We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr & Mrs Mariyam & John Rourke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

In a word Wonderful. Derek & Brigit are warm welcoming people. Very kind and considerate. It was obvious that they went the extra mile to take care of their customers. We took the smallest room in the house, and was very pleased. I cannot stress how lovely the room was..main criteria to meet for me was cleanliness. The whole house was very clean, the room was pristeen with a beautiful en suite shower/loo. All tastefully decorated, with beautiful art combined with nik naks. Beautiful part of the world...house on the hill. The breakfast was awsome. All worth the excellent price. Thankyou Derek & Brigit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mariyam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the best B@B I have ever stayed at. The owners, Bridget and Derek were marvellous hosts. Made us feel very welcome from the off. Room we had was very clean, towels changed every day. Very comfortable kingsize bed. Great views of Snowdon and the coast. First class breakfast, great selection of cereals and fruit. Harlech is great for visiting lots of attractions in the area. I cannot recommend this B&B enough.

Room Tip: Go for the room with sea views, there are two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sufcforever631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stunning scenery and gorgeous sunsets from the room. The hosts were lovely they even put a card in our room for our anniversary. Breakfasts wow!!! Delicious even the homemade stewed fruits were yummy. And you can walk to the village for dinner, some really nice restaurants.
Would recommend to anyone of all ages.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed two nights in this wonderful B&B, in a front room with amazing views over the coastline and the Castle. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Brigit and Derek were warm and welcoming and gave great recommendations on where to eat and what to do in the region. Our room was exceptionally well appointed, and the breakfasts were superb. As with the town itself, it is located high up the hill side and slightly challenging to find on a SatNav (at least our aging one), but the directions on their web site are good. We highly recommend this B&B and would certainly stay there again if in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We decided at short notice, to visit Wales.

My wife discovered Maelgwyn House on the internet. luckily we booked the last room.(No 3) smallest rear facing room, but plenty of space for us & OTHERS. Good bed and en suite facilities.

The B&B is designated close to the castle,shops and restaurants/tea rooms, pub.

Breakfast service was excellent: fruits,cereal,muesli,and good variety of cooked breakfast choices.

The owner Derek and Bridget are the nicest people you could ever meet. Derek and Bridget gave us a great smiling welcome from when we arrived to our departure. We will return.

No children,pets (great choice) especially being a Dad of 3 with pets.

Please ignore the previous FAMILIES review.

Room Tip: Good food at the Caribbean restaurant. We preferred the Y Branwen pub on the lower road in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGLER66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We made a mistake. My wife failed to read the small print about children on booking.com and we arrived with an 11 and a 9 year old.

Our error was highlighted by Bridget (Playing the role of Cybil) when we checked in, we apologised and we were ready to go elsewhere but, since they had already charged us for our rooms, it was agreed we could stay so long as the children were quiet. To be fair, the children were indeed quiet.

Next morning we were first for breakfast and had the dining room to ourselves. No other guests around to be outraged by the presence of children. Enter Basil. Obsequious, pompous, gritted teeth smiling passive aggression from the husband from start to finish.

"How lovely to see two such young fresh faces at breakfast"

"May I inquire as to the age of these two charming children?"

"My parents dragged me around with them when I was a child, I hated it, I expect you do too?"

" So these are the in laws are they? Well. let's not go there then"

And so on.

The climax of the episode was my wife waiting in the hallway to pay having to listen to Basil hold forth to the next set of diners about some "just awful Americans" and the "incredibly tense atmosphere" we brought with us, along with, if you can believe it, "children, they actually brought children".

My wife, very embarrassed, apologised again for the children when we checked out and Cybil assured her there was no problem at all even as Basil was still holding forth to one and all in the dining room about how awful we were.

I understand we missed the ban on children but either politely turn us away or consent to host us and then behave with at least a little class. Don't say it's OK then behave so poorly.

House is in a good location, very convenient for the castle and restaurants, easy to find. It is clean and has off street parking. We stayed in Room 5 on the top floor/in the attic. Nice view but baking hot in the summer sun, the windows crack but don't really open so it stays hot in the evening for quite a while. The bed is short, don't expect to sleep well if you're more than 5' 10", the bathroom is a cupboard, don't expect to shower well if you're over 5' 6". There's a good selection of books and DVDs for guests. The house very busily decorated and is full of what look like the framed results of a mediocre high school arts class exam. Each to his own I suppose.

So in summary, nice house, good location, mediocre room and awful people.

Room Tip: If you ever wanted to be a guest at Fawlty Towers, this place is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgetMS, Owner at Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We did think of replying in full to this 'review,' or perhaps diatribe might be more appropriate, but by doing so we felt it may give it a dignity and credence it is not worthy of and does not deserve!
Some of our guests have read the 'review' and the general consensus is that is says far more about the reviewer than it does about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location in Harlech is convenient to everything, including the castle. Our room had an amazing view of Cardigan Bay and Harlech Castle. The B&B is tastefully yet cozily decorated and the room has small amenities that make a difference, like a good mirror next to an outlet to plug in your hair dryer and free WiFi. The breakfast was ample and varied, and the house special which included bacon and eggs was delicious and not greasy at all. Bridget and Derek were delightful from booking to checkout. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Go for one of the two sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
6.6 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pen Y Garth
Pen Y Garth
#2 of 14 in Harlech
112 reviews
20.4 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ffordd Isaf, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2PR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range: £96 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing