We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #6 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

A visit to this unique little restaurant with rooms is always spot on, the food is always very tasty and you reconise exactly what you are eating. The rooms are always fresh and clean and service is always friendly. Good choice of wines at resonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoppingforshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Hi shoppingforshoes
Thank you for your lovely review of Castle Cottage, we are really happy that you enjoyed our food & wines. We put a lot of hard work into what we do so its good to read your comments. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at Castle cottage in April to celebrate our wedding anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better place. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a separate seating area and the most enormous bathroom I have ever seen. The furniture was obviously hand-crafted and of a very high quality - your every need was catered for. Dragging ourselves away from the lovely room, we headed down to the bar where I particularly enjoyed the Castle Cottage special Kir Royale(s)! The evening meal was to die for and in my opinion of Michelin star quality. Everything was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented - in fact we took a photograph of each of the courses and couldn't resist tasting each others' dishes. The amuse bouche was a particularly lovely touch and the relaxed atmosphere and impeccable service a credit to the team. Glyn, Jacqueline and Megan made us feel extremely welcome and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Caernarfon was wonderful but I imagine all of the rooms are lovely as the attention to detail is rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lainepmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hi Lainepmh
Thank you for the perfect review of us. Thank you for comments re the rooms and food - dont know if we are Michelin star material, but thank you for the compliment. Glad you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of Castle Cottage. Hope to serve you again before the next anniversary!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Castle Cottage in March to celebrate his birthday, and our wedding anniversary. Despite our room overlooking a courtyard it did not deter from it's comforts. Large bathroom with underfloor heating, which was very welcome at that time of year. Lots of lovely toiletries, fruit, water, and hospitality tray. Dinner was exceptional, and really relaxed. How we managed the huge breakfast next morning, we will never know. Pricey to stay and eat there, but well worth it. Will go back for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little0ldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hi Littleoldlady
Thank you the wonderful review of us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything about castle cottage and the relaxed atmosphere of our restaurant. Also glad you thought we were worth the prices. Hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

We have a holiday home in the village of Harlech and visit frequently. We try to eat here each visit as it is a really lovely treat. Superb food, lovely setting. Well worth the (pricy) outlay. Service can sometimes be a little cold, but we don't let that spoil our meal. NB - we have never booked or slept in the rooms here.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dj_akademix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hi Dj_akademix
Thank you for your fabulous review of us. Glad you enjoyed the super food; sorry about being a bit pricey, but running a restaurant with room is not a cheap business. Also sorry about the cold service, but we make a point of not being in your face, always asking if you are Ok etc etc. I hate restaurants were the staff are always preening over you or reading from a script, saying 'have a nice day' or 'your welcome' all the time. Hope to serve you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have stayed as a family party of 10 for our Golden Wedding Celebration on Jubilee Weekend. We were all in the annexe and it could not have been better, the rooms were lovely and everybody including the grandchildren aged 7and 13 were delighted. Jacqueline and Glyn were very accommodating regarding balloons, cake etc. The food was superb,my son and son-in-law, both of whom like good food were hard put to complete the menu on one night. The 'amuse bouche' were greatly appreciated by all. We all had a variety of dishes and each one demonstrated the care in both quality of the raw ingredients and the preparation and presentation. The breakfasts were of the same high standard. We were all sorry when our time came to leave. My husband and I would have no hesitation in recommending The Castle Cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Hi Olwen W
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us at Castle Cottage. Your comments re our food are much appreciated, it was a pleasure to serve you all- particularly the well behaved children. Looking forward to you staying again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We recently stayed in Room 3 (Caernarfon) at Castle Cottage, it's a lovely quirky room with low beams, a super-size bathroom and a nice seating area separate from the bedroom. There was a lovely relaxed feeling to Castle Cottage, the breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and promptly served, all in all we were very impressed, we did not eat our evening meal in the restaurant but will definitely return when we can and hopefully sample the menu then - watch this space!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsC876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Hi MrsC876
Wow , thank you for this heavenly review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our fantastic rooms. We buy and use as much local produce as is possible - local sausages, dry cured bacon, free range eggs, organic yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice etc etc. The same quality is applied to our dinners in the evening, hope you will have time for dinner next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very welcoming, rooms lovely with a view of Harlech Castle. Food superb the best I have eaten for a long time.

Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Hi Jane
We are very happy that you loved your stay with us and enjoyed our food. Looking forward to you next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
22.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
20.6 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
18.6 mi away
Plas Dinas Country House
Plas Dinas Country House
#1 of 1 in Bontnewydd
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Cottage Restaurant with Rooms Y Llech, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range: £128 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room 7 'Harlech' large executive room can be used as a family room - leather sofa-bed. En-suite has large bathtub and a separate large deluge shower. Free WiFi broadband throughout the building. We have won the True Taste award for eating out in Wales 2008/09 - Mid wales and overall winners. Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere using local and Welsh produce. Visit Wales Gold Award 20/12/13/14 National Restaurant Awards Top 100 in UK 2011.We now no longer allow children under the age of 12 years old in the restaurant, we can do a child's dinner in the lounge at 5.30/6Pm for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Cottage Restaurant With Rooms Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing