We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Y Branwen(Harlech)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
327
17
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
17
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bharlech castlewonderful hostsmade us feelfull welsh breakfastoverlooking the seafirst classattention to detailbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful roombay windowbooks and dvdsstunning viewsset us up for the dayfresh fruitlittle extrasporridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed just one night, but the room, atmosphere, attractive art, friendly and generous nature of b&b is impressive. Not only set in the heart if Harlech, 5 minute walk to castle, it Overlooks a tremendous view if the peninsula. I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and loved every minute of it! The room was large and comfortable with a brilliant view of the castle. Breakfast was delicious, well cooked and plentiful. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and we really enjoyed meeting them. They made us feel very welcome. We had a very relaxing stay. Highly recommended. We think this is THE place to stay in lovely Harlech. Steven and Mark

Room Tip: Room 2 was very spacious with a great view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevieas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We found Maelgwyn on line the bedrooms looked lovely with fantastic views. Derek met us at the door when we arrived which was really nice. The bedroom lived up to the the website pictures and video. It was warm and very comfortable. The full Welsh breakfast was wonderful and set us up for the day/ Derek and Bridget were so nice and nothing was to much trouble. We will be definitely be going back. Would recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Recommend room 1 or 2
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue and billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We received a lovely welcome.We stayed only one night but would have loved to stay longer. Immaculately clean, very comfortable bed and lots of nice extras included. The view was stunning, over the castle to Snowdon. Wow! Breakfast great and the owners friendly and interesting people.
Would definitely stay here again, and fully recommend to others.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth the extra money
Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We found Maelgwyn on-line, =it looked appealing and on speaking to the owners sounded like the perfect place to stay. On arrival our hosts were very welcoming and showed us to a sea-view room on the first floor; my what a fantastic view. The room was spacious but so hot. It was one of the few days of real sunshine and heat we have had in Wales this summer and the huge picture windows had a greenhouse effect on the room and it was like being in a sauna. We were lucky to have a fan heater but really it would have benefitted from having a few more windows that opened and access to fresh air.

The en-suite had all the necessary facilities but if you are a tad on the larger side you might struggle, and it would be better to have a towel rail that you could switch off, especially during the summer months.

Breakfast next morning was very nice.

Overall, I'd say that this is a very nice place to stay, hosts were friendly, it was very clean and comfortable (apart from the heat) but at the price not on a par with other 5 star b&bs we have stayed at that provide more of the little extras.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews