on offer were cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts etc. There is options on a cooked breakfast too and also kippers if they take your fancy.

4 x full english breakfasts were ordered together with mixed toast, all arrived pipping hot and was very very tasty.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and I am sure we will be revisiting next year when we play again at Royal St Davids.

Great job by all of the staff, well done.

Room Tip: room 6 is very spacious, it is above the restaurant but didnt cause us any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-visitor0160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
26
46
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. It's in a lovely area, directly under the castle and about 5 minutes from a beautiful beach. The young staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, lots of windows that we could open and the bed was very comfortable. Yes, we were above the restaurant but we had no noise from that at all. There was a bit of noise around 11, which I believe is from when the lounge closed, but it was just people chatting as they left so it wasn't anything major. The food was very good and again the service was great. Definitely recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSINF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetherby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This B&B is a friendly place all the staff are young and eager to please.The general decoration is good, it looks like the place has recently had a makeover.The room we were given was big enough and was nice and warm.The en-suite was a shower and toilet/sink and was very small. We were a bit disappointed that the cleanliness of the en suit was poor. The shower cubicle was particularly dirty around the base and the floor was soiled with dirt. If cleanliness had been up to scratch we would have been very pleased with the room. Breakfast was excellent, great choice and quality. Evening meals were good but not as good as breakfast. The location of the Y Branwen was off putting initially as it seems to be located on a main road. We were not disturbed by any passing traffic.

Room Tip: Take a room over the restaurant not the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davwillmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This pub/restaurant with rooms is right next to Harlech Golf Club, literally 2 minutes walk away. This really is its biggest asset. The accommodation was a little disappointing for the price, but the room was warm and it was nice to have cotton sheets. The beds were a bit soft. The shower was a bit leaky but powerful enough and plenty of hot water and thick towels. Kettle and tea/coffee in rooms. We were over the restaurant which was a little noisy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was nothing special, but perfectly adequate. Having eaten here a couple of years ago we expected the room and breakfast to be a bit special. The menu has been seriously dumbed down, the owners are the same but they must have a different chef. We didn't eat here this time, although we had intended to, as the menu looked decidedly dreary. Maybe the previous menu was too sophisticated for this location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harlech
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Called on Friday (15th March) evening on spec for a meal having been highly recommended. Luckily managed to fit us in, probably the best meal we have had in a long time, Food was superb and not overly expensive for the quality. Management and staff were attentive and friendly, a most pleasant change these days.. Will definitely be back. Give it a try, a much needed value for money good quality food and service in Harlech.!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here for one night while working in the area. As soon as I arrived the freindliness of the staff was evident, and all the relevant meal times, location of bar / restaurant, fire exits and access details were efficiently given. Had a room at the rear of the premises with a view of a stone wall - but it was dark within an hour, and I was only there for the night anyway. Had a meal in the bar area (was asked if I wanted to sit in the restaurant, but the bar was more than suitable - and I could watch the football on the TV). Food was very tasty and filling, and there were a couple of Real Ales available as well. Not many guests or locals were in, but it was midweek in February, and suited me as it was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast the following morning was freshly cooked to order and ample. Would definately stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room at the front if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWRTSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have always wanted to visit Harlech Castle, and I booked a stay at Y Bronwen because it is literally right beneath the castle.

Everything about this little gem of a hotel was absolutely perfect. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the facilities provided were those I would have expected to find in a much more expensive, higher rated hotel.

The staff were very friendly indeed. Food at both breakfast and evening meals was of a very high standard.

Although the hotel is situated on a main road, there really wasn't much traffic noise at all.

I would definitely stay here gain....hopefully for much longer next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
3.9 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
6.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
20.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Branwen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Branwen Hotel

Property: Y Branwen Hotel
Address: Fford Newydd, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2UB, Wales (Formerly Rum Hole)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Branwen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park and nestled below Harlech Castle, Y Branwen is a warm and welcoming family run Hotel, Brasserie and Bar. With a cosy atmosphere and a unique contemporary theme, we offer a more personal touch with high quality service. There are seven individually designed bedrooms, some of which have beautiful views of the world renowned Royal St David's Links Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Y Branwen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Branwen Harlech
Y Branwen Hotel Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing