We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corwen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Powys Country House
Ranked #2 of 14 Corwen B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I booked Powys Country House because of the central location and very reasonable price by comparison to other venues.

Everything about the location and accommodation was fantastic. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and it was handy that they lived on site, but they weren't in the least bit intrusive. The whole experience from initial enquiry, through booking, finialising, paying and being there was faultless, easy and very enjoyable

We hired the whole place for 25 family and friends and 2 dogs. The main house and both cottages were amazing, very well equipped, beautifully decorated and spotless on arrival. Everyone slept well and I can vouch for my bed being really comfy, with a big heavy duvet. Every detail had been thought of by the owners to set the venue up ready for a great weekend.

The hot tub is big, under cover and loads of fun and we had a great time in the games room, with table football and pool for the kids and snooker and darts for the adults. The grounds are beautiful, as is the area as a whole. The kids loved the giant garden chess and play area and the dogs loved running arounf the paddock.

We we definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larcher1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This house is fantastic!! Nothing negative to say, really cant fault it! We hired the house and the 2 cottages so we had exclusive use of the facilities!. all 3 properties more than met our expectations, all mod cons but full of character! and all immaculately clean! The games room, hot tub and play ground all went down really well with our group. This was a family break with 21 adults and 8 kids to celebrate mine and my husbands 40th Birthday. We all had an absolute BALL!! as one of our little ones said as they tried out the hot tub "this is the best day of my life" (AHHH). Toni and Terry are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

An amazing house about 10 minutes drive west of Llangollen that was booked by a large (ish) group of friends and their partners to celebrate Katie's 32nd birthday. The scale of the place is amazing! We nearly sent out search parties to find people! The house is warm and homely with more than enough space for us all to spread out, the gardens were big enough to tire out some hyperactive dogs too. The house has wifi, not mentioned elsewhere. I'm sure we'll all be coming back soon! Thank you again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Once again had the chance to stay in this wonderfull house, feels like home. Absolutely immaculate house and gardens and made to feel so welcome, only problem I have now is deciding what friends to take next time.
Thank you.
Les Rooney

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have just got back from our second stay at Powys House. We rebooked it to return and celebrate our 1st year anniversary, and it was just as special as we remembered. Toni came out and greeted us when we arrived and it felt like going back to a second home. We stayed in the Stable Cottage and it was great to be able to go back and reminisce on our beautiful wedding weekend 12 months ago. The cottage-as always-was immaculate and well equipped. Toni had even left a bottle of wine for us!

Looking forward to getting back there again next year, with the original wedding party. Can't come quick enough!

Thanks Again Toni and Terry for making us so welcome xx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just got back yesterday after a weeks stay here with 10 adults and 3 children really can't fault the house and grounds also the garden is beautiful and child friendly WE WILL BE BACK we have stayed in a variety of cottages in north Wales over the last 13 years and nothing compares to Powys Country house deffo 5 star we found the hot tub/tennis court/games room had something to suit us all Toni and Terry were really obliging informative and friendly we couldnt ask for more

Room Tip: all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank christine1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We hired the powys house venue for our daughters wedding in may . The whole event was fantastic Terri and Tony where so helpful even sourcing the table cloths for us when the wedding planner didnt ! nothing was too much trouble and they are both so friendy....the house the grounds everything where amazing. We stayed in the main house and is was absolutely perfect every nook and cranny was spotless and the facilities where 5 star. Our freinds stayed in the cottages and the same can be said for them

I would 100 percent recommend this venue for a wedding or for a holiday for a large family or for an intimate romatic week end in the samller cottages.

thanks again to terri and toni x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
6.4 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
114 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#11 of 14 in Corwen
5 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron-y-Graig
Bron-y-Graig
#4 of 14 in Corwen
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Country House

Property: Powys Country House
Address: Powys House Holyhead Road | Bonwm, Corwen LL21 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Hotel Class:5 star — Powys Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Country House offers superb accommodation, in a beautiful setting of 3 acres. We are well situated on the A5 for all the main attractions in North Wales, Llangollen, Betwys-y- coed, Bala Lake. We are 5 star rated by the AA and Welsh Tourist Board for our Country House, and 4 star for our cottages. Powys country house can accommodate max 20 people, cottages up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powys Country House Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing