We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We enjoyed this b&b so much last year that we rearranged our travel plans ( visiting Lleyn Peninsula ) so as to incorporate another visit.
We were not disappointed - Bridget & Derek are wonderful hosts & the warmest of welcomes is afforded to everyone.
Rooms are very comfortable ( got to recommend those with a sea view - a touch more expensive but worth every penny ) & breakfast is to die for.
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DJHNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My folks and I have stayed in a lot of fantastic hotels and B & B's in our time, and this one is no different. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you feel so welcome, your almost a member of the family. Bridget and Derek are terrific. Friendly, knowledgeable, very helpful, and very accomodating. The perfect hosts. The B & B itself is a lovely, large home overlooking Harlech bay, the castle and the opposing peninsula. There are 5 very comfortable rooms, all ensuite, with the usual tea and coffee offerings and a TV/DVD. It's extremely quiet despite being near a main road and is within easy reach of Harlech itself, the castle and the beach. We had a lovely stay and will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front on the first floor are the largest and as far as I'm aware have the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely B & B. We had rooms 1 & 2 - large, comfortable rooms on the first floor with huge windows overlooking the sea and Harlech Castle. The property is in a quiet position only a short walk from the village, with its shops, restaurants etc. It is also a pleasant walk down through the golf course to Harlech beach, which stretches for miles and even in August was not busy. Breakfast was delicious, with a good choice from the menu. The guest lounge has a good supply of books and DVDs. Our hosts, Bridget and Derek, could not have been kinder or more welcoming. We would have no hesitation in recommending Maelgwyn.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 on the first floor are identical, large rooms, and have wonderful views to the sea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We only stayed the one night, but we enjoyed it very much. The bed was comfy, good working shower, teas, water and biscuits in room. Amazing views! Breakfast was really good, they even found me a veggie sasuage! Our sat mav took us all round the houses, but they were able to direct us on the phone. They recommended a really lovely place for dinner in the village just a few mins walk away, which also had stunning views. The couple who run the place were very nice. The only thing to watch, is if you are a bit forgetful like my husband, you may keep on walking into the slanted wall in the bedroom, but most people have more sense than him!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zobug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First off the post code took Sat Nav' took us to the rear of the property but the entrance is actually down along the main village road, almost as if leaving the village).

A great place for a relaxing, quiet child free break with outstanding views over land, sea, castle and Tremadog Bay as well as comfort, cleanliness, art, books, magazines, DVDs and a lovely garden at the front with free parking.
Owners Bridget and Derek operate this spotlessly clean and welcoming hostelry. Interesting art on the walls (most of it by Derek) a great residents lounge with plenty of books and DVDs to loan, very close to the village of Harlech. Book your breakfast time using the schedule left in the hallway.
Although a small village, Harlech has amongst others some good restaurants (including a Caribbean), fast food shops (Indian and Kebab), tea rooms, a fantastic made local ice-cream shop (by the castle)antique shops (2), and a friendly very local pub (run by a loverly lady) with really delicious but basic food. Down the south road along the bay there are other villages with equally good pubs with grub and your 'posher, pricey' (but not necessarily better) stand alone or hotel, restaurants..
Easy access to all the outstanding amazingly beautiful landscape including Snowdonia and Llyn peninsular.
If you want to go to the top of Snowdonia mountain (3654 feet) not on foot (3 hrs+) but by steam, diesel or tram then it is suggested you either book on line for discount (but a £2 booking fee?!) and a seat on the first train at 09.00 or get there before 08.30 to try and get on the first train up; booking office opens at 08.30. Go in the daytime and you really do risk not getting a seat or being able to park (parking costs £7.00 but you get a £4.00 voucher off of any meal (good breakki) at the owners hotel 2 mins up the road). We left at 07.00 and arrived at Snowdonia mountain rail station just before 08.00.
We found the whole trip truly wonderful, the very best of scenery, great roads, food, beer, lots to see and do and loads of places to stop, relax, have a cuppa and even dip your toes into one of the beautiful lakes many of the roads run along side of.

Room Tip: Top front floor I would image has the best panoramic views Room 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

For those wanting a child free getaway with views to blow your socks off as well as comfort, cleanliness, art, books, magazines, DVDs and a lovely 'dell' of a garden at the front - then this is it. And for those just wanting a rest and a friendly welcome - this is it too.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed five nights in late June in this beautiful house set in a stunning location,positioned high above sea level,with panoramic views of Tremadog Bay.This outstanding B and B operated by it's lovely owners Bridget and Derek is spotlessly clean.Our king sized bed was extremely comfortable,with high quality bed linen and our room contained other attractive soft furnishings,TV with many satellite channels and a good hospitality tray,including bottled water and biscuits.Attached was an attractive average sized en-suite supplied with full thickness towels and additional toiletries.Breakfast was beyond expectations,and included a copious fried breakfast beautifully cooked by Bridget,plus eggs to order and a very good choice of mixed fruits, porridge etc etc..Maelgwyn House must rank in the top echelon of British B@B's..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ROGER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harlech hotels
0.1 mi away
Pen Y Garth
Pen Y Garth
#2 of 14 in Harlech
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Lodge
Crown Lodge
#4 of 14 in Harlech
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Cottage Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Frondirion
Frondirion
#1 of 2 in Llanfair
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Branwen
Y Branwen
#1 of 1 in Harlech
133 reviews
1 mi away
Dol Aur Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ffordd Isaf, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2PR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range: £95 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing