We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Harlech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our first visit and it was as good as the reviews suggested. We had a large room with a view of the sea and the castle. Stunning for sunsets. The bed was very comfortable, there were seats in the window so we could admire the view and the bathroom was spotless. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were a bonus. The lounge has loads of maps and guides. Breakfast was excellent. The owners made us feel really welcome.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a sea view if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_from_Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
242
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What a lovely homely place in an outstanding position with wonderful views of Harlech.

The owners can't do enough for you. Their sea view rooms have plenty of home comforts. The bed is so comfortable. There's a lounge, plenty of videos.

Derick was an artist and his paintings were amazing, He was a lovely man, really interesting to listen to.

It's a walk away from Harlech, and we can recommend Soul Food, Caribbean restaurant.

Breakfast was delicious with local produce.

Rates are fairly pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Chose premium room on first floor, sea view
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanineLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Well what can I say.... there are just not enough words to praise Maelgwyn house or Bridget and Derek enough! We have stayed here many many times and each time are greeted as friends , with Bridget and Derek remembering specific details about our families and lives! The service is excellent, the rooms tastefully decorated and impeccably clean and the breakfasts are scrummy. Both hosts have a wealth of knowledge about the local area and specifically great places to walk in and around Harlech. When my husband proposed on a deserted Harlech beach Bridget was the first person we went to tell the good news and when staying on our anniversary we were greeted with a lovely card in our room. These personal touches are what makes a 5 star b and b and that is exactly what Maelgwyn house is in every respect. Unfortunately we have not been able to visit since having our baby boy but when we can get away for a night in the future this will be the first place we will be going. In summary - book a room you will NOT regret it. Kim and Gareth Wright x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimandgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We enjoyed this b&b so much last year that we rearranged our travel plans ( visiting Lleyn Peninsula ) so as to incorporate another visit.
We were not disappointed - Bridget & Derek are wonderful hosts & the warmest of welcomes is afforded to everyone.
Rooms are very comfortable ( got to recommend those with a sea view - a touch more expensive but worth every penny ) & breakfast is to die for.
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My folks and I have stayed in a lot of fantastic hotels and B & B's in our time, and this one is no different. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you feel so welcome, your almost a member of the family. Bridget and Derek are terrific. Friendly, knowledgeable, very helpful, and very accomodating. The perfect hosts. The B & B itself is a lovely, large home overlooking Harlech bay, the castle and the opposing peninsula. There are 5 very comfortable rooms, all ensuite, with the usual tea and coffee offerings and a TV/DVD. It's extremely quiet despite being near a main road and is within easy reach of Harlech itself, the castle and the beach. We had a lovely stay and will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front on the first floor are the largest and as far as I'm aware have the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely B & B. We had rooms 1 & 2 - large, comfortable rooms on the first floor with huge windows overlooking the sea and Harlech Castle. The property is in a quiet position only a short walk from the village, with its shops, restaurants etc. It is also a pleasant walk down through the golf course to Harlech beach, which stretches for miles and even in August was not busy. Breakfast was delicious, with a good choice from the menu. The guest lounge has a good supply of books and DVDs. Our hosts, Bridget and Derek, could not have been kinder or more welcoming. We would have no hesitation in recommending Maelgwyn.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 on the first floor are identical, large rooms, and have wonderful views to the sea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We only stayed the one night, but we enjoyed it very much. The bed was comfy, good working shower, teas, water and biscuits in room. Amazing views! Breakfast was really good, they even found me a veggie sasuage! Our sat mav took us all round the houses, but they were able to direct us on the phone. They recommended a really lovely place for dinner in the village just a few mins walk away, which also had stunning views. The couple who run the place were very nice. The only thing to watch, is if you are a bit forgetful like my husband, you may keep on walking into the slanted wall in the bedroom, but most people have more sense than him!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zobug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlech
3.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.6 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Frondirion
Frondirion
#1 of 2 in Llanfair
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byrdir House
Byrdir House
#8 of 14 in Harlech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ffordd Isaf, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2PR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast Harlech, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing