We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Base foe offa's dyke walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powys Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corwen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Powys Country House
Ranked #2 of 15 Corwen B&B and Inns
1 review
“Base foe offa's dyke walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were a group of 15 walking the offa's dyke walk from Chepstow to Prestatyn. Powys house was our base for the second part of the walk. The house was great, plenty of hot water for showers after a hard days walking, and the hot tub good for aching limbs, and the kitchen was great for preparing hearty meals. Overall excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Grooms Cottage. Excellent, Highly recommend. What a beautiful, clean, dog friendly cottage.
We cannot speak highly enough of every aspect of this holiday in Corwen. The owners Terry and Toni have the right balance of being helpful and not being intrusive. The location was perfect for our exploration of North Wales with so much to do, and not enough week to do it in, so will definetly be staying again.
Thank you for making our stay perfect. Stuart, Claire, Liam and Jess the dog.

Room Tip: By the look of the big house and the feedback from the 16 guests staying there ,and certainly our ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the house for a wedding weekend at the end of March and had a lovely time!
The house is beautiful and immaculately kept - plenty of space for a large family or group of friends with enough room for different groups of people to gather in separate rooms - if the noise is too much in one room!!
The hot tub is a great touch, as is the little childrens play area where we spent a lot of time with the toddlers of the group!
Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We rented the house and cottages to celebrate our friends wedding . We was a big group but the main house was large enough not to feel cramped at all . There are lots of reception rooms so you can chill out in one while the kids are playing in another and the boys watch footy in yet another ..you get the picture . It is very well equipped with everything you need . The main dining room has a spectacular table . The grounds are lovely with play area and a hot tub . It is without a doubt the best property our group has rented . Highly recommended

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ghindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We rented Powys Country House in January 2014 for 5 nights.The house was immaculate, and perfect in every way. The dining room and table were fantastic, allowing for some great entertaining nights.

The garden was great, and we could let the dogs run free without fear of them getting out due to the well maintained fencing. We have rented a lot of properties, and most that are advertised as having enclosed gardens aren't usually dog proof. This was most definitely not the case here.

The weather was not the best but this did not stop us having a great time, particularly in the games room with the snooker, dart and football competitions.

The owners were very friendly and only too happy to help, and made us very welcome.

We would definitely like to book again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for a 40th party with family and friends ( inc 10 children). The house has it all, great location, loads for both children and adults yo do. Enough space to find a quiet nook or be in the middle if the action. Loved sitting round the table (all 18 adults) then relaxing in the hot tub after a fa. Meal cooked in the well equipped kitchen. Can't wait for the next celebration. Great memories facilitated by the the very helpful yet unobstrusive owners. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suttonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Terri and Toni have provided an excellent venue for a family gathering which has something for everyone no matter what age or generation.
We were extremely impressed with their beautifully appointed house, its rooms and furnishings.
The 14 members of our family were comfortably accommodated, with three sitting rooms individually heated by log burners, a formal dining room with a large round dining table able to accommodate all of us in one sitting- to be able to eat together created a great family atmosphere. The breakfast room, was able to accommodate the whole family in one sitting so we could enjoy our breakfast together also, this adjoined the fabulous luxury fitted kitchen which had every modern catering convenience.
We had plenty of space to break off into small groups to chat, watch Sky TV or just catch up with each other. The bedrooms (8 in total) were comfortable and individual in character. On suites were provided for most of the rooms and of top quality fittings and furniture. Our room was warm, and had a very comfortable king-size bed with excellent views of the surrounding countryside.

The external amenities were equally impressive, from the hot tub to the dedicated games room with full size snooker and pool tables and the beautifully landscaped gardens which also boasted a large lawn chess area and a full size tennis court.

Ideally located to venture into Llangollen or Betsy-Coed, We would certainly recommend Powys Country House to anyone wanting a truly relaxing weekend away.
Cathy W

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
0.5 mi away
Plas Derwen Country House
6.2 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bron-y-Graig
Bron-y-Graig
#4 of 15 in Corwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#12 of 15 in Corwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.2 mi away
Owain Glyndwr Hotel
Owain Glyndwr Hotel
#15 of 15 in Corwen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Country House

Property: Powys Country House
Address: Powys House Holyhead Road | Bonwm, Corwen LL21 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Hotel Class:5 star — Powys Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Country House offers superb accommodation, in a beautiful setting of 3 acres. We are well situated on the A5 for all the main attractions in North Wales, Llangollen, Betwys-y- coed, Bala Lake. We are 5 star rated by the AA and Welsh Tourist Board for our Country House, and 4 star for our cottages. Powys country house can accommodate max 20 people, cottages up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powys Country House Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing