We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic time yet again!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hafannedd Mill

Hafannedd from south lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hafannedd from south lawn
Hafannedd from car park Mill kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Hafannedd from south lawn
Hafannedd from car park
Mill kitchen
Mill interior
Hafannedd south side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Corwen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abby W
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic time yet again!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

This was mine and my partners second time staying at Hafannedd, having stayed in both the cottage and the studio i can easily say what amazing accomodation! We couldnt have asked for more. The owners, Ann and Phill are so helpful, show you around accomodation once you arrive and help with everything else. Upon arrival the warm cottage was greatly received, with food stores - fresh eggs, homemade jams, butter, breads, cereals, milk, orange juice including herbs/ spices/ sauces/ washing up liquid/ cloths, the list goes on! Not to mention the free internet connection and use of washing machine for muddy clothes! What a fantastic spot, watch the hens, sheep and ducks from the windows! More than adequate accomodation, fresh towels, really clean, fantastic wood burning stove . We stayed there to be close to Llandegla Forest for mountain biking, and there was ample secure storage for our bikes in the sheds. Would return many times, cannot praise it enough! Thankyou very much for a fantastic time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavarotti...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Haven in North Wales”
Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We came upon “Hafannedd” (or summer residence) by chance and what luck we had. Ann Sutcliffe, the owner, is a delightful person and gave us a warm welcome, showed us around and encouraged us to help ourselves to apples from the trees and fresh herbs from the garden. We immediately felt at home.

The garden cottage is a haven: beautifully fitted out with comfy chairs, DVDTV, disc player, wi-fi and internet access and everything you need in the kitchen to prepare a banquet. Fresh bread, both brown and white, butter, milk, homemade marmalades, coffee & tea and herbs for cooking were all provided free of charge and the kitchen equipement was complete not token.

The cottage itself is situated just by the river Clwyd and you can sit out on the patio and enjoy watching the ducks swim by, listen to the relaxing sounds of the river weaving its way and watch the lambs grazing in the fields beyond. No noise, just the bliss of tranquility and country sounds.

The second floor, sleeping area is fine also. Light, modern and cosy. Modern bathroom with great shower.

A wonderful spot for a family of 4 to base themselves for exploring North Wales or for a romantic weekend for 2.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fentastic
Beaudesert, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing and convenient location for venturing out!”
Reviewed 1 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We had six nights in the Cottage at Hafannedd and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ann and Phil met us on arrival and the cottage was stocked with milk, bread, cereals, farm fresh eggs, butter and homemade jams as well as lots of essentials for cooking: oil, spices, vinegar etc. We were well set up to make a tasty meal that evening. Easy to pick up supplies while you are out during the day - you will find grocery stores about 10minutes away. We did day trips to LLangollen (canal boats, aqueduct etc), Conwy, Llandudno, Portmierion, as well as lots of scenic drives. Always a treat to come home with food goodies and sit out on the deck and watch the 'neighbours' (ducks) in the creek. Phil and Ann are happy to help with any local info. If you love music, be sure to see if the Fron (men's) choir are rehearsing or performing. They are glorious. Also, if you're a lady, there is a lovely informal group in Llangollen called Melodic Mondays who rehearse on Monday nights at The Prince of Wales at 7.30pm. Very welcoming.
Hafannedd is comfortable, charming, peaceful and convenient for day trips around North Wales/Chester area. Highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden/deck areas
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely 5 star!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed in the cottage which had everything you needed to get you started - tea,coffee.sugar.milk,bread,butter,home made jams and fresh eggs from their own hens. Plus condiments,olive oil. herbs and spices. Comfortable bed,lovely bedding and towels and well furnished and equipped, we couldn't find fault.
We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and quality accomodation
Liked least: nothing not to like
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osprey123
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recormmended”
Reviewed 19 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

The Studio at Hafannedd is a spacious, clean and very well appointed apartment. The owners have provided everything to help make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. From delicious home made jams and marmalade to fresh free range eggs. (There is even free internet access), together with guidebooks and maps of the district. We find it to be an ideal base for exploring both on foot and by car. There are walks starting at the end off the garden and miles of footpaths and trails within easy reach. The Dee valley way and the North Berwyn way being just two of many. The fisherman is also well provided for, with the River Dee - Llyn Brenig and Bala Lake, all for the price off a day permit just a few minutes drive away. This has been our fourth stay and we have enjoyed every one of them.
We would recommend Hafannedd to anyone.
Rowena And Peter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good atmosphere
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael h
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I stayed in the Mill with 3 of my friends for a short fishing trip. Upon arrival we were all really impressed with the idyllic location, the homely feel of the entire place and the way the cupboards were stocked with basics to say nothing of the delicious farm fresh eggs homemade jams and cereals. Our stay was very pleasant, the owners were very helpful especially with the Euro booking, the fishing was great and we would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the property
Liked least: Distance from a convenience store
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186337Lis...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed 3 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Ann and Phil were welcoming , helpful and unobtrusive during our short stay. A generous welcome pack was ready in the lovely Cottageand included homemade jam and fresh eggs. There was a stair gate for our toddler and pleasant surroundings for the children to explore. The children enjoyed seeing the resident cat and chickens.A great location for exploring Wales too!We got to Conwy Castle in about an hour. The communal room was very handy with guides and books and games for the kids.Overall, the property was clean,well presented and the owners were professional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming and relaxing for a family
Liked least: -No issues
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing