We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places to eat.”
Review of SOUL FOOD - CLOSED

SOUL FOOD
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
North Wales - UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to eat.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Its too far for us, to just pop in for dinner, so we complte a day out on the west coast, by stopping in on the way home.

This is the 1st time we have visited, since its moved. The food is a great as ever, at a reasonable price. Its quite easy to spend more on a pub meal. The resturant has about 30 seats, so is quite small and personal. The owner is in our experience always there, and friendly, with a moto, if its not good enough for me to enjoy, its not good enough to server to you.

I hope they get to move back to the old building, which has one of the most wonderful views in wales.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick_The_Builder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    44
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

staying locally we really wanted to try this, we saw the menu is a shop window and checked trip advisor, we decided to go.
The ambience was ok, very modern bistro style set up, we expected more colour 'carribean style' although the pictures are very modern and colourful.
The Staff were very friendly, the presentation was second to non and the kids portions very generous.
BUT...
my husbands lamb was cold in the middle, it was exchanged without question, but my husband changed his choice to the blackend lime chicken, this came out quite quckily prooving that with the cold lamb and quick chicken that the food is pre cooked and re heated.
WE both had th lime chicken but there wasn't any lime flavour.
Deserts were all ice cream. (ice cream, sticky toffee bomd ice cream, icecream cheesecake) again although very well presented it was a clear that it was a way of getting food out quick.
I think this a family business, and I wish them well as they are lovely but they need to look at the quality of what they are serving and also offer at least 1 non icecream dessert.
Oh and They dont take cards!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Krysia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, Owner at SOUL FOOD, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Krysia R
We do acknowledge and apologise that your lamb shank was cold in the middle. Unfortunately, these things happen (very rarely for us) in a busy restaurant.
Your comment that everything is pre-cooked and re-heated is incorrect. However, lamb shanks take at least 3 hours to cook...ours take four hours to ensure they are tender; this would make it impossible to cook them to order!

Your husband then decided to have the lime chicken, this is a very popular dish on our menu and is constantly being cooked as it does not take the time that long slow cooked dishes take which is why it did not take long to serve. The fact that you could not taste the lime is that you were not supposed to..it is a subtle lime taste along with the other seasoning ingredients. The fresh lime that comes with the dish is for you to add more to it if that is your taste choice.

The dessert choices are a conscious decision that we made but all come with fresh fruit. We spend hours prepping all our main courses and starters and we simply do not have the time to cook desserts.

Again, we apologise for your disappointment, but this just goes to proves that you cannot
please everyone all the time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Genius dining experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We're a couple in our mid 30s who were on a short break to Harlech, keen to visit this restaurant after recommendations from friends. We were really pleased to get a table and even more pleased with the whole experience. It's just a really nice, friendly, calm, non-pretentious, reasonably priced restaurant that I'm now recommending to everyone! The genius comes in how you order a main then choose 2 sides and a further 3 come as standard meaning you get to try a lot of different dishes. I loved the tasty jambalaya that I ordered and my partner's perfectly balanced beef coconut curry but the overriding memory of the whole holiday is the amazing side of macaroni-cheese pie! After a tasteless meal at another local restaurant I was looking forward to this packing a punch and was not disappointed but equally it does not leave your tastebuds blown away. They even made up a virgin cocktail when my partner enquired and did not charge a ridiculous amount. Our mains were £15 each, just a shame we didn't have any room for dessert. So top tips: do call to book, they're closed Mondays, do take cash as they don't take cards and don't worry about access, the open air car park just over the road is free after 6pm. Enjoy! (Oh no I want that macaroni cheese pie again now!)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicestershireLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a lovely little restaurant this is. We ate hear on our first evening in Harlech based on other reviews on trip adviror. We were not disappointed. Upon entering you are immediately met with smiles followed quickly by your table ( if you have booked. The restaurant is a little on the small side or 'exclusive' if you like so booking is essential) and then menus. The drinks menu is nice and extensive with cocktails and beers, wines and soft drinks available. The food menu is mouthwatering to say the least. Be prepared to leave the restaurant with a smile and a full belly. No small portions here. If I had one small gripe it would be to have more dishes which were less spicy. All in all, however, it was well worth the visit and is highly recommended. Bravo.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Jambalaya”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great food, really nice staff, relaxed atmosphere. Portions huge, so if you're not a huge eater, have a main course only, and with the money you've saved on a starter, have a cocktail or two.
Book early as they're often full. And also ignore the quality of their website (as at August 2014) it's not a good reflection of the restaurant which is great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SOUL FOOD also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing