We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
US$183
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Y Branwen(Harlech)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaBanks B&B(Criccieth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
George IV Hotel(Criccieth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
332
17
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
17
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharlech castlewonderful hostsmade us feelfull welsh breakfastoverlooking the seafirst classattention to detailbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful roombay windowbooks and dvdsstunning viewsset us up for the dayfresh fruitlittle extrasporridgesitting room
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at Maelgwyn House over the last Bank Holiday weekend and what an absolute joy the hosts Bridget and Derek are! Lovely, lovely people - Bridget is so warm and friendly and Derek is, well, Derek! He's hilarious and you could stay for ever to listen to his stories as he's led such an interesting life. The house is full of his fabulous paintings, is beautifully decorated, warm and cosy and our bedroom (Room 1) had an amazing sea view and view of Harlech Castle! 2 extremely comfortable chairs were provided to sit and relax in front of the window - bliss! The bed was one of the comfiest we have ever slept in with luxurious bedding, spotlessly clean with lovely thick towels, plenty of hot water and toiletries. Bridget spotted that we'd taken some wine and when we returned to our room she'd supplied 2 wine glasses without us having to ask - her attention to detail is second to none. Breakfast is scrumptious - the scrambled eggs are delicious but try the full breakfast - perfect and plenty of tea and toast constantly supplied by Derek if needed! All in all perfect if you just want to get away from it all as we did! We will definitely be back!

Jan & Jeff, Bolton, Nr Manchester

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 - stunning sea views - beautiful!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Simon and I chose this bed and brekfast for our first wedding anniversary, and it was indeed a very pleasant and enjoyable experience! The house is amazing, beautifully presented, with lots of very pleasant paintings on the walls, and stunning views from our bedroom. The room itself was very welcoming, clean and attention to details made the difference all throughout our stay. The breakfast menu was excellent and the Welsh full breafast cooked to perfection! The hosts were welcoming, very knowledgable of the area and of Wales, and they had plenty of character and brilliant sense of humour! They made everybody feel at home and cheerful! We strongly recommend it if youa re planning a trip to this stunning region!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Derek and Bridget are quite possibly the nicest hosts ever. We've never had hosts chat to us like we're old friends within minutes of arriving! Nothing was too much trouble for them, so approachable and they make you feel so important. For example, we said to Derek during our two night stay we were visiting Barmouth and he ran back into the house to get a map for us. We wouldn't of seen half of the town if it wasn't for the map so thank you Derek!
Our room was number 3 which was at the back. Such a cosy room, with so much attention to detail. The bed was comfortable and the ensuite was lovely and clean. The information folder in the room was extremely useful, especially for our walk up the hills and for the restaurants. If possible, we'd like to request that room again when we next come to visit.
The breakfast was superb, we recommend the Maelgwyn Special! We had it both mornings, it was that delicious. Apparently it hasn't always been on the breakfast menu, so we felt privileged to have it.
Thank you so much Derek and Bridget for being so kind and making our stay throughly enjoyable. We will come back here definitely!

Amy and Lee.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I cannot praise the owners Derek and Bridget highly enough. Right from the outset, my partner and I were looked after superbly. We felt welcome and important. Maelgwyn is easy to find, there are plenty of parking spaces in front, and the rooms are just cracking. We were put in a room with sea views, and I couldn't have been happier. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spotless, and the soap / shampoo / towels were changed daily. The room was always warm. And we loved the dvd player in the bedroom - a godsend after a long day climbing mountains to be able to settle down with a film.

Derek and Bridget were incredibly attentive without being overbearing - and both were mines of information about the locale. Derek particularly is very useful to interrogate about local tourist attractions and road works!!! The breakfasts, too, were just gorgeous - a wide range of choices, and all cooked with fresh ingredients, and swiftly, too.

Harlech is a really convenient place to stay in North Wales - it has easy transport links to get to Snowdon, Barmouth, Porthmadog and various other touristy places. Apart from that, it's simply very beautiful. We couldn't have wished for better.

I was not disappointed, or let down at all by my Maelgwyn stay - in fact, I'd highly recommend this wonderful family business. I only live in Manchester, so I'm not too far away at all - and my partner and I have already talked about returning in the summer. Neither of us can wait.

David R, Manchester

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just had a stay at Maelgwyn House and had a lovely experience. I had booked a less costly room but on arrival we were upgraded at no extra charge as a better room was available. The room was spacious and comfortable with the most beautiful view across the dunes and beach. Bridget was extremely welcoming without being overbearing and Derek was warm and friendly and full of local knowledge and advice on where to go and what to do. Both my partner and I enjoyed chatting with Derek over breakfast which was absolutley delicious and cooked to perfection. Just what you need before attempting to climb Snowdon! We are already planning our next visit in the summer.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a most beautiful view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myky_Mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews