We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding - a standard others should aspire to!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harlech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #4 of 15 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Outstanding - a standard others should aspire to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

This was our fourth year of visiting Castle Cottage Harlech, and we've already booked our next trip later this year. As we can testify, the standard of accommodation, service, and the food is consistently outstanding.

We stayed for three nights in the Harlech suite, which has lovely views of the castle and the beach. Lovely big comfortable bed; stylish decor (nice blend of modern and traditional - if you do visit make sure you read about the impressive restoration project carried out by the owners in the room binder); lovely bathroom with shower and bath. The room is also very spacious, with tea & coffee, fruit, water, and a high standard of daily cleaning. When staying at Castle Cottage we really do feel at home, which reflects the personal yet highly professional hospitality provided by the owners Glyn and Jacqueline.

Harlech is a lovely town, with obvious attractions such as the castle. Also the fabulous beach, which is great whether it's sunny or raining (I don't think we appreciate beaches enough in the UK, but it's one of the best we''ve ever visited) - and often you feel like you have the beach to yourself. There is a train station about five minutes walk from Castle Cottage which provides a good base from which to explore North Wales, and there are also nice walks from Harlech. Plus some good shops in the town, I spent ages in the antique book shop.

We love Harlech, but Castle Cottage is the reason we return so frequently. Now did I mention the food? The food at Castle Cottage is outstanding - great selection of food and locally sourced - cooked to perfection. We stayed for three nights, and each night in the restaurant was something to look forward to. Delicious home-made canapes in the bar while you enjoy a pre-dinner glass of wine, champagne, beer or whatever you fancy, while you select your first and second courses. Then the complimentary chef's appetiser served at your table is a nice touch - and delicious.

Without a doubt one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we've ever experienced. Beats top London restaurants we've visited (e.g., Oxo Tower, Savoy to mention a few) for the overall experience.

Already looking forward to canapes in the bar later in the year!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
We love frogs that travel! What can I say -thank you for another fantastic review of us (and the town of Harlech - a hidden gem of Gwynedd). We run our business to the best of our ability and treat customers as we like to be treated, so its gratifying to please other like-mined people with what we are doing here. Forget going abroad for your hols - Wales has it all!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    19
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
101
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

we visited Castle Cottage just to have a short break and it was wonderful. The food was some of the best we have had anywhere and the room was lovely. I would confidently reccomend it to anyone. In fact, we would drive the 2.5 hours just to eat there again...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmsreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our food. Having won the true taste award for eating out in wales 200/09 its good that we are promoting \welsh produce and .making our customers happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

My family ( (mother and 2 children) stayed at castle cottage over the Christmas & New Year period after a reccommendation from friends. Firstly, what a location! - small village with a fantastic castle, views over the bay with Mount Snowdon in the distance.
Castle Cottage looks unasuming from the outside, but the bedrooms are stunning ( we stayed in rooms 4 and 5). Its in a old wobbly building ( built in 1585 according to the the chef/owner Glyn) but with modern facilities ( really good showers)
The welcome was very freindly and the rooms warm on arrival, the two children were looked after very well, having bangers & mash in the bar early so we could have a nice relaxed dinner in the restaurant later. The food was to die for! lamb was the best i've had in years and the seabass was gorgeous, my mothers pudding of pine nut & honey tart was brill. The whole feeling of the place was of a relaxed quality without being stuffy and too formal and we were made to feel very welcome. Our only complaint was that we did not get any snow over the festive period! All in all a fantastic stay in Wales

Helpful?
1 Thank patjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
We are glad that your family enjoyed our family run establishment and you found Harlech a lovely place to stay in - we are in one of the most scenic and beautiful areas of the UK. The produce available locally and in Wales makes Glyn's efforts in the kitchen so much easier by having top notch ingredients right on the doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel for the third time in September, we were meeting up with a few others, we were all staying at the hotel and eating in the restaurant, from the minute you walk through the doors you get a real warmth feeling that you only get from that real family run business, there is no expence spared on the attention to detail and pure luuxury in the rooms and faclities. The restaurant this is in a league of its own, the food combinations that the chef offers is outstanding good solid choices and the food from the presentation to the quality nothing else compares, the evening in the restaurant was such a wonderful experince i can not wait to go again, just when you think its all over you get the same service and quality from the very varied breakfast menu, in all a fantastic restaurant and hotel and one i would highly recommend you will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
Returning guests are music to our ears - reconfirming that what we are doing is the right thing - great food and superb rooms in a fantastic part of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

Fantastic towel rails and heaters, all very simple to use, easy to understand and obvious in their function!
I have visited this establishment many times to stay and even more to eat.
If you have the opportunity to read this hotels guest book, rarely do you see more consistent and glowing comments, believe me this place is a real find and made even more so by the hosts who are always in attendance and both friendly and warm, not to mention that Glyn is a remarkable chef and one only has to speak to him for a few minutes to discover his total commitment to good food and service.
The rooms are magnificent and the whole ambience welcoming. Don't take my word for it read Paddy Burt's reviews, it is one of her favourites and she is not easy to please, the downstairs areas have all been refurbished to an even higher standard since her visit.
My husband and I stay at 4 and 5 star establishments all over the UK and beyond, but this is our favourite and by far the best value for money.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, 29 April 2009
Jacqueline and Glyn are pleased that a well travelled customers with obvious good taste appreciates the quality that can be found in north Wales. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as much as Paddy Burt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

The visit to this B and B was planned as a restful and relaxing break, but unfortunately it was a hideous experience. Our daughter burnt her leg seriously on the electric heater in the room. When we justifiably complained, the male owner was incredibly rude, and said we should not be putting on the heating in August and that it was our fault as our daughter had been climbing onto the window sill! For a comparble price we could have stayed at a four star hotel where guests are treated with respect, courtesy and kindliness. At Castle cottage, we were insulted, shouted at and told we were irresponsible parents. The hospitality industry is not just about beautiful rooms, the standard of service is really important too! BEWARE!
We have since complained to the council who have visited the property and have promised us that they've instructed the owner to put up warning notices on the dangerous heaters. We have also instructed a solicitor to claim damages against the owner for failing to provide a safe environment for our stay. We would never have taken this step if the owner had been less insulting, accusatory and rude.
There are other annoyances too - there's not enough parking which is a real pain as the hill outside is very steep and narrow, and if there's no room there, you have to PAY to park in a car park nearby.
If you are still thinking of bringing children and dining while they sleep, be warned that the rooms and restaurant are in seperate (but adjoined) buildings with seperate entrances, and that the baby lisening service is not the usual one with a phone (there are none in the rooms), but just a baby monitor.
As for the food, we cannot comment - we spent the evening at the local hospital in A and E! (As we did the next night!)
A month later our daughters leg is now healed, but she has a big scar, which may well be permanant. In our opinion this was not the family friendly b and b it was billed to be.

  • Liked — Nothing, it was an appalling experience!
  • Disliked — the owner!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank louiseaileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, 24 September 2008
When her husband came to report the incident he was very laid back, no sense of urgency and calm, and we gave him first aid to administer and wrote down directions to the local A&E which is 20 mins drive away (should they not have dialled 999 for an ambulance as that would have been quicker?).

When we sent our first aid trained member of staff with the directions to the room she was met with a ranting and raving mother who shouted abuse at her - the price being charged for the room, dangerous heaters etc etc. The child did not show any signs of distress – she even smiled at our staff member!

When I went to see the mother I received the same treatment, its a bit difficult to be polite to anybody when they are incandescent with rage and screaming abuse ( I put this down to her daughter being hurt through their own irresponsible actions and wanting someone to blame). Her rage could also be due to the |parking she complained about (she actually parked in the quiet residential street right outside our property) and due to the large gin & tonics consumed just prior to the incident.

I did not say 'they should not be putting on the heating in August' - I said WHY would you put it on, then to the maximum setting and not tell your husband or child that it was on, and crucially let your young child climb on it! The mother did not have a justifiable complaint because it was her that turned on the heater to maximum, did not tell the child or father that it was on and then let the child run around the room unsupervised.

Would you let your child, or anybodies child, climb on a heater at home, so why would you do it in a hotel!

The hottest part of the heater is, quite naturally is the very top, this is 26" from the floor. With the height of this young child, she would have had to have been climbing on the heater to have burnt her thigh. (as confirmed by the HSE)

We called in the HSE from the council first thing the next morning and he has sent a report stating 'that we should assess the situation and take control measures" - to include put up a warning sign depending on the type of person using the room.
Therefore, we now put in a sign stating that the top of the heater can be hot when turned to maximum and parents of young children to be aware of this – stating the obvious!!

We have not been told to remove our heaters, as there is nothing wrong with them.

Our heaters fitted from new during our refurbishment are standard panel heaters model EVX 200 and complies with European Safety standard EN 60335-2-30 as well as European Standard EN 55014, EN 60555-2 and EN 60555-2.
The building and fitted equipment passed all the building regulations and was signed off by the local council

The HSE officer also told us that many hotels ban children under 12 because the threat of litigation from parents who do not control their children, have an accident then get a 'blame & claim' solicitor to sue for damages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

We stayed here as part of a group - if we'd have been alone, we would have moved out.
The cottage itself is well appointed and well restored - there are no complaints on that front.
My complaint (and I made it to the proprietor at the time) is about our treatment as vegetarians. The menu is heavily meaty, with only one vegetarian starter and main course, so there's no choice. On our first evening, the veggie choice was risotto, which i didn't fancy. When I asked for something else, the chef said things like "How can a vegetarian not like risotto? You must have had some pretty crap ones in the past! What CAN you eat then? You're welcome to go and try the Indian - if you don't mind eating cat!"
I and the other vegetarian (there were two of us in a group of 12) were absolutely astonished. I've not been spoken to like that, or treated as some kind of a pariah, since I first became veggie over 40 years ago!
I'm afraid that the overall feeling was that they were serving us under sufferance and they'd really rather not!
I really would not recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Liked — well restored
  • Disliked — menu for vegetarians
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bessiegalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, owner/chef at Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review, 8 August 2008
The group in question had booked many months in advance and many emails had passed between us, but with no mention of there being two veggies in the party. The 'organiser 'had also forgotten to mention about the couple that HAD to have a twin bedded room otherwise to would ruin their stay - but we sorted that out on the day with no problem.
The party of 12 had booked dinner on four of the five nights (they ended up eating every night!). Dinner time booked each night was 8pm - they never all arrived into our bar until 9pm each night We only found out about the veggies when the lady in question complained about the amount of veggie canapes (we are not a vegetarian restaurant but have two veggie starters and one veggie main course, and if we can do a different starter/main course from what we have in stock we will)The lady then complained about having a wild mushroom risotto with asparagus and truffle saying that the British could not do risotto (apparently she had lived in Italy for 5 years so she was an expert) I suggested she try my risotto, but again she said the risottos she had eaten in the UK where no good to which I replied perhaps they were crap - unlike mine! which would be delicious ( I was trying to make a joke with an awkward customer)I then asked what would she like to eat - reply was she didn't know and that I was going to have a problem feeding her for the four nights booked!!. So I offered her a feta cheese, tomato, basil and avocado strudel - she did not like pastry!! (Should not someone who is SO FUSSY have pre-warned us???)She asked about other veggie restaurants in town , so i said about the Indian - again making a joke about eating veggie cat!I took this jokey approach because i overheard other members of her party telling to stand up for herself and to tell the chef to do what she wanted, the customer was always right etc etc and to be forceful to get what she wanted - but she did not know herself!!
We have no problem feeding vegetarians ( or even vegans and once even fruitarians!), but this customer was being awkward in the extreme and was clearly goading me in being difficult re her food. She and her husband ate the five nights having a different canape, appetiser, starter and main course each night - that is hardly serving her under sufferance!!
The organiser apologised when they checked out re the twin room and the pain of a fussy vegetarian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
0.3 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
6.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Byrdir House
Byrdir House
#7 of 15 in Harlech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms

Property: Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Address: Cottage Restaurant with Rooms Y Llech, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room 7 'Harlech' large executive room can be used as a family room - leather sofa-bed. En-suite has large bathtub and a separate large deluge shower. Free WiFi broadband throughout the building. We have won the True Taste award for eating out in Wales 2008/09 - Mid wales and overall winners. Fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere using local and Welsh produce. Visit Wales Gold Award 20/12/13/14 National Restaurant Awards Top 100 in UK 2011.We now no longer allow children under the age of 12 years old in the restaurant, we can do a child's dinner in the lounge at 5.30/6Pm for residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Cottage Restaurant With Rooms Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing